Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Hatton V Mayweather.

im still up, i dont know how, but i felt awful sorry for hatton, cortez was definitely siding with mayweather, he wouldn't let him fight his game, mayweather was awful cute, talking awful crap about not watching hattons fight, he knew exactly what he was doing ducking so low and keeping his elbow to hattons head, very sly. Anyhow in the end though mayweathers class did show, he really is class. id like to see him move up another weight or two though.

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    im backing hatton all the way very confident on this one.
    Right...........

Quote Originally Posted by luka View Post
    Would like to see Hatton win but it's unlikely.
    Correct.............
    Last edited by luka; 09/12/2007 at 8:40 AM.
    RamblersWeb

Cricket: The most boring farcical game to ever grace the planet.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    id like to see him move up another weight or two though.
    Paul. you do realise that Mayweather has been a champion at 5 different weights already stop spoofing will ya

Better boxer definately won, quicker, connected more.... good night though
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Quote Originally Posted by beautifulrock View Post
    Paul. you do realise that Mayweather has been a champion at 5 different weights already stop spoofing will ya
    rock, i know wll,but he is only 30 and he has done everything, why not try and break some more records, i really would like to see him at a weight where the punching power would effect him more. He didnt seem comfortable when hatton caught him clean in the early rounds.

rock, i know wll,but he is only 30 and he has done everything
    Indeed he has, a true legend at the game.

6 times champion at 5 different weight divisions.

why not try and break some more records
    WTF??

Why not retire??

i really would like to see him at a weight where the punching power would effect him more.
    6 times champion at 5 different weight divisions.

He doesn't have to prove himself to you or anyone else for that matter.

He didnt seem comfortable when hatton caught him clean in the early rounds
    Wise up FFS.

There wasn't a mark on him after that fighr, aside from one poxy jab in the first Hatton barely laid a glove on him.

Class told, Skys commentary was a disgrace the better boxer beat a back street brawler.
    Agree 100%

I mean, how dare that referee try to keep the fight clean.

How dare that referee warn them both about points deductions before the fight then take a point off for acting the scumbag just like he had warned them he would.

How dare Mayweather be the superior fighter.

I just hope all the Hatton fans who travelled all that way so they could boo the American national anthem recognised how lucky they were to be in the presence of true greatness.

Floyd Mayweather is in an absolutely different league to Ricky Hatton, had to laugh at Sky News trying to talk up a rematch this morning.

I also hope that the reason Ricky Hatton was such an ungracious **** at the end of the fight last night was down to his head having been bashed around for the previous ten minutes as opposed to him actually being an ungracious ****

Ahhh I thought Hatton was alright after the fight even joking etc. I was kinda up for Hatton before the fight but the Sky commentary and the class made me want Mayweather to win as Hatton was only going to win with a freak uppercut or something like that or maybe a really really dodgy points decision. But to be fair Hatton is ok as a guy, the fans etc would not be my cup of tea.
    In Trap we trust

Angry

raging i ended up getting wasted and i missed the fight,

70 Posts
    Cortez reffed the fight brilliantly.After about 4 rounds there was only
    going to be one winner. Hatton was upset after the fight with himself because
    he kept making the mistakes he knew he couldnt afford to make. But thats what
    happens against the best they make you make mistakes
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

462 Posts
    Mayweather controlled the fight, he knew that Hatton would be all attack as it were in the first few rounds and prepared for that perfectly, he waited until Hatton tired himself out and just picked him off, a brilliant fighter.

Quote Originally Posted by sligobhoy67 View Post
    Mayweather to win on points - if Hattons makes the distance - I dont think he will be KO'ed but could be stopped in the 8th or 9th because of cuts over the eye/s
    had £100 on a Mayweather at Ladrokes 4/7 - paid for my night.

Cortez interferred too much in the early rounds and appeared to allow Mayweather a lot of leeway but the outcome would still have been the same if he hadnt.

Hatton had expended himself by the 8th and Mayweather looked like he hadnt fought a round. Easy win imo

Junior Witter v Ricky Hatton next please!

Mayweather outclassed him, he wasnt really troubled at all. After the fight as well he was gracious enough fair play to him. Hatton not to keen to give praise in the other direction though but id say he was just sickened because he knew he gave his best and he fell a long way short

Lim, just cos i disproved yer early point, doesn't mean ye have to justify yourself

Through the years 5 divisions is pretty impressive alright, given his age. I'm not denying that, all I am saying is it would be good to see him in middleweight or something, against a fighter like pavlik, who is able to take serious punches but also dish out serious punches too. And if you are that good, why stop so young, keep going. Onwards and upwards. There has never been any real power punchers below welterweight.

