Wouldnt have Long in it , there are maybe 3 or 4 others ahead of him

Agree, wouldn't have Long in it just yet - stick him in the u21's. I'd say Lee/Morrisson will be in there instead.

Would have Paddy McCarthy in there ahead of O'Brien based on his impressive B showing and also on the fact that he is actually playing some football!

Too soon for Garvan/Clarke? Both should definitely at least be in the u21's at this stage...
    Last edited by Dr. Ogba; 10/01/2007 at 10:19 AM.
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

Darren O Dea surely would merit a squad place if he keeps getting in the celtic team the way he is (and scoring the goals he is )

36 Posts
    Actually guys I think ye right .its time for either Mc carthy or O 'Dea, so leave foley out and O brien
    I feel its too soon for Garvin but only because od his lonf time out of the game recently.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    Too soon for Garvan/Clarke? Both should definitely at least be in the u21's at this stage...
    I'd defo have Garvan in it instead of A Quinn who's not a regular anymore for Sheffield Utd. Probably Ireland as well though I can't say he deserves a midfield place ahead of any of the others tbh so maybe not.

Also I'd have S Kelly instead of Foley and definitely have O'Dea ahead of that liability A O'Brien. Like to see O'Shea out too (Possibly S Kelly could be brought in for him instead) but unfortunately this won't happen so no point speculating.
    Last edited by youngirish; 10/01/2007 at 10:50 AM.

Stephen Kelly will probably be injured.
    In Trap we trust

36 Posts
    Garvin is quality but we can rush him because of a media frenzy lads )
    Kelly is out Young irish .....

I feel the usa tour will a major bonus in developing the youth and guys close to a team spot

examples:

Chris Mc cann
    Foley
    Tabb
    Steven Quinn
    Mc carthy
    Whelan
    Garvin
    Long . Clarke and stokes.....couple these guys with given duff finnan keane dunne and o shea and we could have a very exciting tour

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Stephen Kelly will probably be injured.
    He should only be out for 3 weeks. Foley is injured at the moment as well.

far too early for o'dea lads... hopefully he continues as he started.
    of course clinton will be in the squad
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

What about Daryl Murphy? He's been playing regularly and has scored a few.
    Last edited by tblade; 10/01/2007 at 11:34 AM. Reason: typo

Forgot about Glenn Whelan aswell. Playing regularly for a decent Sheffield Wednesday team and supposedly on the form of his life. A goalscoring midfielder is definitely not to be sniffed at....
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    Forgot about Glenn Whelan aswell. Playing regularly for a decent Sheffield Wednesday team and supposedly on the form of his life. A goalscoring midfielder is definitely not to be sniffed at....
    Whelan could hardly be described as a goalscoring midfielder. He averages one in about every 12 games for Wednesday.

3,500 Posts
    Stan was at the Wednesday - Man City game at the weekend as well

does anyone think stokes will get playing time against san marino? would he be next in line were Doyle or Keane to get an injury? hell i could even argue for him to be included ahead of Keane if he bags a few goals in the championship which i have no doubt he will!

36 Posts
    I forgot about about young gibson

I just checked the royal antwerp site

R.Antwerp F.C. 3
    -
    FCV Dender EH 0

Gibson started and was taken off with 5 mins left

I would pick the following team:

Given
    Kilbane??
    Dunne
    McShane
    Finnan
    Duff
    Carsley
    A.Reid??
    McGeady
    Doyle
    Stokes

I think we should give Stokes a try against San Marino, but have concerned as to who would play at LB as usual & not sure who should play along side Carsley in the middle.

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SeanieBoy View Post
    I would pick the following team:

Given
    Kilbane??
    Dunne
    McShane
    Finnan
    Duff
    Carsley
    A.Reid??
    McGeady
    Doyle
    Stokes

I think we should give Stokes a try against San Marino, but have concerned as to who would play at LB as usual & not sure who should play along side Carsley in the middle.
    They day Tony Stokes is picked over Robbie Keane is likely the day that Stan gets fired. Keane isnt playing all that great at Spurs, but Staunton wont drop him
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Why not stick Geary from Shef utd in at left back. He is the only Irish man playing in this role regularly and is not making a show of himself against the best in the premiership. I am sure he will get away with it against San Marino.

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Whelan could hardly be described as a goalscoring midfielder. He averages one in about every 12 games for Wednesday.
    Really just based that on his performance this season where he has 6 in 19 which aint too bad for a midfielder. Some of his goals have been absolute crackers too!

Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast