Thread: Owen Wilson attempted suicide

Owen Wilson attempted suicide

Surprised it hasn't come up here.

One of my favourite people in hollywood. Fabulously funny actor, and a brilliant writer to boot. He co-wrote The Royal Tenebaums, in which a charachter (played by his brother) attempts suicide by slitting his wrists.

CNN

You'll find loads and loads of theories at what happened on the net

Did anyone not think it is a tad ironic how he played the fella ( in wedding crashers ) that gets all depressed and stuff and is reading a book titled "dont jump" after splitting up with a girl and not being able get over it?

I wish him well, and hope he gets through whatever it is he's going through, but I can't stand anything that he has done.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

There's a two-page spread in today's London Independent about Wilson. The Royal Tenenbaums is one of my favourite films and Wilson is an actor that I like very much. I wish him well and I hope he finds the privacy that he needs to come to terms with whatever he is going through.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Mad turn of events alright. Stiller and himself were legends in Starsky and Hutch.

Fingers crossed for the weirdest nose in Hollywood........

214 Posts
    shocked when I heard this today.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

really like his films to be honest, think he is typecasted at this stage. Reminds me of me to be honest . Think he plays himself when filming to be honest, but I remember reading before about him having serious ups and downs, and was a very deep thinker. Always thought that deep thinking can really make ye feel a bit depressed tbh.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Always thought that deep thinking can really make ye feel a bit depressed tbh.
    Well O'Shea, you don't have to worry about that now, do you.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Well O'Shea, you don't have to worry about that now, do you.
    No, I was on about the women part

really like his films to be honest, think he is typecasted at this stage. Reminds me of me to be honest . Think he plays himself when filming to be honest, but I remember reading before about him having serious ups and downs, and was a very deep thinker. Always thought that deep thinking can really make ye feel a bit depressed tbh.
    paul i cant help wondering that you must surely be the most emmm, ... honest, person on this forum!

3 sentences and 4 protestations of honesty....
    The lady doth protest too much, methinks!!!
    Last edited by galwayhoop; 29/08/2007 at 5:16 PM.

Think he's feckin terrible but i wish him all the best. You think someone like that has it all, the media, as well as the public put them on this pedestool but it takes something like this to realise they are just like us too. God Bless him.

Jays, I think he's brilliant McC, at what he does anyway. Only Ferrell to match him in his domain.
    Obviously not as chirpy as he seems.
    Last edited by Risteard; 29/08/2007 at 6:12 PM.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

282 Posts
    Did anyone not think it is a tad ironic how he played the fella ( in wedding crashers ) that gets all depressed and stuff and is reading a book titled "dont jump" after splitting up with a girl and not being able get over it?
    Thats exactly what I was going to say
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    Jays, I think he's brilliant McC, at what he does anyway.
    Different strokes and all that, i never really got into him or Ben Stiller. Now Bens father, Jerry Stiller - that guy is feckin hillarious

Always thought that deep thinking can really make ye feel a bit depressed tbh.
    Ah yes, but the flip side is that without thinking deeply you won't get next nor near self-actualisation, or, as Scott Peck details in his wonderful book on spiritual growth, The Road Less Travelled, God-like status. But you're right, in that it's a bit of a double-edged sword, a rocky road where crash barriers aren't always there to save you. Now that I've gone deep I must be careful not to resurface too quickly, don't want the bends kicking in!

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC View Post
    Different strokes and all that, i never really got into him or Ben Stiller. Now Bens father, Jerry Stiller - that guy is feckin hillarious
    Look at the films he's written, co-written or produced. Far smarter than the comedies he acts in (which I still love btw) - Tenebaums, Bottle Rocket, Rushmore

Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    Ah yes, but the flip side is that without thinking deeply you won't get next nor near self-actualisation, or, as Scott Peck details in his wonderful book on spiritual growth, The Road Less Travelled, God-like status. But you're right, in that it's a bit of a double-edged sword, a rocky road where crash barriers aren't always there to save you. Now that I've gone deep I must be careful not to resurface too quickly, don't want the bends kicking in!
    I'd an argument over this before and realised that life would be much better if you were thick stupid.
    I remember reading of some philosopher, John Stuart Mill who is alleged to have had a nervous breakdown when he was in his early teens.
    Just get ****ed, fornicate and play football and you'll be grand.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC View Post
    Now Bens father, Jerry Stiller - that guy is feckin hillarious
    I hope Owen Wilson wasn't following his advise. Serenity Now!

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    paul i cant help wondering that you must surely be the most emmm, ... honest, person on this forum!

3 sentences and 4 protestations of honesty....
    The lady doth protest too much, methinks!!!
    Having watched POS literally steal the shirt off my back, I can confirm that he is in fact Foot.ie's most scurrilous character.....

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    I'd an argument over this before and realised that life would be much better if you were thick stupid.
    Nahhhh - I'd hate to be a Dub........