Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Thread: Ireland-Bolivia Match Thread

Quote Originally Posted by timmy mallet View Post
    You would have thought that with Reading safe from relegation since January that Bennet might have got a run, not a chance.
    you don't just give central defenders "a run". I think benno may have been a bit busy winning the Premier League Reserve Championship.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    you don't just give central defenders "a run". I think benno may have been a bit busy winning the Premier League Reserve Championship.
    You joking, lad? If he thought he was any use he would have played towards the end of the season. You're not busy winning a reserve league, Coppell said he didn't want to go into Europe and was gonna play his reserve team in the league, he didn't go that far but he gave a lot of fringe players a chance and there was no sign of Bennet.

Anyone else think that some of the Ireland players looked like they had taken part in the Boston version of 'Harry Ramsdens Challenge'?

You joking, lad? If he thought he was any use he would have played towards the end of the season. You're not busy winning a reserve league, Coppell said he didn't want to go into Europe and was gonna play his reserve team in the league, he didn't go that far but he gave a lot of fringe players a chance and there was no sign of Bennet.
    As I said, you don't just swap around central defenders for a laugh in any league, let alone the premiership. Which, then, do you think is more likely: bennett to be a regular at some point next year, or bennett to be unceremoniously turfed back to ireland as he's not exactly a youths player?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

I think Coppell had said he wanted Bennet to settle in this season & challenge for 1st team next season. Reading were trying to finish as high up the Premiership as they could as it is worth a lot of money. I did not see too many fringe players playing unless due to injuries...

With a good pre season Bennet could step up to 3rd choice instead of Bikey.

As I said, you don't just swap around central defenders for a laugh in any league, let alone the premiership. Which, then, do you think is more likely: bennett to be a regular at some point next year, or bennett to be unceremoniously turfed back to ireland as he's not exactly a youths player?
    If Coppell thought he was up to the standard he would have played him by now, especially with the way Reading's season went and the comments he was making about Europe. He was swappin his team around weekley, did Bennet even make a squad?

Did O'Neil bring him back in January and play him in the first team? Did he **** , why did he bring him back, brains?
    I'm not sure what you're getting at but I do appreciate the brains compliment, thank you. Anyway, O'Neill denied him the chance to play in the secong leg of the League Cup semi-final. Why would he have done that if he didn't value O'Halloran, see him as not far off the team, pinky?

On a more salient level, I think O'Halloran has the makings of a fine player, he just needs to appreciate when to make the easy pass, but that is sure to come with more experience. I think you're wrong about Bennet too, he came in during his off-season so that explains a lot. Ingamarsson played every minute of the season so there can't have been too much shuffling of the pack towards the close. And if you are giving guys games towards the end you give it to the player who's been around all season not some fella who came in at January.

Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    I think you're wrong about Bennet too, he came in during his off-season so that explains a lot. And if you are giving guys games towards the end you give it to the player who's been around all season not some fella who came in at January.

Off season by a few of weeks, can imagine his fitness would have returned relatively quickly - We think Coppell wants him for next season but I just thought he may have played him near the end to see how he faired.

Off season by a few of weeks, can imagine his fitness would have returned relatively quickly
    Bennett had not trained in 2 months when he first joined Reading.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Bennett had not trained in 2 months when he first joined Reading.
    He'd of been grand by the end of January

282 Posts
    Anyone know the attendance and referee of yesterday's match?
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Did O'Neil bring him back in January and play him in the first team? Did he **** , why did he bring him back, brains?

You would have thought that with Reading safe from relegation since January that Bennet might have got a run, not a chance.
    O'Neill brought him back as cover as he felt it might have been needed after January. Supposedly O'Neill rates him highly.
    And didnt Bennett join Reading having not played a game fro the previous 2 months. Reading probably, quite rightly, wanted to get him fit and accustomed to the place. He was never going to break into the team during last season. he WILL get an opportunity next season

Quote Originally Posted by carloz View Post
    O'Neill brought him back as cover as he felt it might have been needed after January. Supposedly O'Neill rates him highly.
    And didnt Bennett join Reading having not played a game fro the previous 2 months. Reading probably, quite rightly, wanted to get him fit and accustomed to the place. He was never going to break into the team during last season. he WILL get an opportunity next season
    We'll see... don't hold too much hope for Bennet, but O'Halloran looks very good.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by theworm2345 View Post
    Anyone know the attendance and referee of yesterday's match?
    said about 20,000 on RTE
    dont know the REf but he was good

Quote Originally Posted by carloz View Post
    O'Neill does raste him very highly indeed, and he was supposed to be lined up for a few appearances at the end but unfortunatly for him Villa strung together a few good results, he made the squad on numerous occasions and hopefuly we will be seein more of him on t.v next year!! I have to say i was also very impressed Bennett who says he cant improve by alot in the next year at doyles rate. he has the potential IMO.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Ok so lads, judging by the performances in the two games, who do ye think will be in the squad for the september qualifiers??

Obviously Doyle, Kilbane, Hunt, Kelly and probably Long will be in the squad. I think Murphy (Daryl) looks a more complete striker than Stokes (who does have a great strike of the ball) so I'd have him in with Doyle, Long and Keane as the four strikers.

I don't think any of the other defenders did themselves any favours wit their performances - maybe with the exception of o'holloran. It might be too soon for potter - especially if the two reids are back playing regularly.

Do ye think anyone else is worth a place?

Colin Doyle in instead of Colgan.
    In Trap we trust

All being fit apart from Duff
    this would be my squad of 23

Given
    Henderson
    Colgan

Finnan
    O'Brien
    McShane
    O'Shea
    Dunne
    O'Halloran
    Kelly S
    Carr

Reid A
    Reid S
    Kilbane
    Carsley
    Miller
    McGeady
    Potter
    Hunt

Keane
    Doyle
    Long
    Keogh
    Stokes

20 Posts
    I didnt think Colin Doyle was anything special. Henderson played a lot better(altho I assume you are talking about a third choice goalie so it doesnt really matter much.)
    Kevin Doyle should be a deffo starter in every game he is available.
    Hunt should be in for his workrate alone but dont be surprised if he loses the ball a lot.
    Stokes looks very good. hopefully will learn as he gets more experienced.
    Daryl Murphy looks good enough to be very close to the starting 11(imo).
    Shane Long looked good as well.
    Of the others I thought Bennet looked ok. Would be good to see if he gets a run with Reading next season. Potter should also be in the squad as back up in midfield were we are fairly thin on options.
    Everyone else didnt really stand out much but I wouldnt discount anyone on the back of these two games.

another question would be who in the current team would you be looking to replace?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    I wouldn't have Long in the squad. It's clear that he has potential but he's not ready yet IMO. Hopefully he will start more games for Reading next year.

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast