Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: League announces massive attendance rise

Thumbs up League announces massive attendance rise

From eleven-a-side.com:

The eircom League of Ireland has announced a significant rise in attendance figures over the first six weeks of the season compared to the relevant period in 2006.

A total of 97,656 patrons attendance League fixtures over the first six weeks of the 2007 Premier and First Division season.

The figure for the same period a year ago was just 65,828 – equating to a massive rise of 48 per cent this year.

The immediate growth represents early successes for the Club Promotions Officer scheme, led by National Co-ordinator Noel Mooney as well as the 15 club promotions officers, all of whom have been appointed within the past four months.

462 Posts
    That is some increase for the first 6 weeks. But will it continue as some new fans might have lost novelty factor.

There has been an extra few matches though, correct?
    Quite an achievement though in fairness.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Why wont the clubs release the figures publically then? All very well giving them to the FAI.............

Cork v Rovers biggest crowd of the season so far.

Pats release the official figures on our website. I agree everyone else should too

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Why wont the clubs release the figures publically then? All very well giving them to the FAI.............

Cork v Rovers biggest crowd of the season so far.

Actually went to that game and ended up in the rovers section. As people here know, I dont feel anything for any EL team, I dont have any links with a club but I must say the whole evening was very enjoyable (bar 1 incident which i disliked). It was a song sung by a few of the rovers fans.

Was amazed by the size of the crowd. Moving back to Dublin in a few weeks and will tip down to a few more games without doubt. Dont see how anyone could have any reason not too attend games tbh.

It couldnt compare with the utterly miserable experience I had in the pub watching my home team last night. The local singing scouser wasnt in and the locals decided to spend the night taking the p1ss out of his singing (accent and all). Horrible soulless people! Before you ask, they dont support Cork city, "cos they're sh1t, boy".
    Last edited by reder; 19/04/2007 at 12:06 PM.

Its hard to know what has caused the attendances rises & would be interesting to see how close the Attendance thread figures her are.

74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    (bar 1 incident which i disliked). It was a song sung by a few of the rovers fans.
    Okay, I'll bite. What was the song that so offended?

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

85 Posts
    We are doing infinitely better than the same period last season (as are St. Pat's), Wexford Youths have great attendances as a new club, Athlone are in their new ground and there is no Dublin City. These are all big factors I feel.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers View Post
    Okay, I'll bite. What was the song that so offended?

Not too sure of the exact words, and it was mainly sung but one old man in the row behind me. I was in the centre block 2 row from the back. It was something along the lines of :

We hate Princess Diana,
    We hate Elton john too, he's gay,
    (*Couldnt make out the next line at all*)
    By rovers we love you.

- To the tune of "Land of Hope and Glory".

If you want to sing and song with that sentiment surely you could have choosen a tune other than one of an English patriotic song!!

Anyway bar that one incident, I have nothing but the highest praise for you, thought you were excellent.

PS: why did we have to stay back after the game. There was nothing in the game to warrant that?
    Last edited by reder; 19/04/2007 at 12:39 PM.

3,223 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    it would be interesting to see how close the Attendance thread figures her are.
    Approx 6% over the given figure.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Its hard to know what has caused the attendances rises & would be interesting to see how close the Attendance thread figures her are.
    not totally sure but noel mooney and club promo officers can take credit for most of success
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Approx 6% over the given figure.
    That's not bad going.
    Revenge for 2002

We hate Princess Diana,
    By rovers we love you.

- To the tune of "Land of Hope and Glory".
    Typical Shamrocks - stuck in the 1980s...
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    Typical Shamrocks - stuck in the 1980s...
    No such club.

Damn I thought reder was referring to another song that is always sung lustily in cark

BTW reder were you one of the gang of about a dozen english lads in front of us friday?

Good to see attendances up although it is early days yet.

No such club.
    Thomas Davis was right!
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    There has been an extra few matches though, correct?
    Quite an achievement though in fairness.

5 I think - Times said that the attendance was over the first 66 games versus the first 61 last year
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

Fair play to yous. I would presume that your attendances will continously stay above last seasons considering there is no world cup to interupt your domestic season.
    The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D

reder
    No such club.

Damn I thought reder was referring to another song that is always sung lustily in cark

BTW reder were you one of the gang of about a dozen english lads in front of us friday?

No, I was giving that Cark song 100% once I got the words to it!! Bloody good one that.

No that wasnt me, I was one my own. I was 2 rows from the back in the middle block. The guy who went to collect that award(??) before ko, fell over the advertising hoarding right in front of my view of the pitch.
    Last edited by reder; 19/04/2007 at 1:43 PM.

74 Posts
    We hate Princess Diana,
    By rovers we love you.
    Correct version -

We hate Princess Diana,
    We hate Elton John too, he's a puff,
    We hate Orange *******s,
    But Rovers we love you.

Seriously that's actually one of my favourite Rovers songs because of how irrelevant, daft and randomly offensive it is. But that's just me.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast