Nice one on all the updates lads!![]()
anyone know where i can download this to watch?
Nice one on all the updates lads!![]()
Was at the game last night, many more Ecuadorians in the crowd, I'd say we were outnumbered 3:1. As most have said Potter was great especially in the second half, very composed on the ball and controlled the middle very well. Doyle of course was excellent and Murphy did a great job up the flank. The defense started off quite shaky but settled down well after 20 minutes. Both Bruce and Bennett improved as the game went on and Bennett especially looks a good prospect for the future. Probably not seen on TV but he was constantly talking with the back 4 and the keeper so he seems to be a good leader back there. Not a great game for Hunt and Keogh. First half there was a lot of hoofing the ball up but the second half was much more composed with a lot of good passing in midfield. In fact over the 90 minutes we were the better team and could have won it.
A fun night, nice crowd, the Ecuadorians were a good bunch. Afterwards there were still a lot of people tailgating in the parking lot, some were nice enough to give us some bbq chicken.
"Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
"Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.
Forgot to mention that Ronnie O'Brien played for Toronto in a friendly last night against Benfica so I guess he is not too interested in player for Ireland.
"Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
"Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.
Why would he? he's been treated like a dog! (if I was sarcastically voted times man of the year, i'd probably say f**k the lot of ye also..)
Last edited by The Legend; 24/05/2007 at 8:21 PM.
"A silent mouth is sweet to hear"
Doyle was a class apart from the kids & 1st timers.
Potter was terrible in the B international last year but obviously better yesterday. While O'Halloran was good going forward i thought he left a lot of gaps behind him.
Colin Doyle, Potter & Murphy will have a chance to get into the regular squad in the Autumn.
Foe selfish reasons hopefully Kilbane has minor injury as would love to see Gamble start on saturday (it was a difficult game for all the subs to come into yesterday) as must be a long time since a LOI player started a senior international.
Potter,Doyle & Murphy should be in strong contention for squad places come September.
Murphy has shown some great form for Sunderland this season and continued that run into last night's game.
I thought this week was going to be a bit of a disaster, but was delighted by the determination and fight of the young players all during the game.
Highlights:
13' Benitez Goal: AttachMax
44' Doyle Goal: AttachMax
45' Keogh Chance: AttachMax
For my site, www.footballclips.net/forum (don't be freaked out, things are just slow because football season is over)
My Guarantee
Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here
Anyone know the name of the referee? I know he was American, thats all
My Guarantee
Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here
That man with great insight, Laughing Bill O'H, asked Kenny Cunningham after the game was Alex Bruce a prospect and Kenny replied in the affirmative. Johnny G was also quite animated for him and positive about the performance.
Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.
Great to read such a predominantly positive vibe on the thread.
Obviously can't get carried away but its encouraging that some the players making their debut didn't freeze or appear out of their depth.
The news on Potter's performance is also good and hopefully he continues to develop at club level.
Hopefully they can kick on for an equally good performance on Saturday.
There's hope!!
Quoting years at random since 1975
Watched this game last night. no one stood out, bar maybe doyle as he had presence.
Lads getting over-excited here as usual. game was very poor, if ecuador were any good they would have beaten us 3 or 4 - 1. The only reason it was end to end was because the final ball from both sides was very poor and ended going straight back to the opposition. we had a good bit more possession in the second half but thats was about it. Unfortunately nothing in that match worth writing home about.
Fair point but if we were to have one chance in a match I would rather have Doyle on the end of it than Keane.
Would you have West Ham as the team of the Premiership then also? One burst of form towards the end of the year doesnt make for a good season. Ive seen him play countless times for Ireland and have been more impressed with Doyle. Thats just my opinion.
Let's not get carried away, two average teams sprinkled with a couple of class players.
Doyle (Kevin) is the real deal and
Potter showed some good touches when the ball stopped fizzing throught the air.
Murphy showed well and the experience of playing with Doyle at U21 seemed to help both of them.
Hard to judge Coiln Doyle behind a poorly organised defence but worth another go.
Kilbane was himself looked good and bad in equal proportions.
Hunt looked what he is average and is not the replacement for Duff.
Keogh was lost on the righ and hmade little impact bar missing a goal from two feet.
All of the defence were bad at times but all did at least one good thing. None up to standard on that performance.
Better than I feared and entertaining to watch.
ordinary fan, that is exactly how i woudl sum it up if i wasn't so lazy and took the easy 2 or 3 lines. reality bites i would agree would see it the same way. Nothing to take from this, bar an entertaining match, but as dunpy once said, entertaining football is not good football.