• Evenly Matched

6 17.14%

Thread: Election 2007: Prime Time Leaders Debate

Jesus I realise they could turn around and forget about their contract, but the fact that they are harping on about it makes me think that the Irish public will hold them accountable if they don't deliver

And as a former Tony Blair supporter I realise how much a man can fool us, I'm just saying if given the choice between FG and FF I'm voting FG

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Jesus I realise they could turn around and forget about their contract, but the fact that they are harping on about it makes me think that the Irish public will hold them accountable if they don't deliver

And as a former Tony Blair supporter I realise how much a man can fool us, I'm just saying if given the choice between FG and FF I'm voting FG
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

the expression 'a week is a long time in politics' springs to mind never mind 5 years. rest assured the 'contract' will only last untill the polls are closed and then there would be 5 years of spin explaining why the contract could not be met!!

Quite happy it wasn't like last night seeing as these are the two men vying for the job of leader of the country. Last night was a soundbite a minute, whereas this was always going to be much calmer.

I thought Ahern came out ahead. Ahern wore Enda down on numbers. The contract is a naive and silly piece of propaganda, especially seeing as if there is an economic downturn, Kenny will not be able to implement his contract and be out of office next term, and if there isn't one, how blindly will he be to implement his points, at the danger of becoming narrow minded to honour this contract. Its awful american drivel.
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

I can assure you I'm a very gullible person, I did buy a copy of It's Hard, despite already owning the equally poor Face Dances

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    the expression 'a week is a long time in politics' springs to mind never mind 5 years. rest assured the 'contract' will only last untill the polls are closed and then there would be 5 years of spin explaining why the contract could not be met!!
    Yeah and its us poor civil servants who will be wasting their time having to make that sh1t up!

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Yeah and its us poor civil servants who will be wasting their time having to make that sh1t up!
    Are you baiting me to get me banned? Must resist obvious joke...

462 Posts
    I thought that Kenny was the better of the two. Bertie was talking the most and that seems to have made people think that he was better. Enda's comments seemed very sensible but Bertie was trying to downgrade them, which made look better as it was but the targets that Enda put out are possible and can be done.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Are you baiting me to get me banned? Must resist obvious joke...
    Damn!

so pretty much, you'll give them the chance to f*ck everything up because sure its only 5 years.

Enda appeared to completely avoid justifying his planned spending, and the one area that he did, in hiring the extra gardai, he let it slip that his claims actually rely upon what he was claiming bertie hadnt done! bertie's "extra 2000 gardai" is on top of whats already in training, enda's was including those in training - he's a great man for the weasel words, enda.

all in all, it just surely proved that fine gael have nothing new to offer except the ability to point out whats wrong - and gave no indication that as a party they are capable of change or that as a leader, enda is capable of holding office.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

522 Posts
    I missed quite a lot of it while discussing points with the gf, but my impression of it as a whole was that they were pretty evenly matched.

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    so pretty much, you'll give them the chance to f*ck everything up because sure its only 5 years.

Yep

I think Bertie Ahern performed better in the debate but I'm unsure if he won anything exactly so I'm abstaining.
    I'll be voting for a change of government anyway.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

I thought there was something more statesmanlike about Ahern

Dunno why, maybe its his experience

It was annoying the way Kenny kept goin on about 'the woman I met in Ballina', 'the pensioner I met in Fermoy'- everybody meets people with problems but individual cases do not make for good policy

112 Posts
    I llistened to the debate on the Vincent Browne radio show...after it one of the commnetators mentioned that Bertie seemed to be making a great effort with his diction.... glad to see PJ Mara and the boys are finally listening to me !!!

522 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Matchman View Post
    It was annoying the way Kenny kept goin on about 'the woman I met in Ballina', 'the pensioner I met in Fermoy'- everybody meets people with problems but individual cases do not make for good policy
    This is part and parcel of Kenny's "contract" campaign, to show that he's connected to Ireland. In general it's a good PR technique, Kenny just doesn't know when to stop. He needs to put a little less stock in what his handlers tell him and roll with it occasionally, to make himself look less rigid. He's succeeding to a degree, but there's "a lot more to do".

It's worth remembering what his opponent was like when he walked into office. In his anorak. With his current accent multiplied by three.

exactly what is the change (that people seem so intent on getting) going to consist of? what new policys do FG offer from FF? the only differences are a slightly different views on stamp duty, 'x' amount of guards versus 'y' amount. 'q' amount of hospital beds versus 'r' amount. it's not as if this change is from capitalist to socialist, democrat to republican or even tory to labour. FFS the two parties are so in line with each other policy wise that the only thing that has prevented them from merging is their respective histories! the only question that needs to be answered is are FG more capable as the senior partner in government than FF and i would have to say No on that one.

If this country is ever going to see real change it would mean labour, the greens or shinners coming in as the senior partner in government but not FG for christ sakes.

although given the average punters knowledge of politics the 'change' that may come will be for a new man as taoiseach due to his smile, knowledge of pensioners, more articulate soundbites and this bloody 'contract'.

sad times indeed when people can't tell you for what exact political reasons they are choosing change but merely have decided they want change for the sake of it and are willing to vote on totally superfical reasons.
    Last edited by galwayhoop; 18/05/2007 at 9:18 AM.

I don't think there is any difference between FG and FF but I'll be voting for 'change' for two reasons

- I personally believe that 10 years is long enough to have one head of state at the helm, personaly I prefer the US model of eight years and you're out as I think politicans and their ideas grow stale over time, this ha been shown through Blair failing to realise that he is completely out of touch with the British voter (even more so than two years ago), George W's approval ratings sliding with each passing year, Chirac being..well Chirac, Bertie losing his man of the people touch somwhat, and even Clinton towards the end of his second term had lost some of the spark that made people like him

- Whether there is evidence of it or not (hopefully we'll find out after the election) Fianna Fail reeks of corruption at the moment, people say Fine Gael would do the same, well would it not be better to try the people that might be corrupt, rather than the party that will definatly be corrupt?

I personally believe that 10 years is long enough to have one head of state at the helm, personaly I prefer the US model of eight years and you're out as I think politicans and their ideas grow stale over time, this ha been shown through Blair failing to realise that he is completely out of touch with the British voter (even more so than two years ago), George W's approval ratings sliding with each passing year, Chirac being..well Chirac, Bertie losing his man of the people touch somwhat, and even Clinton towards the end of his second term had lost some of the spark that made people like him
    US system is totally different. you vote for a president, you vote for your congres, and you vote for your senate. it is a three tier system. the president and the ruling party in the congress are not always the same. in our system the leader of the largest party in government (usually) becomes the taoiseach. giving the government much more stability as the leader and the ruling party are from the same party. The american system can become unstable as one party is in congress while the leader is from the opposition. the president of ireland is merely a figure head - a glorified ambasador.

oh yeah and that great system in the USA gave us George W instead of Clinton! Great change there then!! And because a president can only serve 2 terms you usually see some serious dodgy moves in the final weeks of their term. Grants, criminals exonarated, contract issued, promotions.....etc.

However bad our system is do not say that the Yank's is better. If you think a few builders at the Galway Races is treason then look at the donations to American Presidential campaigns from Drug Companies, Oil Co.'s, Weapons manufactures. Ever wonder why the Americans seem to need a War every decade, well look at who funded their election!!!! Has their been many Medical breakthroughs in recent memory or merely serious advancement in Drugs which contain or reduce symptoms - what was the last major disease that was cured with all of our major technology???? But I don't want to go on about all of that.

522 Posts
    In my opinion the main difference is with the partner in government, and there's a pretty big difference between the core views of the PDs and Labour.