Page 15 of 37 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast

Thread: Steven Reid

206 Posts
    He was on the back page of the Herald yesterday. Sounds like he deffo won't be in the squad on Friday but Blackburn have 7 games between now and the play-offs and he hopes to prove his fitness in them to be involved(!) should we make them. Sounds like such a humble guy, it's very refreshing.

3,316 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yard of Pace View Post
    He was on the back page of the Herald yesterday.
    Article online here: http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/re...p-1893010.html

1,914 Posts
    An article which starts with 'Ireland's forgotten man, Steven Reid.....'
    Little does that journalist prát know that if Steven Reid walks his dog, we wait for news of his safe return.

his dogs?

haha Petcare
    Does your pet have the back to school blues? |

just appeared on that herald article.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    An article which starts with 'Ireland's forgotten man, Steven Reid.....'
    Little does that journalist prát know that if Steven Reid walks his dog, we wait for news of his safe return.
    Reid is so unfortunate, I'm half expecting the Sky Sports News Vidi-printer to now exclaim...

"BREAKING NEWS - Stephen Reid out for season - Bitten by pet dog - Bonzo says "Sorry. Don't know what came over me"
    Quoting years at random since 1975

282 Posts
    You guys can laugh all you want but the man who is one of Reid's replacements once missed something like three months after tripping over his dog
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

504 Posts
    mr lawrence dosent like dogs or stairs anymore i think he triped over his dog n fell down the stairs! taught wingers were ment to be balanced!

I does like a good roast, allegedly.
    In Trap we trust

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by theworm2345 View Post
    You guys can laugh all you want but the man who is one of Reid's replacements once missed something like three months after tripping over his dog
    Ah now... She wasn't great but she was no dog.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

206 Posts
    rte.ie reckon he'll be in the squad tomorrow!

As for the "forgotten man" part, I think it was after the Cyprus match or after the Italy v Bulgaria match when the lads in the studio were discussing our midfield and its shortcomings, not one of them (iirc) mentioned Reid, which I though extremely strange. I'd rather have a fit Steven Reid than Stephen Ireland in all honesty, I think he's that good.

Well its not necessarily that he is that good, but its the position he plays in and how important that role is given our shortcomings in other areas. Stephen ireland not being in the squad isn't as big a loss becasue we have keane/mcgeady/duff etc who are quite creative and make up for that. We dont have a midfielder who can look for a pass, pick out a pass, make tackles and hold the ball up, that area in midfield is far more important than an attacking midfielder.

Having said all that, still makes ye think can you imagine this team:

Given
    finnan, Dunne, Ledge, Oshea
    S Reid
    Duff Ireland Mcgeady
    Keane Doyle

I really think that would be a serious team, creatively anyway.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yard of Pace View Post
    rte.ie reckon he'll be in the squad tomorrow!
    I really hope Andy Reid is in the squad.. He's ticked every box to earn a recall. On and off the pitch...

www.thefastleague.com

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    I really hope Andy Reid is in the squad.. He's ticked every box to earn a recall. On and off the pitch...
    Me too - I just doubt Trapp will change his stubborn (effective) ways!

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    Ah now... She wasn't great but she was no dog.
    If you're referring to what I think you are, I believe she was Miss Sunderland, so I would've guessed she was great, or at least pretty good
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

131 Posts
    Thought I saw a similar article a couple of weeks ago but this one is from today:

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrosst...ws.asp?n=37241

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by theworm2345 View Post
    If you're referring to what I think you are, I believe she was Miss Sunderland, so I would've guessed she was great, or at least pretty good
    Ha!! I only got to see her via 1.3 Megapixels..

www.thefastleague.com

131 Posts
    Claims Reid will be in the squad:

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-n...d-1895727.html

I was at Brock hall yesterday (which is Blackburn’s training ground) I was speaking to both Keith Andrews and Steven Reid (as you do) I was working there by the way not stalking them got them to sign my sons jersey and they were both top lads. Asked them about a few things Steven Reid said that he has now had 2 Reserve team games and a carling cup game under his belt and he will be on the bench at least for Villa game (but hoping to start) he said he was contacted by Trap about his fitness and he feels that he will start against Italy he did give the reasons why-he also said his ideal partner for Ireland would be Andrews I suppose because they train together and they are getting to know each other’s game. He said he has never been better and feels great and raring to go (I suppose if you have played 7-8 games in 2 years you would feel great lol). A fit David Dunn and Steven Reid will keep Andrews out of a 4 4 2 formation however there is a place for him in the 4 5 1 formation. Keith Andrews was a really sound fella and he is so proud to have been called up he just can’t believe how his career has taken off so late and he said its a pure honour to represent Ireland (imagine that a pure honour mm if only everyone felt like that) he said he would love to kick off the Italy match with Steven Reid in central mid!! I asked them both about Andy Reid only Keith commented saying he believed there was a disagreement with the manager and thats all he knew. Also met a few of the other players and Brett Emerton is a Cee Uou Next Tuesday, Arrogant big head for an average player, the rest were spot on

2,696 Posts
    Top class reporting Baz.

I can see Reid & Andrews being a good pairing actually. Both athletic, mobile & strong, both a have great shots and Reid has a lot of composure on the ball, more than Andrews.

I know it's well perceived that Whelan is one of Trap's favourites but I'm sure Andrews probably is too. Andrews only arrived on our scene after Reid's injury so citing the decent performances of a Whelan / Reid pairing is far from proof that that pairing is Trap's first choice.

I'm not sure Trap would give Reid / Andrews a first outing together in such a big game though.

111 Posts
    Once served Steven Reid in a bar I worked at in Kingston-upon-Thames (he was born there).. A really sound guy and I hope he gets back to being a regular for us again.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Page 15 of 37 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast