Robbie is out for a month at least.
They fell in love with the 'ammers' anthem and bought the club and I believe the players lounge has some excellent retro sounds
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uGwHTPMbwmc
Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 17/02/2011 at 8:34 PM.
Robbie is out for a month at least.
Double boost for West Ham as Keane and Collison return
http://www.talksport.co.uk/sports-ne...llison-return?
Robbie Keane and Jack Collison are set to hand West Ham a major injury boost by resuming full training this week.
Keane has been sidelined for a month after picking up a calf injury in just his second game for the club following his loan move from Tottenham back in January.
But the Republic of Ireland international has already resumed light training and hopes to join the rest of the first-team squad this week.
Collison has been sidelined for the last year with a knee injury, but has also stepped up his recovery and is set to finally resume full training in the next few days.
The news will come as a major boost to manager Avram Grant who is hoping to have a full squad to choose from as they look to move clear of the bottom three.
from West Ham's site: http://www.whufc.com/articles/201103...236884_2313880
Avram on Robbie Keane's importance...
"Robbie is better than he was. I think we need to see on Saturday but he will be available on Sunday. There is always a place for a good player but the competition is very good for us and for all the players. Since we have had more strikers, all the strikers are better. We didn't mention the ones here before like Carlton Cole. Since Robbie and Demba Ba came he has scored a lot of goals and Freddie is also doing very well, and Victor Obinna too, so the competition is good.
"He came in at a very hard time for the team and we had a lot of injuries, and a lot of problems. He played very well against Blackburn and then got injured. He has already been important for us in a short space of time and also for the dressing room. I just hope that he will be fit and everything will be OK.
four + Pennant = 4 and a half
How did Whelan (especially), Wilson, Delap and Walters play first half?
Just gave up on a play and ran 15 yards with his arms in the air towards the ref due to a perceived handball...can't have that.
My Guarantee
Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here
One good flick from Robbie and plenty of arm waving. Will be better for that run out. Very interesting now to see how the Reading Irish get on against City.
Irish lads did okay in that Stoke/West Ham game.
Whelan played quite well. Made some decent tackles throughout, was lively and didn't do much wrong.
Delap, beside him in MF, was awful at times.
Walters busted himself for ninety mins. Never stopped running. Wilson was alright too.
Pennant (I loathe to group him in with the above Irish lads) was ordinary. From what I could see would offer very little that we don't already have. Think he should investigate his Jamaican roots a bit further.
Robbie didn't have a whole lot of time to impress and the hoof-ball nature of the game gave him little chance of gaining possession. Spent much of his 25-30 mins waving his hands and giving out to team-mates and the ref. (Reckon the chap is an absolute pis$mire in the dressing room when things go badly!) Thought the commentator said that his next game will be in April as he can't play v Spurs next week so in reality, today was his only bit of first-team action before Macedonia. I wonder if there is seriously a justification for starting Keane on the bench and giving Long the nod. Record goalscorer or not, his lack of fitness in Slovakia cost us big time. Long is on fire at the minute!
Whatever you feel about his qualities as a striker, I wish - oh how I wish - he would give up the arm-waving & general hysterics every time a decision goes against him.
Robbie is playing for West Ham reserves against Newcastle right now, just scored to put them 2-1 up: http://www.whufc.com/articles/201103...236884_2316277
47 mins - GOAL! Keane slots the ball in after some really quite indifferent defending from the visitors. Boa Morte takes a free-kick quickly after Hines is fouled. Kovac cannot apply the finish, but the ball is cleared just a few yards to Keane, who has the simple task of shooting home from about six yards.
Didn't take Robbie long at West Ham to find his place in the reserves![]()
No place in the West Ham squad today for Robbie against Spurs as he's not allowed to line out against his parent club as part of the loan deal. Don't know if it's a good thing or not. At least there's no chance of him picking up another injury but would have liked to have seen him in first-team action.
Two disgusting articles attacking our captain and greatest ever striker on the day of a big match. And yet we in Ireland scoff at the English tabloids treatment of their stars!! But it's perfect evidence of the nasty attitude in the press towards Robbie.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...n-2595352.html
http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...n-2595443.html
Thanks. I'm beginning to loathe David Kelly. He think he loathes everyone Irish who has been in anyway successful at anything.
I know some here took Keane's remarks badly, but I always felt he was reiterating what he has said before "if someone younger comes in and takes my place I'll walk away" - meaning without any fuss, rather than throwing a tantrum.
Daniel McDonnell is the only redeeming feature of that dreadful newspaper's soccer section.