Thread: Scientology on Panorama

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    summary of scientology
    Good stuff that, especially the soulcatcher. I'd have to admit that it's more imaginative than that Original sin/Immaculate Deception stuff that is also doing the rounds.

Evolution is a party pooper though. .

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Good stuff that, especially the soulcatcher. I'd have to admit that it's more imaginative than that Original sin/Immaculate Deception stuff that is also doing the rounds.

Evolution is a party pooper though. .
    Love the line in south park ( from the chef's dead episode )

"Is it any more retarded than believing the son of god came down to earth to save us "

Stan : its way more retarded

Scientology is ridiculous but then again so is believing that some dudes body and blood are available for consumption in a church every week and that his mother was a virgin.

All religions don't make sense.

Our planet has existed for billions and billions of years - humans have only been on the planet for a very very short time. If there was some sort of god why would he make a planet and then wait billions of years to make an intelligent life form - thats just plain lazy.

Quote Originally Posted by finlma View Post
    Scientology is ridiculous but then again so is believing that some dudes body and blood are available for consumption in a church every week and that his mother was a virgin.

Our planet has existed for billions and billions of years - humans have only been on the planet for a very very short time. If there was some sort of god why would he make a planet and then wait billions of years to make an intelligent life form - thats just plain lazy.
    There is no time in heaven , allthough he only had a week to finish the job ??

Still its more interesting than : there was nothing , there was a big bang , there was a universe

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    Still its more interesting than : there was nothing , there was a big bang , there was a universe
    Who created the bang?

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    Might be more interesting but certainly doesn't make more sense.

What did he do before he created the Earth? Was he really bored one day and said "ah feck it - I'll make this little blue planet and put a bunch of eejits on it so they can fight with each other for my entertainment". Just like I used do when I played Sim City all those years ago.

And if he does exist then who made him or is he so great that he made himself - but how could he do that? Santa Claus makes more sense.

So many holes and so few answers - thats what religions, including Scientology, are all about.

Fear of the unknown is what drives all religions. Any explanation regardless of how far fetched it might appear is preferable to saying "Actually I have no idea what we are all doing here or what happens when we die".

Personally I think you either accept the scientific proof of evolution or you believe in a "creation" based religion, it's a black & white issue.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Who created the bang?
    Yawn!! Plenty of sceintific theories put forward about it. None have been proven yet - but they will one day. Why would someone just create a bang and hope for the best if he has the power to create anything - again just plain laziness. Or maybe because they just don't exist.

Who created the bang?

Or whats in the terry pratchet books something like

in the begining there was nothing , then that nothing exploded and made the universe !!
    Yawn!! Plenty of sceintific theories put forward about it. None have been proven yet - but they will one day. Why would someone just create a bang and hope for the best if he has the power to create anything - again just plain laziness. Or maybe because they just don't exist.
    Why wouldnt they ? maybe he has a God complex
    Last edited by sligoman; 15/05/2007 at 4:05 PM. Reason: merge

Relax... I was kidding

In the UK, humanist (no God) activities, since 2006, are considered religions for legal purposes. So now claiming that all religions don't make sense appears to suggest that nothing makes sense, which is probably just about spot on.
    Last edited by kingdom hoop; 15/05/2007 at 4:15 PM. Reason: get rid of the boring bit

Relax... I was kidding
    Sorry - religous zealots having being annoying me lately and I'm easily pushed into my atheism rant.

230 Posts
    Speaking of religion and lunatics, Jerry Falwell just passed away. This is the guy that blamed gays, feminists and liberal groups for 9/11.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

462 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Did anyone think that Tommy Davis guy was a cross between ed norton ( fight club and american history x ) and tom cruise?
    I thought he was from the Matrix

812 Posts

Cults tend to have similar characteristics. Oh, and they're rather tougher to leave.

Who created the bang?
    And who created that person? Or does causality become a bit funny when you take all of time and space out of the equation? Face it, we know jack about the beginning of the universe. Suggesting that it involved a guy with a beard isn't much help.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Suggesting that it involved a guy with a beard isn't much help.
    Yeah but some of these anti religous zealots annoy me... (etc etc)

I think the BBC would get the same treatment if they called other religions a cult. The scene where the BBC fella lost the plot was bizarre.

Overall fairly shoddy work by the BBC but then again Panorama standards are hopeless in recent years - remember the football bung "revelations"?

BTW South Park is great source of info for religions - Mormons, Scientology, Atheists

462 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Atheists
    Is that a religion against a religion ?

Surprised no one has posted this up here:
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

the boss i think filmna is a little confused, i think he meant to say he is agnositic, although he did say something created us, but not sure so maybe he is aetheist or maybe he just doesnt know himself - perhaps a little confused.