I fully agree with this. But my original point was about increasing attendances. Man United won't ever know that...lets say... 4-500 potential fans lost interest because the locals are not so keen on their presence. eL clubs need those 4-500 far more than any Premiership club does. (And we are always talking about premiership clubs, or Celtic, I think).
An Arsenal fan who attitude is along the lines of "Mate, I'm a better fan than you because I'm from here and I watch all the games, whereas you watch them on TV and come here 3/4 times a season. You're a plastic supporter who has no idea of what real football is. Now **** off back to Ireland" is very different from a fan of an eL team saying basically the same thing, while still trying to attract that kind of person as a fan.
Again, I know this doesn't happen in the eL grounds themselves, but it does happen. And again, I'm not trying to exaggerate its role in low attendances, but it does have an effect.
But the difference is that in the first instance, he already considers himself a fan of that club, and has some affiliation (real or imagined) which ties him to the club.
In the second, we are talking about people we are trying to attract to the game, not existing fans. People with no affiliation are likely to be more "insulted".Anto................thanks. Dodge, Macy and I have been trying to come to some resolution..................you've solved it in a single eloquent sentence.
I would say that your attitude has changed pretty quickly for one who spent 15 years as a volunteer for an eL club.
Last edited by sligoman; 20/11/2007 at 3:04 PM. Reason: merge
Ya, im afraid if I asked any of my mates thats exactly what they would say too. Whatever ye say about improved standards etc, until they get to a group stage of uefa or CL then they will always think that, and in fairness they are probably right, bar mayeb the unluckiness ( if ye want to call it that ) of the seedings etc....Maybe they just prefer to watch good football , why should some one watch crap just because the team is from the same town they live in.
but why do fans of....lets say....Sunderland and Spurs...have such disagreements, if they are only interested in watching good football. Why aren't they Barcelona or Real Madrid fans?
There is more to it than just wanting to watch good football. People want to "belong" to something, to feel part of it.
Last edited by Macy; 20/11/2007 at 3:22 PM.
Osasuran, I would say that its the level, though I know a lot of lads who would watch the local junior side but not EL side so you do have a point, i just think its a smaller percentage of those you relate too. Buts its definitely a certain level. Why dont they watch Division 1 or whatever its called and they will answer with the same question. Why dont they watch wigan v bolton , and they will tell ye the same thing. YOu will always have many neutrals who would watch a game like chelsea v united etc....
Last edited by paul_oshea; 20/11/2007 at 3:42 PM.
Thats not really relevant as you'll find the vast majority of LOI fans will watch that game (and most will watch any football at all)
People who supposedly invest so mcuh emotions in their British team couldn't possibly understand what its really like to follow a team.
Can you give me one reason why a bloke from Dublin should choose to be a Chelseas fan?
well, moving it to the eL forum kind of killed it, huh?
Or maybe people just can't answer my question?![]()
Do any of you think, if the stadiums were of the highest order in terms facilities and they were all seater stadiums, maybe 5-10 thousand capacity, would that make more fans go to the games ?