DmanDmythDledge and Eirebhoy have a look at the remaining fixtures and tell me how you can come to the conclusion that 2 points is going to be anywhere near enough to qualify? 3 points is an absolute minimum and that's only if we beat the Czechs.
I certainly think its crucial we approach the games with the intention of winning them as opposed to "not losing".
If we're serious about qualifying - 6 points should be the ambitious target with 4 considered acceptable.
Quoting years at random since 1975
DmanDmythDledge and Eirebhoy have a look at the remaining fixtures and tell me how you can come to the conclusion that 2 points is going to be anywhere near enough to qualify? 3 points is an absolute minimum and that's only if we beat the Czechs.
Last edited by youngirish; 23/08/2007 at 9:45 AM.
6 points all the way lads, thats what we should be striving for, last night was evidence that we are capable of playing decent possesion football, it will be interesting now to see what midfield stan starts with against slovakia..Id leave kilbane out.and stick in Reid, ............what we need now is for richie dunne to break - open Rosicky at the weekend...
''Whats that comin over the hill, its Richie Dunne, its Richie Dunne!!!!'''
'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch
Do you think I haven't looked at the fixtures? For some reason people think me saying "2 points isn't the end of the world" means "2 points would be fantastic".
Anyway,
Ireland:
Slovakia (a) - Draw
Czech (a) - Draw
Germany (h) - Win
Cyprus (h) - Win
Wales (a) - Win
Czechs:
San Marino (a) - Win
Ireland (h) - Draw
Germany (a) - Defeat
Slovakia (h) - Win
Cyprus (a) - Win
Leaves us both on 24 points. That is all I've said. If we draw these 2 games we're certainly not out of it.
I would eat my own head if we managed to draw 2-2 or more (unlikely) with the Czechs followed by successive wins against Germany,Wales and Cyprus while still expecting the Czechs to get nothing from a German team we had just beaten.
2 points is never going to be enough realistically.
Last edited by youngirish; 23/08/2007 at 10:00 AM.
Of course there's hope. Take 4 points from those September games and things actually look encouraging. As someone said 2 points wouldn't be the end of the world but realistically we need to pick up 4. And its not beyond the realms of possibility given how poor the Slovaks looked in Croker. Also remember that the Czechs were no power houses in Lansdowne last year, which was very surprising to me. Do I expect us to pick up 4? No I don't but there's hope.
young one, im with ye on this, you are talking practical sense, rather than theoretical sense. What EB is saying on paper is fine and dandy, but the reality will be very much different. 4 points at least, and if thats the case a draw v slovakia and a win v czechs. To be honest I wish the czech game was first.I would eat my own head if we managed to draw 2-2 or more (unlikely) with the Czechs followed by successive wins against Germany,Wales and Cyprus while still expecting the Czechs to get nothing from a German team we had just beaten.
I think we should really be beating the Slovaks tbh. Yes our away form is poor but their home form is even worse. They've been beaten 3-0 and 4-1 by the Czechs and Germans at home. They've had more impressive results away from home thus far in this group. Surely we should expect to manage a 1-0.
I certainly do expect the Czechs to get nothing in Germany, especially if we beat Germany beforehand. I also think they'll be doing very well to win in Cyprus. Of course we'd also be doing very well to win our last 3 games. Anyway, 4 points should be the minimum aim. I'm actually confident going to Slovakia with Dunne and McShane at the back.
When we talk about 4 points do we mean beat Slovaks, draw with Czechs. As a matter of interest what would 3 points mean. Given we are likely to be competing most with Czechs for 2nd would think that is the truly vital match, we need to take points from them.
As a matter of interest what would 3 points mean
According to EB a definite 26 ponits and 2 ahead of the czechs
I still feel we will end up on 21 or 22. its just annoying cos of the crap lowly points we got in the last group. We always seem to up our points when needed but miss out by 1 point or so......its always a case of IF ONLY. IF ONLY we had beaten cyprus. We would be 2 points ahead now. IF that had happend though we prolly woulld have drawn to slovakia or wales!
I haven't got the table in front of me but I think right now I'd take a defeat in Slovakia and a win in Czech Rep and take our chances from there.
2 points will be OK if that's all we can get having tried hard for more.
As TP said a while back, it does look like we've turned a corner. Credit where it's due but it's a shame that critical errors on and off the pitch have cost us a few points.
Whatever about Cyprus and failing to maintain our lead to the Czechs, Richard Dunne's late miss in Stuttgart is really bugging me!
That miss by Robbie against the Czechs has hurt our chances in this group much more than any of the other 2 losses.
We were a soft enough touch when this group started. We have just a decent chance, most will agree that Stan is close enough to putting out our best team and they will be giving their best.
ya because it was against the czechs!!!That miss by Robbie against the Czechs has hurt our chances in this group much more than any of the other 2 losses.
based on recent form (ours and the opposition) as well as the run in schedule, I think Ireland would have to be favorites to take the second slot in this group. So of course there is hope.
Time to sober up Billy
todays odds
Czechs to qualify 2/9
Ireland to qualify 7/2
Ireland not to qualify 1/5
If we can get 4 points from these 2 games v Czech Rep and Slovakia, that would be make him happy. The other games are very much winnable ones, the 2 home and Wales away, which will be a Home game virtually with the support that will fill the stadium as Wales will be out and lots of free tickets for the Irish Fans.
While there's a mathematical chance of making it I won't stop hoping. But realistically I don't see it happening. We might well only pick up three more points in this group.
Last night was encouraging but frankly it'd have been arguably more useful if it had been us that got beaten BUT in the process found a trick we can pull when we're behind to an inferior side away from home.
I think the "ah sure we'll be grand" factor is a danger and shouldn't be underestimated.
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"