Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: If Nord Iron has Qualified

If Nord Iron has Qualified

Would anyone here have genuinley rooted for them in the Euro's?
    Be honest.
    Straight up, me, no way. Not a hope in Hong Kong. Sorry.

And no i am not one of the Rangers Boo Boys, I just could not support them.

Apologies if this is a previous thread I missed. Have been "away" for a while!

NO

Reason??

Would they support us hell no

Been told by my elders when Norn Iron were in WC 82 & 86 most of this country were going for them but when we had success of our own they were against us.

Im just being honest here.

pretty much agree
    i remember 86 and being in a pub in Limk and loads were rooting for them. Then I remember Jimmy Quinn, Billy Bingham, Windsor Park and so help me god i hope we get them in the WC quals and humiliate them something terrible.
    Nothing individually against Nordies but as a whole, as an OWC Collective, No way.
    I am prob just bringing myself down to their level here. But no way. England before Nord Iron

I'd have supported them , Like the way they make the most of their ability.

nothing against the players, and have huge respect for the likes of J Evans, D Healy and so forth, but when you hear their fans with the "one team in ireland" sh*te when they are over 1000 miles away in Spain..........
    Feic them

I would have supported them. The passion and devotion of their fans is incredible.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

The passion and devotion they showed to Neil Lennon is it?
    The passion and devotion they showed that night in Windsor Park is it?
    Or the second night when we whipped them in Windson....is it?
    Never forget Keanos goal that night
    Magic

Quote Originally Posted by an_ceannaire View Post
    but when you hear their fans with the "one team in ireland" sh*te when they are over 1000 miles away in Spain..........
    Feic them
    I went to one of those North vs. South friendlies for some charity in Landsdowne in 1999, IIRC, and all the Southerners were singing "You'll never beat the Irish"......next thing the North scored and won the game.

Don't be fooled, there are plenty of people down here who have that exact same mentality and believe that the Republic is the "real" Ireland.
    Extratime.ie

The passion and devotion they showed to Neil Lennon is it?
    The passion and devotion they showed that night in Windsor Park is it?
    Or the second night when we whipped them in Windson....is it?
    Never forget Keanos goal that night
    Magic
    Following a crap team all around Europe for the last few years, and in impressive numbers, is definitely devotion and passion.
    Extratime.ie

Yep I'd support them.

I remember 82 and 86. Most people in the Republic supported them.

Not a chance.

Back in the days when we were innocent I think most people supported them at the 82 and 86 WC's. Then Windsor Park in 93 happened which opened most people's eyes to what they thought of us all along. A bigger shower of bitter barstewards you'd be hard pressed to find and having seen the antics of some of their fans when passing through Dublin airport then to quote The Who. Won't be fooled again.
    Last edited by Maroon 7; 22/11/2007 at 1:47 PM.

462 Posts
    How can you support them, their fans hate Rep of Ireland, they boo their best player cause he played for Celtic and yet, they do not boo Sproule and he plays for Hibs, they are a confusing lot.

Listening to Worthington at the end of the game;

''We stick together, that is our country is about''

Northern Ireland is not really a country.

I'd follow their performance with interest, and probably would support them for lack of alternative options.

You armchair Republicans do realise the war is over, Sinn Fein is in government with the DUP, the two of them are busy stitching up the SDLP, and peace has broken out up north, don't you.....?

P.S. It's Norn Iron - not Nord Iron.

You will get a few heads with self loving PC Complexes who think they are above all that. Oh cop on, grow up.....the same people who tell you anyone who dares to support Celtic is an IRA Terrorist. These lads like to bask in their own superiority and look down on the rest of us mere mortals. Of course we will support them , not like you neandrethals etc etc
    Well listen mate, best of luck to you. A large number of the same Norn Iron fans would have been present that night in 93 and lord knows what they were chanting that night......

Fock them and the horse they rode in on, i am delighted they didnt qualify.
    And i sincerely hope we get them in the WC
    I am such a bad person arent i...............

You will get a few heads with self loving PC Complexes who think they are above all that.
    I'm confused. What's PC about not hating them?

I love when people draw that in and try to use it as an insult.
    I would support them as we aren't in it, I don't and have no reason to dislike or hate them and they are our closest neighbours.

Also had a fantastic trip to Windsor(apart from the result) last year where we were treated like royalty.

Get over yourself, I couldnt care less about you or who you do or don't support let alone be botlered looking down on you beacuse of it.

You will get a few heads with self loving PC Complexes who think they are above all that. Oh cop on, grow up.....the same people who tell you anyone who dares to support Celtic is an IRA Terrorist. These lads like to bask in their own superiority and look down on the rest of us mere mortals. Of course we will support them , not like you neadrethals etc etc
    Well listen mate, best of luck to you. A large number of the same Norn Iron fans would have been present that night in 93 and lord knows what they were chanting that night......
    People in the North are moving on , trying to create a better future for themselves and here's you glad to stay in the past because of the bad atmosphere at a football game in a vastly different time for the island , well done!

You will get a few heads with self loving PC Complexes who think they are above all that. Oh cop on, grow up.....the same people who tell you anyone who dares to support Celtic is an IRA Terrorist. These lads like to bask in their own superiority and look down on the rest of us mere mortals. Of course we will support them , not like you neandrethals etc etc

Fock them and the horse they rode in on, i am delighted they didnt qualify.
    And i sincerely hope we get them in the WC
    I am such a bad person arent i...............

All of which makes you no better than the minority of NI fans you are castigating.

Moving with the times does not make me some sort of PC freak, and your desire to attack a Northern Irish person for ANY view they have on the Norn Irish team simply highlights how insecure you are in your own arguement.

And I will not accept a lecture on the North from someone who has had the safety of being born and bred hundreds of miles from there, yet reckons he can tell us Nordies whats best for us.

Enjoy wallowing in your bitterness mo chara....

544 Posts
    but when you hear their fans with the "one team in ireland" sh*te when they are over 1000 miles away in Spain..........
    Feic them
    we sang the same when handing them a 3 nil thrashing in '93 in lansdowne

i would support them had they qualified. you would actually be surprised at how many of them would be keen enough to see us do well despite what you may be led to believe. much of their attitude after windsor park '93 (except among the complete biggots) was that they were glad to have given us a fright but didnt really want to put us out. they were much more concerned with delight that england had been knocked out that same night. i'm sure that some on here may be able to correct me on that but thats what i heard

ok so the norn iron fans who still sing sectarian songs, still hate neil lennon and still regualrly belt out the billy boys are moving on and have a new found love for all things green white and gold have they
    GET OVER YOURSELVES!
    Funny thing is, the norn iron fans i speak of, and there are many, would laugh at you!!!

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast