Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Team For The Czech Republic Game

214 Posts
    as long as O'shea and Kilbane are in the side who cares???
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Starting XI v Czech Rep.?

Kenny
    Kelly, O'Brien, O'Shea, Finnan
    McGeady, Ireland, Kilbane, Duff

Doyle, Keane

I fear for us, I really do.

Full squad for Wednesday:
    Paddy Kenny (Sheffield United)
    Wayne Henderson (Brighton)
    Nick Colgan (Barnsley)
    Andy O’Brien (Portsmouth),
    Stephen Kelly (Birmingham City),
    Steve Finnan (Liverpool)
    John O’Shea (Manchester United)
    Aiden McGeady (Celtic),
    Stephen Ireland (Manchester City),
    Kevin Kilbane (Wigan),
    Damien Duff (Newcastle United),
    Clinton Morrison (Crystal Palace),
    Robbie Keane (Tottenham Hotspur),
    Alan Lee (Ipswich Town),
    Kevin Doyle (Reading),
    Alan Quinn (Sheffield United),
    Andy Reid (Charlton Athletic),
    Alan O’Brien (Newcastle United).
    Sean St. Leger (Preston North End),
    Paul McShane (West Bromwich Albion),
    Jonathan Douglas (Leeds United)

PaddyPower.com is offering 11/4 on us winning, 10/11 on the Czech's winning and 21/10 the draw.

367 Posts
    Kenny

Kelly O'Brien Josh Finnan

McGeady Ireland Reid Douglas Duff

Keane

Try to keep it tight, stable and scoreless for the first 60 mins, bring on Doyle for the last 30 and try to win.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    Kenny
    Kelly, O'Brien, O'Shea, Finnan
    McGeady, Ireland, Kilbane, Duff

Doyle, Keane

I fear for us, I really do.

Full squad for Wednesday:
    Paddy Kenny (Sheffield United)
    Wayne Henderson (Brighton)
    Nick Colgan (Barnsley)
    Andy O’Brien (Portsmouth),
    Stephen Kelly (Birmingham City),
    Steve Finnan (Liverpool)
    John O’Shea (Manchester United)
    Aiden McGeady (Celtic),
    Stephen Ireland (Manchester City),
    Kevin Kilbane (Wigan),
    Damien Duff (Newcastle United),
    Clinton Morrison (Crystal Palace),
    Robbie Keane (Tottenham Hotspur),
    Alan Lee (Ipswich Town),
    Kevin Doyle (Reading),
    Alan Quinn (Sheffield United),
    Andy Reid (Charlton Athletic),
    Alan O’Brien (Newcastle United).
    Sean St. Leger (Preston North End),
    Paul McShane (West Bromwich Albion),
    Jonathan Douglas (Leeds United)

PaddyPower.com is offering 11/4 on us winning, 10/11 on the Czech's winning and 21/10 the draw.
    Jaysus get you money on the Czechs now...thats a banker!

Just heard on the radio that he has called up Stephen Kelly (a full back) to cover for Richard Dunne (centre-half!!!!!)....bloody hell Paddy McCarthy didn't sleep with Staunton's missus did he????

Drop the extire squad and send out an entire EL selection.
    I think they would do better than the existing squad.

Th EL players would give 100%.

82 Posts
    Stephen Kelly was called up to replace Liam Miller who withdrew through injury!!!!

There should be a cull on Wednesday. And had Dunne not been suspended O'Brien would've got the chop, and rightly so. He still might. Hard to say who'll start. Kelly has played on both full back positions for spurs so he may start at left full. He may also pack the middle and opt for the lone forward. But Doyle would be more suited to that and he's not going to drop Keane. God only knows what he'll opt for. I can't believe he played 2 out and out wingers with such a soft midfield. I really can't.

We're going to have to stop trying to work out things. We can only do that when logic is being applied. We know Staunton is not applying logic.
    'And Crouch must score'

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy View Post
    Ted

Dougal Jack Mrs. Doyle Bishop Brennan

Pat Mustard Bono Geldof Graham Norton

McFadden Jim Corr

SUBS: Bertie Ahern, Mary Robinson, Dustin the Turkey, Louis Walsh, The Edge, Liam Miller, Sean St Ledger.
    Jim Corr could do a job for us alright....

not sure about Sean St Ledger but his misses on page 3 of the star looks hot.

still trying to get my hands on a gun so i dont have to watch the match on Weds..

Kenny
    Finnan O'Brien O'Shea Kilbane

McGeady Quinn Ireland A.Reid

Duff
    Keane

282 Posts
    Just thought I would mention that Long is back from suspension, and Murphy and Connolly are both fully fit
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Why do poeple want Stephen Ireland to start. He is rubbish against Cyprus from start to finish. Just because he scored a goal doesnt cover up those facts.

--------Kenny-------
    Finnan--O' Brien--O' Shea--Kilbane
    Duff---Douglas--Quinn--McGeady
    -----------Reid----------------
    -----------Doyle--------------

Thats the team I would play although there is no wat Stan will. As I keep saying, Douglas has got to play!!

I think it's great that Kilbane and O'Shea will not be in midfield that will definitely be an improvement but of course our back line looks a pile of sh*te - think kilbane might ( I say might ) be ok but o'shea worries me deeply.

I know I will be called every stupid eejit under the sun here but I think we might scramble a win on wednesday

2,693 Posts
    For the first time in my life I can't even be bothered to think about who to start.

So few deserve to play and some that do aren't even in the squad.

51 Posts
    What would be better?

Squeezing out a 0-0 draw and Staunton stays in the job or a thumping of say 4-0 and Staunton goes?
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

even though I feel sick, humiliated, hurt, angry, upset and violated by saturdays game - I cannot bring my myself to want Ireland to lose. I know there is sense in saying if we lose we might get rid of him.

I'll be cheering on Ireland as much as any other game but put it this way, there'll be plenty of consolation in defeat. Stutts mentioned that he wasn't as disappointed after Saturday's defeat as he has been on many occasions and I feel the same. I wasn't dreading coming on here on Sunday afternoon.

I think the FAI would actually be better off financially if they pay Stan off if we lose on Wednesday as a new manager will mean a lot more people willing to support the team in Croker.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 09/10/2006 at 2:30 PM.

2,693 Posts
    I'll accept pretty much whatever happens of Wednesday.

I said it on another thread but I'm far more upbeat this morning than when, for example, we drew 1-1 in Skopje. I'm the eternal optimist & I can see a sceario where we gain from this.

At least this catastrophe happened early on.

2,693 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    I think the FAI would actually be better of financially if they pay Stan off if we lose on Wednesday as a new manager will mean a lot more people willing to support the team in Croker.
    Excellent point.

now that keane is gone you see how much off a loss he is!
    Mar 19 Cobh Ramblers3-2 Limerick
    July 23 Ramblers 2-1 Limerick
    Sept 23 Limerick 0-2 Ramblers
    June 28 Ramblers 2-1 Limerick
    Aug 18 Limerick 0-1 Ramblers
    Oct 21 Ramblers 1-0 Limerick

214 Posts
    As long as the following don't start I'm content:

Kenny
    O'Brien
    O'Shea
    Kilbane

dropping the following lads to prove a point that you don't take the green shirt for granted would also be a risky but brave move:

Keane
    Finnan
    S Ireland
    Clinton

2 guys I'd keep would be:

McGeady
    Duff

Dunne is suspended. Basically we don't have a team left and Staunton is too stubborn to call up Carsley and McCarthy.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast