Page 29 of 48 FirstFirst ... 19272829303139 ... LastLast

Thread: The Steve Staunton Discussion thread

Maybe not thick but he was a bit stubborn in the early days, like when he insisted on playing Ian Harte at center back. I was annoyed when he was fired though as I felt he was doing a pretty good job and it was only because of the whole Saipan affair that led to him having to go after one slip up

2 slip ups, switzerland and russia.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    2 slip ups, switzerland and russia.
    Any man who asks Denis Irwin to go and prove himself deserves a kick in the bacon slicers!
    There are far more than just 2 slip ups but thats a story for another 20 part series akin to that of Lost.

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    Stan is here till the 2010 qualifiers. End of. Get behind the man and the team, with a bit of luck we could qualify for something. Stan made some blunders Saturday IMO but fingers crossed he learns from his mistakes.
    The man is a feckin imbecile...i dont care if you hand ten hands with fingers crossed,this man wouldn have the cop on to learn from his mistakes. I heard a quote from him yesterday on today fm, "obviously you go to win evey game, but that depends on results.ehhh ive seen the playos de last two days and they are hung..hung..hungry to go...its up to them". - think that says it all about him!!!

[FONT='Times New Roman']
    Ive never seen him described as that before.

The Russia result was a bit disappointing but it was hardly a major upset to lose to Russia as they are a tough team to beat away from home.
    I agree with the Irwin comment but is there anyone here who would actually prefer Stan to McCarthy going into this game?

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Ive never seen him described as that before.
    damn pos you're quick my friend!! spell check in word, thankfully I dont have to use Imbecile too much so had to make sure of spelling, especially with eagle eyes such as yours about!

Quote Originally Posted by Morbo View Post
    The Russia result was a bit disappointing but it was hardly a major upset to lose to Russia as they are a tough team to beat away from home.
    I agree with the Irwin comment but is there anyone here who would actually prefer Stan to McCarthy going into this game?
    If only Ming the Merciless was in charge!
    "A silent mouth is sweet to hear"

200 Posts
    Who is Delaney's boss ? He's not gonna sack Stan and Stan wont leave of his own accord. Delaney must have a boss, even if it's Bertie, it has to be someone... They need to get rid of half the staff in the FAI.

182 Posts
    Delaney gave himself a six year contract. He'd have to pay himself off if he sacked himself.

I often wondered how you go about toppling an FA. Do you organise a coup? Start a rival FA and request government and FIFA approval?

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brine3 View Post
    ... Start a rival FA ...
    It could get very messy - Provisional FAI, Continuity FAI, Real FAI ...
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

282 Posts
    Please sign the petition, maybe we'll get one for Delaney too
    http://www.petitiononline.com/99887799/petition.html
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Quote Originally Posted by theworm2345 View Post
    Please sign the petition, maybe we'll get one for Delaney too
    http://www.petitiononline.com/99887799/petition.html
    like an internet petition is going to work

85 Posts
    As CE, It hink Delaney answers to a board of Directors.... I think that's how it works anyway.

It all comes back to the same line of thought when Stan was hired. The man shouldn't have been offered the job. Delaneys bull**** line after San Marino was "Well, Steve wanted the job!" doesn't cut it.

Wait for the deflection from the FAI now... Kneejerk reaction... Fickle fans... Media influence... We haven't got the players...

Let's pre-empt the deflection....

"Delaney, you snake with a bowl cut, we knew we hadn't got the players when Stan got the job. Our stance at the time was that Stan, with no experience, was not the best man to get the best out of a limited bunch of players! Being proved right gives us no pleasure. Give us some credit as fans. Do not cite our dissenchantment down to a knee jerk reaction to poor results, performances and media influence..... P.S. I hope you get **** on your **** so that you need ***** to remove it. You ****. "

Stan won't resign. He's gonna have to be sacked. And those that hired him should account for their decision.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

1,928 Posts
    We are all just disgruntled Dundalk fans.

Does anyone else have a sense of expectation that something is going to happen today? I think last night was the straw the broke the camel's back. Something has to give. Hopefully today, sounds a bit knee jerk reaction stuff but the patience has gone. The FAI will be sending out booking forms for the Lansdowne Road anyday now I bet. As it stands I bet people would think twice block booking if it means enduring that shambles every time you go.
    'And Crouch must score'

listened to stauntons interview with Tony O donoghue afte the match..when asked did he think O Shea going off and hunt coming on changed the perspective of the game..he said no O shea was playing well and then mumbled..in fairness people with guide dogs(absolutely no offence intended) knew that hunt sparked life into our team and the czechs had to all of a sudden defend..comical stuff if it wasn't so serious

He was then interviewed at 4:30 by Gabriel Egan..heard it this morning...it is cringe stuff....claimed there is no common sense be applied to him and his team from the media.....amazing...there is no common sense being applied is right but from him....

I actually now feel sorry for him as he looks a pathetic figure and only a shadow of the man he was....he is now going to be remembered as the Walsall Waterboy who tried to manage Ireland but was crap....his performances as a player for liverpool, Villa and Ireland are being eroded...that is sad for a guy who served us well as a player but was not up to it as a manager
    Bring back the plank

Am i the only one that thinks he is doing a good job, from day one the media where against him so every little slip up gets highlighted, he inherited a crap team playing really poorly, he got slaughtered for bringing in young players that the so called experts said where not good enough.

Its the best football ive ever seen ireland play do people not remember the crap under Jack or McCarthey even Kerr we where shocking for the first time in my lifetime we actually look like a team that can score goals . John o shea lost Ireland the win V slovakia and again lost his man last night . There isnt much Stan can do about what happens on the pitch.

We lost 1 nil away to the Cech. rep. in a game where we went down to 10 men hit the post and had a shot cleared off the line .

He has brought through Hunt Mcshane Long and Ireland.

This knee jerk reaction to not qualifying for the Euro cup from a group we had little or no chance of getting out of anyway is a bit over the top .

I dont think he should have been given the job but i dont see anything he is doing to warrent the slatting he is getting .

my blood is boiling sitting here in work. i cant even work this is eating away at me that much. if i thought going round to Merrion Square would have any influence id sprint there now myself! We can not afford to let the dust settle on this again and before we know it were looking a staunton mumbling through yet another pre match press conference, sh *ting on about "building" and " its coming along nicely" ..... if it happens i fear my right foot and the telly will have a coming together....
    i have been (stupidly and very likely in vain) checking websites looking for news of an FAI press conference today, which i would expect to be the end of Stauntons shambolick reign.... please dont disappoint again FAI!?

No Anto your not the only one who thinks he is doing a good job..... theres you and Delaney....... or maybe your the same person?
    either way get a grip, he is muck, has no tactical awareness, didnt bring those players through - he was forced to and any manager that would have taken the job would have brought them in...

Page 29 of 48 FirstFirst ... 19272829303139 ... LastLast