Johnaton Pearse or whatever his name is, the guy who also does robot wars....very very annoying.
And why did this guy ever stop doing sports commenatary ?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hzSQ3xgoh-w
Johnaton Pearse or whatever his name is, the guy who also does robot wars....very very annoying.
And why did this guy ever stop doing sports commenatary ?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hzSQ3xgoh-w
"I just came in to buy a stamp"-Padraig Pearse, April 24th 1916
For pundits Will Greenwood is the worst, he spent the RWC semi-final between the Pumas & the Boks talking about England and poking cheap shots at Australia, the only time in my life I've been moved to write to a tv company to complain, I didn't get around to ever posting it mind!!
Alan Smith would be number 2, ex Arsenal always seems to be given Spurs games (invariably with Martin Tyler) and is so biased it winds me up.
Commentators
Martin Tyler showed his true colours when Spurs scored a winner in the last minute against West Ham last season, screeching "oh no" in to the mike, as unprofessional as you can get.
George Hamilton, I have say it's one thing about living in Ireland I don't miss.
Any Australian Sports commentators, they are the most biased you'll ever hear
Michael Corcoran on RTE radio for rugby matches. "the referee has blown his whistle... and it's a penalty... the penalty is to Munster", takes him about 10 seconds to tell you who's got the penalty/try/scrum.
Chicago Blackhawks (hockey) commentators Dan Kelly and Eddie Olczyk are absolute jokes, they are awful. I don't know how you can't like Hamilton, whenver I remember a big goal Ireland has scored I think of his call as well, to be fair I can't really judge him because I've watched only RTE's feed for Ireland matches 2 or 3 times
My Guarantee
Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here
Good lord...how could you take a dislike to the great man? (though I can somewhat understand if you have no allegiance to either gaa code and also a young age, his non stop tempo and wayward ramblings could confuse the young)
I'm sure there's been numerous postings of these classics previously but they'd even warm the heart of the most ardent non-gaa man.
“And Brian Dooher is down injured. And while he is, I’ll tell ye a little story. I was in Times Square in New York last week, and I was missing the Championship back home. So I approached a newsstand and I said 'I suppose ye wouldn't have ‘The Kerryman would ye?' To which the Egyptian behind the counter turned to me and he said 'Do you want the North Kerry edition or the South Kerry edition?'... He had both... So I bought both. And Dooher is back on his feet..."
"Anthony Lynch the Cork corner back will be the last person to let you down - his people are undertakers"
"I saw a few Sligo people at Mass in Gardiner Street this morning and the omens seem to be good for them. The priest was wearing the same colours as the Sligo jersey! Forty yards out on the Hogan stand side of the field Ciarán Whelan goes on a rampage, its a goal. So much for religion."
Colin Corkery on the ‘45’ lets go with the right boot. It’s over the bar. This man shouldn't be playing football. He's made an almost Lazarus-like recovery from a heart condition. Lazarus was a great man but he couldn't kick points like Colin Corkery.
"1-5 to 0-8… Well, from Lapland to the Antarctic, that's level scores in any man's language".
"Pat Fox has it on his hurley and is motoring well now ... But here comes Joe Rabbitte hot on his tail ... I've seen it all now - a Rabbitte chasing a Fox around Croke Park!"
"I see John O Donnell dispensing water on the sideline. Tipperary, sponsored by a water company. Cork Sponsored by a tay company. I wonder will they meet later for afternoon tay."
"Teddy looks at the ball, the ball looks at Teddy"
"He grabs the sliothar, he's on the 50...... He's on the 40...... He's on the 30...... He's on the ground"
"In the first half they played with the wind. In the second half they played with the ball".
"He kicks the ball ard san aer. Could've been a goal. Could've been a point.... It went wide."
"Stephen Byrne with the puck out for Offaly... Stephen, one of twelve ... All but one are here to-day. The one that's missing is Mary. She's at home minding the house… And the ball is dropping i lár na páirce...."
"Pat Fox out to the forty and grabs the sliothar. I bought a dog from his father last week. Fox turns and sprints for goal. The dog ran a great race last Tuesday in Limerick. Fox to the 21 fires a shot, it goes to the left and wide… And the dog lost as well.”
"Sean Óg Ó hAilpín.... His father's from Fermanagh, his mother's from Fiji - neither a hurling stronghold
"Teddy McCarthy to Mick McCarthy, no relation, Mick McCarthy back to Teddy McCarthy, still no relation "
Apol's if listed too many times previously and warnings made about anyone re-posting.
PS Ryle Nugent truely dreadful, Jim Sherwin a notch below and then you have Ger Canning (whaever about GAA matches, how do fervent follwers of the beautiful game stomach his ramblings?)
Reminded me how bad Ray Houghton was for Roma-Manchester game tonight. Switched over to ITV as David Pleat so easier to listen to. Houghton only watches the english team players, don't think he notices those foreigners.
Micheal is a legend,best turn of phrase ever.
Tommy Conlon in the Sindo wrote a very scathing and accurate article about him some years ago and promptly had to apologise for it, thing that annoys me about Carty is he only seems to have one tone for his commetary ie full paced and exictable even when there is nothing happening
John Virgo, Jim Sherwin, Peter Collins, and that guy who commentates on northern ireland games from BBC.
favourites
Michael O Mhuirteagh of course, murray walker and willie hegarty (shannonside radio).
New contender has to be TV3's Mike Finnerty during the clare v waterford game. Watching it through Setanta Sports coverage last night in a bar in Sydney and Finnerty committed so many war crimes on my ear drums and he had me asleep on the counter. Matt Cooper should stick to rugby
i think Jim beglin is a bit of a fool, has he made an impression at all after all these years doing commentary - i dont think so
Don't think he's been mentioned yet, the guy who commentates on Setanta Sports 2 for the Copa Libertadores. He wets himself whenever someone gets a glimpse of goal! Over-dramatic, every move is a ``great chance``..... other than that he's grand![]()
whats the name of your man with the spiked up hair and glasses hes on "the premiership" for the highlights hes my least favourite becasue he takes to long getting on to highlights of a match for example: Liverpool vs Chelsea highlights are about 8-10 minutes long this fella takes even longer with analysis and its as if he dosent want to stop talking!!!
Coleman for Ireland