Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Goalkeeper options

85 Posts
    Did anyone get confirmation on the Young keeper from the other thread that just signed for Portsmouth from QPR Liam O'Brien???

I tell ye, if it's another Jamie O'Hara situation I'll be sick.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by frankbrett View Post
    I see that Luton keeper Dean Brill is on that list of keepers posted from the chatsoccer database.
    He looked pretty good against Liverpool.
    Where does it say he is qualified to play for us?
    Stuttgart88 told me to do it - http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=748426&postcount=116 - blame him

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Guidedbyvoices View Post
    Sh!t but the rest of the team were no better. One bad game does not mean he has to be deleted from the face of the earth now does it?
    You'd be surprised with some Irish fans...
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

60 Posts
    I seen Colin Doyle play last year and he was absolutely brilliant. He started off this season ahead of the experienced Miek Taylor, but he made a shakey start to the season and Bruce decided to go with experience. Taylor has taken his chance. But I think Doyle will eventually get back in and go on to fulfill his obvious potential.
    Always look on the bright side of life

87 Posts
    How about that 'wonder kid' Liam O'Brien from Portsmouth? Supposed to the best young keeper around
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

Quote Originally Posted by Deckydee View Post
    How about that 'wonder kid' Liam O'Brien from Portsmouth? Supposed to the best young keeper around

The name sounds about right but has he declared for us?

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post
    How did he play against Cyprus?
    I met Paddy Kenny in the Porterhouse - bottom of Grafton Street one friday before Xmas and I got talking to him - around the time they played Cyprus in croker. He seemed a nice lad. On leaving I asked him 'where was Lee Carsley in Cyprus'? to which he replied with his hands up in the air 'where was I'!!!! He is a legend around Sheffield for his heroics in goal and Stan treated him very badly after Nicosia.. He is a shoe in as Given's number two and he is a bit of craic to boot. Unlucky against boro on wed.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy View Post
    I seen Colin Doyle play last year and he was absolutely brilliant. He started off this season ahead of the experienced Miek Taylor, but he made a shakey start to the season and Bruce decided to go with experience. Taylor has taken his chance. But I think Doyle will eventually get back in and go on to fulfill his obvious potential.
    Yep, I'd agree with that. Superb physique for a keeper too.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Stuttgart88 told me to do it
    Jesus, I hope you're never in court.

About a year ago Stan said publicly that Dean Brill qualifies for us. I'm not sure what the context was but probably about looking at players in the lower leagues in context of a B game or whatever.

Stan also said I am the gaffer and we see what happend there !!!
    In Trap we trust

182 Posts
    Kenny should be number two, no question.

Hopefully we can get him and Finnan back now that we have a proper manager.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by beautifulrock View Post
    well done great comment, Yes I expect a keeper to get to his feet as quickly as possible, it is a major part of their training. Your name sums you up by the looks of things.
    You ever played the game? No keeper in the world would have been able to readjust for that. He was moving one way to deal with a shot, the shot gets deflected and could go anywhere so he's trying to follow the ball and it hits the underside of the bar and bounces down so he has to try and readjust again, impossible situation for him.

87 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Guidedbyvoices View Post
    The name sounds about right but has he declared for us?
    That I dont know
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    You ever played the game? No keeper in the world would have been able to readjust for that. He was moving one way to deal with a shot, the shot gets deflected and could go anywhere so he's trying to follow the ball and it hits the underside of the bar and bounces down so he has to try and readjust again, impossible situation for him.
    played more than you pal by the sounds of it. What a stupid comment. N o keeper in the world...

2,796 Posts
    I'm with D69er though maybe not literally "no keeper in the world".

Kenny was damned if he did, damned if he didn't. If he'd left the ball it would have gone staright to the 'boro forward for a tap in. By trying to get it he knocked it in. Barely even an error, but yet an OG, one of those things that can only happen a 'keeper. I should know having played a few hundred games in the position.

C'mon, the shot hit the centre back's head, deflected down then up off the inside of the post and back across the goal line. How exactly would you have expected Kenny or anyone to react? That was one of the worst standard football games I've ever seen, Kenny's performance one of the only bright spots even for a neutral.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I'm with D69er though maybe not literally "no keeper in the world".

he had a great game but it was still a goalkeeping error, my point is, and have another look, was that his reactions were slow in this instance. He already assumed the first shot was in, it hit the post and he was in the wrong position when it came back to him. I like Paddy and think he is a fine keeper but am sure even he would say he could have done a little better.

I think that whole Alan Kelly shop window thing that happened to Kiely was probably why he eventually packed it in.

He, Holland and Carsley all offered their services after the Cyprus game, maybe in temporary capacity - but I think a new manager is obligated to approach our best players who are in international retirement - even if they retired 4 years ago. Finnan, O'Brien shouldn't be the only ones being coaxed. Trap should put Kiely back in the squad.

And in my opinion, Matt Holland is twice the player Lee Carsley is.
    "No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy

1,025 Posts
    he had a great game but it was still a goalkeeping error, my point is, and have another look, was that his reactions were slow in this instance. He already assumed the first shot was in, it hit the post and he was in the wrong position when it came back to him. I like Paddy and think he is a fine keeper but am sure even he would say he could have done a little better.
    I'd agree with that. He should have been scrambling to his feet, instead of watching the ball from the ground. Given the path the ball eventually took, I'm not sure that he'd have been able to keep it out, but he still should have been on his feet.

It's a pretty small error though, even if the consequences were serious.
    Last edited by osarusan; 01/03/2008 at 12:55 PM.

130 Posts
    played more than you pal by the sounds of it. What a stupid comment. N o keeper in the world...
    Doubt that somehow judging by your comments. Look at Stutt's post, Kenny doesn't play that ball it's a tap in for the attacker. The ball changed direction twice, once off the defender and once off the woodwork, it could have gone anywhere. I have no idea what standard of keeper you reckon would have been able to smoother that if they'd been able to get back to their feet. They'd have been facing their goal with a ball bouncing in front of them, you'd want to have incredible agility to be on your feet and ready to dive on that ball.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    Doubt that somehow judging by your comments. Look at Stutt's post, Kenny doesn't play that ball it's a tap in for the attacker. The ball changed direction twice, once off the defender and once off the woodwork, it could have gone anywhere. I have no idea what standard of keeper you reckon would have been able to smoother that if they'd been able to get back to their feet. They'd have been facing their goal with a ball bouncing in front of them, you'd want to have incredible agility to be on your feet and ready to dive on that ball.
    put money on it buddy, lets agree to differ, but watch it again

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast