Thread: Robbie Keane

366 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AlaskaFox View Post
    US Gossip site TMZ with the real question on everyone's lips:
    http://www.tmz.com/2011/08/16/la-gal.../#.TkvgHKjXTQO

I didn't have time to vote for Claudine, as my attention was immediately drawn to the 'Batwing Revealed!' exclusive.

1,928 Posts
    England is in moral decay, Robbie did well to get out and make it to Carson City.

if he made it to the actual carson city, (nv) i'd have to stop in and say hello!
    "A silent mouth is sweet to hear"

What are ye on about Lads, he just transcribed what others had written or quoted other facts.

Then summed up his piece in 3 short columns at the end. That is not a great article. Its simplistic writing expanded to fill a page using quotes from other journos. NOthing more nothing less.

That just sums it up for me really, that picture on the left. I'm sure she was the driving force.

I hope keane does well, and I'm not saying the standard is worse than the SPL or lower championship, but in the end, it saddens me that he never really demonstrated or reached his full potential in the premiership, a trail of failed transfers in his wake.

3,500 Posts

I despise TMZ, Perez Hilton and the rest of that shower. A plague upon them all.

1,928 Posts
    Leavin’ you now
    - I’ll write ya, ma
    Takin’ a putt up to Carson City (CA)

Well, if you hear me howlin’
    Wehell, sittin’ pretty
    Tasted nitty gritty
    Puttin’ on into Carson City (CA)

lyrics courtesy of Don Van Vliet

544 Posts
    what on earth is this about from curtis?....

"...for the lead actor in Ireland's greatest sporting farce,"

pathetic beyond words

1,825 Posts
    An idiot is that boy Curtis.

Yer bread and butter and you make it your pig iron

2,770 Posts

Total Votes: 99,974 thats incredible.

I voted Claudine, naturally.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

I voted for david beckham. Even at my age i find it hard to keep a 6 pack as good as his.

192 Posts
    Robbie has his visa, will fly to LA tomorrow and is available to play against the San Jose Earthquakes on Saturday night.
    http://www.lagalaxy.com/news/2011/08...-receives-visa
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

282 Posts

Welcome to the MLS Robbie
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

1,928 Posts
    The Beckham lady has too much paraphernalia whereas Claudine has the naturally aspired, uncluttered look.

398 Posts
    I like that article, even it it would be slightly biased (from a website linked to the MLS) and also that it is a reaction to the staggeringly ignorant statements from hacks in Ireland. I will never cease saying it as it will always be the case - we are the best little englanders in town. We worship the sky leagues, take our leads from our masters in London and the only thing we don't do is ott public disorder - because we're all too linked in to others who might own shops we're looting.

Good luck to Robbie, you're better off somewhere you'll not have to endure the crap poured out from Irish/English hacks. Though I'd have preferred if you went to a European league.

F the begrudgers...Good luck Robbie

Hats off to all those who have the common decency to wish Robbie all the best and the cop on to realise he is a top professional and his record stands up to scrutiny.
    One question, where would we be without Robbie??

The begrudgers are idiotic... Daniel McDonnell & the Evening Herald writer, narrowminded!!! .......Roy Curtis (absolute gobsh!te) he reads like a B grade leaving cert essay, hence I would never buy his rag EVER again!! "Keane's club career has been a story of lucrative failure"...........what absolute disrespectful Sh!te. The negativity among Irish 'supporters' is unbelievable.

Robbie is a legend, and I have nothing but admiration for him and his mental strength aswell, he has had bad times for inter...ireland...Liverpool and Spurs and keeps scoring...... Robbie will be missed when he retires.
    I think Robbies background make his achievements even more staggering...
    I reckon he will score goals for fun in the MLS, he is a goal scorer, a fox in the box, he needs players like beckham and donovan to support his play, he is an extremely intelligent striker, definately one of the top.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by donalmcdonagh View Post
    The begrudgers are idiotic... Daniel McDonnell & the Evening Herald writer, narrowminded!!! .......Roy Curtis (absolute gobsh!te) he reads like a B grade leaving cert essay, hence I would never buy his rag EVER again!! "Keane's club career has been a story of lucrative failure"...........what absolute disrespectful Sh!te. The negativity among Irish 'supporters' is unbelievable.
    problem is that all the event junkies and barstoolers love reading the articles that constantly put our team and players down. its what our "sportsmad" people want to read about our team unfortunately.

26. Thanks From:

130 Posts
    http://www.irishtimes.com/blogs/dead...ants/#more-672

Good article and hard to argue with its content.

I wish RK well in LA. I wouldve preferred him to stay closer to home, but the reality is as long as he continues to produce for Ireland, I wont care where he is. The questions for us now are: will the travel seriously affect his performances for us? And will this be a factor in he calling it a day with Ireland at the end of this campaign? I for one hope he stays around for the Brazil 2014 campaign.

28. Thanks From:

942 Posts
    Good luck to Robbie in LA: we spend long enough moaning that Irish players don’t test themselves outside England or Scotland, but when one has the nerve to go to the US, there are numpties criticising him. Maybe if he’d gone to a city less glamorous than LA, that would have been alright – you know, lots of freezing fog or rednecks to remind him that he’s just a mere mortal and shouldn’t be getting ideas above his station. A large ex-pat community of begrudgers would be good for that too.

MLS seems to be improving in quality, and it’s something different to the blood and thunder of the British game. It might just suit Robbie as he moves into the final phase of his career. A different style of play, not as physically demanding as British football, might help him with recovery time, and keep him fit but not burned out for international games.

Now that there are two Irish internationals in the MLS, might it also make second and third generation American-Irish more aware of opportunities at underage and, maybe, senior level? (Members of the Lapira clan: we have your application on file, there is no need to reapply...)

30. Thanks From: