Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Worse Managers Than Staunton

20 Posts

Worse Managers Than Staunton

Can anyone think of any other managerial reigns that were as big a farce as Stauntons Ireland one? Christain(?) Gross at Spurs comes to mind......

114 Posts
    No .

60 Posts
    No. Can't think of anyone so incompetent.
    Always look on the bright side of life

Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    Can anyone think of any other managerial reigns that were as big a farce as Stauntons Ireland one? Christain(?) Gross at Spurs comes to mind......
    As big as? probably not, but Sven and Taylor with England, Dave Sexton at Man Utd, John Barnes at Celtic, Souness at Liverpool all come to mind.

Very unfair to Gross who has won many trophies in Switzerland and has a good record in Europe. He had a disappointing time at Spurs but I believe his record wasn't significantly worse than other Tottenham managers around that time.

Quinn at Sunderland, possibly But he had the good sense to get out when he realised it wasn't the job for him so I'd say No.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

most leeds united managers since don revie with the exception of howard wilkinson and that yoke kerley (or was that crilly) at waterford utd
    I have a head only Snow White would love

Berti Vogts was almost as bad but Stan is setting new levels of incompetence and inconsistency every week.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

Sean O Connor at Bohs so far
    In Trap we trust

282 Posts
    Its quite hard...Glenn Hoddle at Wolves was terrible last year, though Wolves were 7th in the Championship (we may be 7th in our group too!)
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

214 Posts
    John Barnes was a good call but hard to top David Platt at Nottm Forest. The club is still in turmoil because of that eadget. He buys in 3 of his Italian mates who then suffer long term injuries as soon as they step on the East Midlands Airport tarmac. To top it off they are then 'paid off' in compensation because they can never play football again. 2 relegations later and they get beat by teams like Yeovil. For Stan to surpass Platt we need to get beaten by the likes of Cyprus and scrape by teams like San Marino.......hang on a minute.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    As big as? probably not, but Sven and Taylor with England, Dave Sexton at Man Utd, John Barnes at Celtic, Souness at Liverpool all come to mind.
    Ignoring his salary Sven was fairly succesful with England. The qualified consistently (something that was not previously the case) and got to the last 8. I'd say he achieved par performances from his team. If only Stan could do that.

The question I'd ask is whether there is anyone involved in football who you would be disappoitned to hear was replacing Stan. As a starter I give you Paul Gascoigne and Stan Collymore!

Les Reed at Charlton,soon found out how tough it was.Paul Le Guens another one,got lucky with Lyon,shambles at Rangers and will soon have PSG out of the first division,hopefully.
    MOT

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Sean O Connor at Bohs so far

Serves you right!!

I'd imagine a few of the recent Madrid managers only lasted a few losses.

Maybe Toshack, Camacho and Garcia Roman though the results there needn't have been too disastorous to get the sack.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by cavan_fan View Post
    Ignoring his salary Sven was fairly succesful with England. The qualified consistently (something that was not previously the case) and got to the last 8. I'd say he achieved par performances from his team. If only Stan could do that.

The question I'd ask is whether there is anyone involved in football who you would be disappoitned to hear was replacing Stan. As a starter I give you Paul Gascoigne and Stan Collymore!
    True but considering the talent pool at his disposal i thought they should be doing more than just qualifieing and scraping wins against trinidad and tobago and paraguay, with the exeption of Brazil i couldnt see a stronger squad at the start of the world cup.

Liam Brady at Celtic was fairly muck
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

None of the above have ever even come close to some of the bizarre decisions Stan has made. Just because someone had a bad spell does not automatically make them a bad manager.

There are very few who can hold a candle to our Stan. It's a shame because he should be revered for what he gave us as a player but instead I now find myself almost hating the guy for the embarressment he is causing and the shambles things have become.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

Ooh. That's a tough one.

Here's one that'll be hard to top - John Delaney himself. When the pressure on the current management proves too much, Delaney takes over team affairs himself. Not for any personal glory, of course. No, he would take the job as a selfless act because he would fear for the health and safety of any mere mortal taking the job, such are the pressures of managing the Ireland team in this modern Celtic Tiger World.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Lads Steve McLaren is making a right hash of the English job across the pond if ye haven't noticed

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast