Page 14 of 15 FirstFirst ... 412131415 LastLast

Thread: Euro 2008 - Is there any hope?

26 Posts
    Well you know what they say about great minds.

ya fools seldom differ.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    can you convert from Betamax to DVD. I would love a copy of that. I remember watching it also. We played Israel the night before and won 5 nil I think. David Kelly hatrick. Who was on the panel then. Was Giles, I kinda remember a crap studio like it was a hall in RTE with facke bushes in the background.
    I'll see what I can do. I have a load of old games and family videos on betamax and have been thinking about getting them transferred.

I can't remember who was on the panel but I do remember a bottle of champage being popped was it by Laughing Bill?
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    I'll see what I can do. I have a load of old games and family videos on betamax and have been thinking about getting them transferred.
    That would be awesome
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Watch out for one of the Scottish players being pole axed out on the wing on the lead up to that goal.

Watch for another Scottish player sticking up the two fingers at the Bulgarians while celebrating the goal as well!!!
    Quoting years at random since 1975

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    Watch out for one of the Scottish players being pole axed out on the wing on the lead up to that goal.
    God, yes, it was unbelievable how the ref even played advantage. It's about 18 years since I've seen the goal.

Hi,
    just looking at the fixture v Germany in October on the FAI website.It has the game down for Saturday with kick off at 7.45PM, I thought it was a 3PM kick off?

KO changed for German TV

My suggestion is that the team wear Gartan clay in their boots .. seemed to help in Stuttgart in 1988 :-)

http://www.museum.ie/news/details_ne...e=1&newsid=211

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post

I can't remember who was on the panel but I do remember a bottle of champage being popped was it by Laughing Bill?
    If your betamax player has the red & White (audio) and Yellow (video) out, or has any kind of adapter that'll hook to those -then all you need is a DAZZLE (video to USB) media converter. They're about 60-70 bucks in the argos catalogue. Might even be cheaper in PC world or similar.

Transfers tapes to AVI or whatever format like and you can burn them to DVD thereafter.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

1,928 Posts
    If I remember correctly, Owls infamous Betamax player was the subject of its own thread once upon a time, it's banjaxed.

2,796 Posts

Stan reads foot.ie

Staunton: Let’s snap out of away daze

By Liam Mackey

STEVE STAUNTON believes that Ireland must overcome an historical away phobia if they are to get the results they crave in the upcoming Euro 2008 qualifiers in Bratislava and Prague.

Boosted by last week’s emphatic win in Denmark, the Irish manager now wants to see his side bring a similarly positive attitude to the crucial games against Slovakia and the Czech Republic.

Speaking at the squad announcement in Dublin yesterday, Staunton said: “Over the last 20 or even 30 years we haven’t really been adventurous or positive enough away from home to go and win games.

“In a hostile atmosphere, players do sometimes sit back without even knowing it, so I’m trying to change their mindset. Away from home you’re always a bit cautious and wary but that doesn’t mean you can’t close people down or support other players who are doing that. That’s a given in my book.”

Staunton’s thoughts have clearly been coloured by the nervy first 20 minutes in Aarhus before Ireland imposed themselves on the Danes. And he believes that the Irish simply cannot afford a similarly slow start against Slovakia and the Czech Republic.

“It was good to score some goals, good to win away from home and good to keep a clean sheet,” said Staunton. “But I am not getting carried away because I thought the first 15 or 20 minutes we were very fortunate. There was some good defending and some good goalkeeping but there was some lazy close-down play. It wasn’t what I’d expect. And I think if we had that same performance for the first 15 or 20 minutes in Bratislava or against the Czech Republic, we will get punished.”

Staunton is also conscious of a lesson from history.

“If you remember back after the World Cup (in 2002), we went to Finland and trounced them. And then we went to Russia and looked a bit of a pub team. So I don’t want that to happen. If anybody thinks they are going to Bratislava and will have it easy, they are mistaken, because the Slovaks are a very good side. We saw what they are about in Dublin, but they have also added a couple more young players who have added to their game.”

As expected, Stephen Carr is ruled out of the new squad with the hamstring injury he picked up with Newcastle on Sunday. But the silver lining to this particular cloud is that Staunton has never had more strength in depth since taking the Irish job.

“I’m hoping that there will be 14 disappointed people plus another 100 players that haven’t been included in the squad,” he said. “And that’s what’s happening. Players are desperate to be part of the squad. We have created a special atmosphere. They have all had a taste of it at some stage and they are all desperate to be a part of it. But there are only 11 who can play and that will be the 11 that I think can go out and do the best job for Ireland.”

Asked whether that first 11 could accommodate both the inventive skills of both Stephen Ireland and Andy Reid, Staunton responded with mock amazement: “What? Two players who can play and pass? That’s what I’m looking for. I’m looking for competition. When you are looking at midfield there is healthy competition there. I thought Darren Potter was excellent in Denmark. Darron Gibson came on at half-time for his first senior outing and I thought he looked so comfortable. And you’ve got the likes of Jonathan Douglas coming back, and Lee Carsley is there. So there are a lot of combinations — a lot of different types of players — and we will be looking at what’s best for Ireland and trying to win the games.”

Staunton was particularly effusive in his praise for Richard Dunne.

“Over the last 12 months he has matured and taken on responsibility,” he said. “He had waited for others whereas now he’s stepped up to the plate. Richard and John O’Shea were outstanding in Aarhus — both imposing figures, both big lads and they’re starting to use that to great effect. It was a pleasure for me to play with Richard, you always knew what he could do and what he would do. He’s getting better with his distribution as well so that’s going to be a big help. But as a defender he’s as good as anybody.”

Staunton says he has no doubt that Shay Given, on the way back from a groin injury, will be fit to play in the qualifiers — even if he fails to play in Newcastle’s next match.

“No player has to play any game,” he said. “If a player is injured we can call them in and assess their fitness under UEFA rules. So there is no problem with Shay. He was on the bench on Sunday, so I presume if (Steve) Harper had been injured during the game, Shay would have gone on.”

Staunton confirmed that Bobby Robson, who is still receiving treatment following his latest bout with cancer, won’t be travelling. He also revealed that Ireland will play another B international, this time away to Scotland, after Ireland’s final qualifier, against Wales, in November.

Finally, after what had been an emotional week for the Irish manager, Staunton still found it too difficult yesterday to take questions about the passing of his father, Tom, but he did mention the value of the support he had received from within the Irish football.

“It has helped me greatly,” he said.

Am I the only one who has noticed that his verbal communication has come on leaps and bounds, he comes across as quite knowledgeable and astute and quite articulate in teh last few interviews I have read, plus his grammar has improved and old football cliches are used less and less when answering questions. This is definitely a sign of a confident manager. Good to see, lets hope it shows when its really needed.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 29/08/2007 at 2:22 PM.

1,928 Posts
    I think Stutts is referring in particular to the Finland friendly.
    As if we might not have noticed that bit in Stan's interview, he had to blow his own trumpet to make sure

2,796 Posts
    Nah, not just that, but the fact that we should go out and have a go at these teams and also that the Denmark game wasn't without some obvious negatives. Also, the Reid vs Ireland debate and so on.

What bugs me is that it's always Liam Mackey who reports the more interesting quotes from what I presume is the same press conference as the Indo and the Times attend. I like the new guy at the Indo by the way but the Times reports on "the Republic" these days like it's a chore, not something that anyone would actually be interested in reading.

OK, the Finland bit was a bit self-congratulatory alright

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Am I the only one who has noticed that his verbal communication has come on leaps and bounds, he comes across as quite knowledgeable and astute and quite articulate in teh last few interviews I have read, plus his grammar has improved and old football cliches are used less and less when answering questions. This is definitely a sign of a confident manager. Good to see, lets hope it shows when its really needed.
    No I've noticed to, huge difference from when he took over. I think he has improved as he has gained experience.

Confident manger is when he comes out and is critical of a four nil win. He has lost the run ofr himself !!!!!!
    In Trap we trust

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post

Guess you could say he's moved from being a blathering idiot to being an idiot... take more than a few days with the likes of Terry prone to improve him... he's still a useless coach/manager

I feel he is finally starting to say the right things and actually conduct himself well as a manager. He spoke well about the Denmark game, at the end of the day they could have been 2-0 up after 15 mins and could have won the game 5-4. Plus we gained no points there so he was right not to go overboard. His comments about Stokes were right too, he needs to start getting in the papers for the right reasons, and prove himself as a Premiership manager. His comments about McGeady were spot on too, he said that he really needs to improve the level of consistency in his game. Im actually finiding myself having a little bit more confindence in Stan and depending on his team selection for the double header, im feeling a little sense of confidence

26 Posts

Hilarious
    Last edited by gustavo; 03/09/2007 at 10:03 AM. Reason: mbd

Page 14 of 15 FirstFirst ... 412131415 LastLast