What are you on about prove himself to me, thats just plain stupid. I obviously wasn't expecting him to prove himself to me, its just what I said I would like to see.

Funny on sky how they kept making a point to say "just to let youall know our fans have been very well behaved.....aren't we great" and so they should be there shouldn't be a need to have to say that. the yanks were not impressed with the booing of the star.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 09/12/2007 at 5:12 PM.

I'd say one of the reasons would be he has nothing to prove. Plus his hands aren't in the best of shape. Saw the preview thing on Sky 1 where he had to get treatment on them every 2nd day.

82 Posts
    As you said Paul the Americans are not at all happy about the booing of the Star Spangled Banner.

Usual behaviour for your average English hooligan unfortunately. Sky's pathetic brushing over follows hard on the heels of Motson attempting to do the same at the England v Croatia qualifier.

Glad Floyd did the business.

Lim, just cos i disproved yer early point, doesn't mean ye have to justify yourself
    Where did you disprove my earlier point??

If anything you agreed with me....

Through the years 5 divisions is pretty impressive alright
    Sure is.

all I am saying is it would be good to see him in middleweight or something, against a fighter like pavlik
    Why?? Why risk getting your brains muddled??

As you said yourself:

he has done everything
    And if you are that good, why stop so young, keep going. Onwards and upwards.
    He put it superbly last night himself when he said:

"I'm not going to let the sport of boxing retire me. I'm going to retire from the sport of boxing"

What are you on about prove himself to me, thats just plain stupid.
    My point was that he doesn't have to prove himself to anyone.

You'll find this reading lark will come a hell of a lot easier to you if you read WHOLE sentences.

Quote Originally Posted by Ceirtlis View Post
    Hatton not to keen to give praise in the other direction though
    Ya, I thought that myself.

But, in fairness to him he was a little more gracious when interviewed today so maybe his head was just a bit muddled last night

Why?? Why risk getting your brains muddled??
    why Box then?!

ou'll find this reading lark will come a hell of a lot easier to you if you read WHOLE sentences.
    Ya, good point, its the same when you pull out half a sentence instead of a full sentence too

But, in fairness to him he was a little more gracious when interviewed today so maybe his head was just a bit muddled last night
    Im open to correction but im pretty sure that same interview was done later on in the evening.

cortez was far too picky on hatton, it was as if he wanted some of the limelight, he interfered far too often, nearly once every 6 or 7 seconds. once the point was deducted hatton drifted away, leaving himself open as he was trying to make up for the point loss. mayweather kept ducking below the waist, and should have had a point deducted himself if the referee was any good, or consistent. was it just me or did he look like the fella from austin powers!?

and lads, dont hate hatton because he's english, he's one of the most genuine sportsmen around. maybe a fight or two at this level before taking on mayweather would have helped him

1,025 Posts
    There has never been any real power punchers below welterweight.
    Ruben Olivares - Bantamweight
    Ricardo Lopez - Strawweight, Light-Flyweight
    Naseem Hamed - Featherweight
    Carlos Zarate - Bantamweight
    Roberto Duran - Lightweight (and Welter, Light-middle, Middleweight)
    Wilfredo Gomez - Superbantamweight, Lightweight, Light-welterweight

among many others, have all been punchers of devastating power, all capable of genuine one-punch knockouts.

Obviously they don't hit as hard as a heavyweight, or even a welterweight, but when you consider the power of their punches compared to their weight, and the weight of the person they're punching, the results are often more spectacular than heavier weights.

Duran was one of those whose power was most evident at his lighter weight, in his case Lightweight, and when he moved up to welter and light-middle, finally middle, his power wasn't as dominant as it had been at lightweight.
    Gomez was unbeatable at super-bantam, but got hammered initially when he stepped up to featherweight (admittedly that was because he fought Salvador Sanchez).

Mayweather would be no exception to this trend. I'm not saying he'd be beaten, because I think he wouldn't, but it would be a forced, not a natural, step up in weight, and he'd be in with boxers whose power he couldn't match.
    Mayweather would be no exception to this trend.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast