Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Worst policy in EL

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Rogue Trader's post on Derry City Chat!!

Should have taken scottish flag down as well so !?

If your going to do something, try and do it right. It is an awful pity that you look upon our national flag as a sectarian flag, Derry must be one ****ed up dump to have got that bad. So i suppose we can expect to see some members of the PSNI in the Brandeywell the next time we go down ?

It was all right in the 70's,80's and 90's to use the tri-colour when you were looking for support from us Irish in the south and abroad for your stuggle to become part of us. The only thing i am glad to see now is that you understand and have accepted that you are British the same natinality as your great leader Maggie Thatcher and us Irish can now start to reclaim our flag.

With that attitude no wonder we left you behind economically you crowd misarable of PC hypocrytes, i am sure the Irish league would love to have you back.

C'mon the red hand !
    So much for wanting to show off your love for your nationality!

462 Posts
    As far as I know, it is a flag for the whole Island, not just for the Republic.

I just read the Thread on there.
    A lot of Derry fans you said roguetrader? Cos i only found the 3 you posted that agreed with you. Every other person on there disagreed.....but sure dont let the facts get in the way of your rant.

http://www.derrycitychat.com/phpBB2/...r=asc&start=30
    Your posts on that thread were an embarrasment to your club

Quote Originally Posted by TheBoss View Post
    According to who? You cant make a flag and tell people who dont recognise it that it represents them too

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    Good one but no need for the name calling. Even though i don't agree and i think it is PC gone mad i think DCFC should announce to the national press and other league clubs that the tri-colour is banned from the Brandywell stadium. That would help largely avoid this from happening again and then i would not have had to put up with your foul mouthed attacks. Still waiting by the way.
    foul mouthed attacks? some cheek of you given the tripe you posted on the derry forum. grand and easy being "proud" of the irish flag in a backarse of nowhere town where the most controversy surrounds which culchie is more culchie than the other culchie

Its a national flag. I'm not getting into what the Irish nation is (and nor should anyone here, as its not really the point)

74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    Good one but no need for the name calling. Even though i don't agree and i think it is PC gone mad i think DCFC should announce to the national press and other league clubs that the tri-colour is banned from the Brandywell stadium. That would help largely avoid this from happening again and then i would not have had to put up with your foul mouthed attacks. Still waiting by the way.
    I apologise for telling you to **** off back to sligo. Not normally in my nature but find it frustrating that people cannot accet rules laid down by the club.

No its not. The flag, if there is one, for the entire island is the St. Patrick Flag

http://www.crwflags.com/fotw/images/i/ie-stpat.gif

Funnily enough, it looks like the northerners have a closer fit than we do down here!

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    No its not. The flag, if there is one, for the entire island is the St. Patrick Flag
    That was made up by Britain, doesn't represent anyone.

462 Posts
    Well, I thought it was

Green = Catholics
    White = Neutrals
    Orange = Protestants

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    That was made up by Britain, doesn't represent anyone.
    if by "by britain" you mean by irish people when britain was in charge.

its the flag of the Fitzgearlds and the flag that Irish/Spanish troops fought under at Kinsale.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    We'll have them out for the UEFA Cup games in Denmark. In a game between two Irish sides, who are you showing your "pride" to?
    Not a shamed to be Irish where am!So before we go to a game we should open my designer flag wardrobe and decide what flag to bring.cop on! his was a young lad with a flag with sligo rovers on it with no sectearan motive in mind.Free country so i thought so why not a tricolor at a game between two irish clubs.
    Till d End!

Quote Originally Posted by Shiba View Post
    Free country so i thought
    you're on the premises of Derry City F.C. and in buying your ticket, agreed to their rules, regulations and discretion of what is suitable and what is not.

Not a shamed to be Irish where am!So before we go to a game we should open my designer flag wardrobe and decide what flag to bring.cop on! his was a young lad with a flag with sligo rovers on it with no sectearan motive in mind.Free country so i thought so why not a tricolor at a game between two irish clubs.
    Cant really make head nor tails of that post but fact is there is a rule in place at the Brandywell. This rule is in place for a reason and has worked without problems for a long time. You were guests at their stadium and are required to abide by their rules, whether you agree withe them or not. End of story.

Free country so i thought so why not a tricolor at a game between two irish clubs.
    If you can answer me why, I'll tell you why not? Are you saying that those without Irish flags aren't proud of their nationality or are ashamed of being Irish?

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    If you can answer me why, I'll tell you why not? Are you saying that those without Irish flags aren't proud of their nationality or are ashamed of being Irish?
    No I don't think does who don't have a flag are any less proud of thier nationality.I don't have one.Just like I don't think having one is wrong or makes you more proud.I do think it was a grave insult to ask someone to take down the national flag no matter where it was.Ya! Derry have a policy in place but it should have been put in place from the start not near the end of the game.so whats wrong with havn it at a game between to Irish teams makes more sense having it their than in old trafford.Oh btw good luck in europe as with Derry your representing the whole of the league!
    Till d End!

Ya! Derry have a policy in place but it should have been put in place from the start not near the end of the game.
    Jeez they harldy thought 'Sure well leave it a while then take it off him to really annoy him'. They implemented it when they noticed it. Stewards and directors have other things to do as well
    so whats wrong with havn it at a game between to Irish teams makes more sense having it their than in old trafford.
    Are you actually for real? Do you have any understanding of the situation in the North? No it doesnt make more sense to have it at a mtach in Northern Ireland between 2 Irish teams where it could alienate some of the population of the city than in a stadium in England wherre no one cares
    Last edited by micls; 07/07/2007 at 3:33 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    Derry City as a club with co-operation with its fans have had this policy in action for years. Do any of you actually understand the nature of society in the North? Flags are a highly emotive political issue. If we display them we alienate a section of our support. If your going to have a dig at us at trying to change attitudes in the north then that's your problem. There would be more complaints at the ground by people if the ground was laden by tricolours. Derry City is a cross community club.

PS A half obscurely displayed Scottish flag is irrelevant to the political situation in the North.

its not as if your the only team in the city/general area
    not trying to stir **** or anything, just curious...

i can see derry citys point in not permitting national flags lads especially with what has went on in the past.it is a small price to pay to be honest.with regards to the scottish flag, i dont think anyone would be offended by it as scotland has a very liberal view towards ireland.

74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by half_full View Post
    its not as if your the only team in the city/general area
    not trying to stir **** or anything, just curious...

What do you mean?

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast