Thread: Pic of Ronnie Whelan Sr.

282 Posts

Pic of Ronnie Whelan Sr.

I figure this could have gone in Ireland or St. Pats, but I wasn't sure. I need a pic for a new update my video.
    It can be playing, coaching, or just standing around (a pic like the video), or a pick with Ronnie Jr would be good I guess too.
    Thanks
    Last edited by theworm2345; 26/10/2006 at 4:14 AM.
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Great video worm,did you make it yourself?

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Stars View Post
    Great video worm,did you make it yourself?
    Yeah, thats why I need the picture
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

if ya cant get one online theworm give Pats a buzz (01 4546332) and ask for Pat O Callaghan, he's sorta the club historian and would be the best bet.

60 Posts
    Great vid, Worm, could feel the memories welling up behind my eyes.

At the risk of sounding the pedant, when you have the first Maradona picture up, yer man is actually saying "Maracana", which is the big Brazilian ground, in Rio I think.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Danny View Post
    if ya cant get one online theworm give Pats a buzz (01 4546332) and ask for Pat O Callaghan, he's sorta the club historian and would be the best bet.
    That would be a bit hard as I am in Chicago
    Quote Originally Posted by BlueBeard
    Great vid, Worm, could feel the memories welling up behind my eyes.

At the risk of sounding the pedant, when you have the first Maradona picture up, yer man is actually saying "Maracana", which is the big Brazilian ground, in Rio I think.
    Thanks, I'll put it in the next video
    My Guarantee

E-mail info@stpatsfc.com and ask there. There are some around

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    E-mail info@stpatsfc.com and ask there. There are some around
    OK, thanks for the help
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard
    Now I'm not so sure. This is in this verse?
    Dasaev, Sócrates,
    Maradona, Ardiles,
    Puskas, Bessonov,
    Rene van de Kerkhof,
    Hamilton, Jim Magee,
    Saint And Greavsie on TV,
    Maradona, Hand of God
    Brady should be in the Squad
    I would kind of doubt it because they are naming players right there
    Last edited by theworm2345; 26/10/2006 at 11:08 PM.
    My Guarantee

Its defo Maradona

think i have one at home...will check in the morn and let ye know tommorrow night if i do.....

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by onenilgameover View Post
    think i have one at home...will check in the morn and let ye know tommorrow night if i do.....
    Thanks
    My Guarantee

Smile

that video brought a lump to my throat,hopefully we won't have too long a wait for more memories like those

60 Posts

Pedant alert

The Memories were very clever writing the song in not in the sense of never having non-Irish players mentioned more than once, and if two lines feature one player, e.g. Pele, they will be coniguous - listen carefully and you will hear what does sound like Mara-dona - it is a poorly pronounced Mara-cana. (The Memories were not very clever at singing). Similarly, you will notice that, unlike the Billy Joel track it is based on, there is really very little link between one line and the next (The Memories were not very clever at writing songs cleverly) or indeed between names in the same line that may happen to fit together (Eh, the Memories were not very clever at footballing history). The whole thing does what it should - it simply conveys a footballing atmosphere by using well known names (The Memories were very clever at marketing).

In short - yis are all wrong, and I'm right!

Still a great vid.

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    The Memories were very clever writing the song in not in the sense of never having non-Irish players mentioned more than once, and if two lines feature one player, e.g. Pele, they will be coniguous - listen carefully and you will hear what does sound like Mara-dona - it is a poorly pronounced Mara-cana. (The Memories were not very clever at singing). Similarly, you will notice that, unlike the Billy Joel track it is based on, there is really very little link between one line and the next (The Memories were not very clever at writing songs cleverly) or indeed between names in the same line that may happen to fit together (Eh, the Memories were not very clever at footballing history). The whole thing does what it should - it simply conveys a footballing atmosphere by using well known names (The Memories were very clever at marketing).

In short - yis are all wrong, and I'm right!

Still a great vid.
    OK, which line are you talking about, so I can check?
    My Guarantee

60 Posts
    It comes on 1m57s, after the second chorus with "Daseyev, Socrates, Maracana, Ardiles / Puskas, Besanov, Rene Van Der Kerkov / Hamilton, Jim Magee, Saint & Greavsie on TV / Maradona, Hand Of God, Brady SHould be in the squad.

And to be a right pric- sorry, pedant, on 2m22, I think that it is meant to be "Pele, number 10, we'll never see his like again, Goycochea's meaner, Champions Argentina" which would allow Gorbochev to take his rightful place else where. Goycochea was the Argentine 'Keeper, I think he got injured early on in the tournament, or beforehand, perhaps. And I'm bloody certain he doesn't spell his name this way either.

282 Posts
    Alright, I'm going to play it back in slow motion and see
    My Guarantee

282 Posts
    I'm still looking for this photo, can anyone help?
    P.S. I'm thinking of putting Alan McLoughlin's goal in the update, what do you think?
    My Guarantee

i forgot how catchie that tune was. whelans goal is unreal, gotta be one of the best ever irish goals if not the best. even one of the best at the euro championships!

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    whelans goal is unreal, gotta be one of the best ever irish goals if not the best. even one of the best at the euro championships!
    <...shinned it...> ssssh, don't tell anyone.

Doesn't mean it wasn't a cracking goal though!
    SIGNATURESCOPE