i thought before the game that it would be tough maybe 1 or 2 nil to ireland,can't believe what i just saw,i just feel sick!!!
Dispicable - to quote Dunphy "I'm embarrassed to be Irish".
Players, Stan, FAI hang your heads in shame. Come out of that dressing room and apologise to us.
i thought before the game that it would be tough maybe 1 or 2 nil to ireland,can't believe what i just saw,i just feel sick!!!
Seriously though people should stay away from the Czech game. Delaney and his cronies only speak in euros, if they don't get them then they'll have to start listening. If the next two games have poor attendances they'll be in bother for Croke Park. It's not on. It's heartbreaking looking at that tonight. It's not on really. To say 111 people are logged into this forum says it all. I remember at the Swiss game in 2002 there were handouts to bring Roy back. How about doing the same to get rid of Staunton?
Joe Kinnear may the guy at least in the short term. Not sure if he would be still interested.
in europe these days nearly any team can beat any other team. cyprus beat spain 3-2 at home in a qualifier a few years back and spain beat them 8-0 in the return in spain. however ive been told by a mate that we didnt have one single shot on target in the second half.
maybe the players just dont care any more.
I
I was embarrassed watching it, disgraceful is a polite word for that performance. I could understand if the 2-5 result was against someone like Germany, but Cyprus !! They were by far the better team, and that says a lot, from the top of the fai, manager, team, should be ashamed of themselves. Only our f.a. would appoint a manager who has absolutley no experience, and try and con the supporters telling us it's about heart, pride, etc.
It's not actually winning that counts, it's playing the game with attitude
Cowards hiding in their dressing room. Come out and try to let us fathom how you let a nation down and digraced everyone with an Irish passport. I'm shocked and appalled to have this team of wasters, from hieracrchy to division 2 subs, representing our country in European competition.
We just lost 5-2 to Cyprus. I'm not an old age warrior but I hope the youth of today do not see this an think its not an abberation. I feel ill
Disgraceful performance Staunton must go now.He should stop hiding, be a man, do an interview, apologize and resign.
Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008
the way i see it is... we were never going to qualify for this campaign.... even the media were saying it after the germany game... the qualifying campaign is well and truely over.
Stans not up to the job obviously, but it doesn't help his cause when ye have 11 sacks of sh!t runnin' around the pitch for ye.
No, why? Asking people to sign a petition after only a 1-0 defeat away to Germany was silly.
Today's debacle of a 5-2 loss to Cyprus was not predicted or predictable by anyone, to suggest otherwise is stupid. I've criticized Stan on the forum for his behavior before today but he deserved his chance, but not after todays game.
In Darwin, Oz, my mate just text me the score feel physically sick, didn't believe it at first. Time for a complete overhaul, this can't go on. Stan a great player, but honest lads how can we have the walstall assistant manager as our boss. the fai (as usual) picked a cheap and cost effective alternative, no vision, no courage, haven't learnt their lesson, too feckin tight!!
good night god bless!
Who put the ball in Englands net? Sheedy Sheedy!
All hail Kevin Sheedy!
yes but at least we might salvage some pride or something in the rest of the games if staunton goes. i have never wanted an irish team to lose for any reason but if ewe get a battling draw against the czechs it could well give stan more time in the job. also with dunne injured and andy o briens confidence shot to sh it i expect a brutal defeat on wednesday.
btw does anyone actually think stan will get sacked if we lose to czechs?? i mean really???
I
My Guarantee
Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here
http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg
"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004
Spain's defeat to Cyprus was like our draw with Liechtenstein, a blip, and like the beatles would never happen again. San Marino for f***s sake will believe they can get a result against us now.
Delaney i agree is more interested in the euros than anything else, and rather than the result tonight, he'll be bricking it because of the money aspect. Let's see now if they will be looking for the 80 euros for a seat at Croke Park !!!!!!
If he gave a s***e about progressing Irish Soccer he would have forked out a few more hundred thousand and gone for a REAL manager, someone who has a personality, experience, and some pedigree, just because Staunton once upon a time wore the green jersey don't mean he can manage them. If that was the case he could have anyone who ever posted on this forum.
It's not actually winning that counts, it's playing the game with attitude
My Guarantee
Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here
http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg
"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004
Bobby Robson was to be paid 250k a year to do something so if combined his wage with Stans could have afford a good manager. I don't see finances an issue unless you looking at the very top end.
FFS we just needed someone who had actually managed something before. Even kids football would have done. The FAI learnt nothing from McCarthy who took 3 years to figure out what he was doing & wasn't too bad from then on. Staunton has now been given a 4 year contract which was utter stupidity - any search on this forum will see many people highlighting that.
Staunton should go but if Delaney sacks him how does he explain after his 2010 World Cup team building comments?
He should go now.
Dunne will be suspended for the next game due to the red card.
We have no decent cover at CB. Again, Staunton makes the wrong choices at the wrong time.
Resign.
Now.
There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.