Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: NFL/NCAA 2006 season thread

20 Posts
    University of Florida QB thinks he played with a concussion in yesterday's game. I'm not sure if he's tough, dumb or both.

I love UF head coach Urban Meyer's reaction

"I said, 'Chris, I need to know that.' ... I'm going to talk to him and appreciate the fact that he's fighting through and battling and trying to put us in the best position to win the game, but we also have to be smart."

Full story here
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

im a steelers fan,

not a fairweather fan coz i have been for last 4 years since i started watching nfl.they won 200e for me last year when i bet on them to win the superbowl.this year i bet on the bengals,their main rivals i know .anyway,im very dissapointed at the steelers start,2-5 for the season and losing to oakland was the lowest point yet.yes i know big ben isnt 100% after all the stuff hes been through but its the defence and offensive line that are also playing badly,joey porter is a big loss and when hes 100% it will imprive things,losing randall el for punt returns was bad too,i dont rate that santonio guy.they found a miracle to reach the playoffs last season but i dont think even they cant pull this one off,even polamalu is missing tackles,thats how bad things are going.anyone else here a steelers fan???

282 Posts
    I was at the Notre Dame game today and I am a UNC fan so that was a bit tough. I did do pushups with my cousin though, that was pretty sweet
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

230 Posts
    Small clip from the Shamrock Bowl. Scroll down for the video. Dublin Rebels v U. of Limerick.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

its that time again

when the playoff race really hots up,who do ye think will nick a wild card place???i reckon 10-7 will do it.incredibly my steelers still have a chance but have 2 hard games left.

20 Posts
    10-7???

That's not possible without making the playoffs. It's either 9-7 or 10-6 and I reckon 10-6 is necessary for the AFC. The NFC will most likely have at least one 8-8 team in the playoffs.

my appologies,

i cant count it appears.9-7 is what i meant.incredibly if steelers beat bengals and in last 2 games they can do it.giants look like blowing it again,ill be in washington on dec 31st so gonna try get a ticket to their game vrs a disaster of a redskins team.

redskins were good enough to beat the saints though , feck it why couldnt they just keep losing !!
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

redskins

are so unpredictable in the last few weeks but thats understandable considering whats gone on there this season.i think the ravens look so good and will probably do it,they ran over my steelers again yesterday but thats not as hard as it use to be.my bet on the bengals looks like it might just reach the playoffs but thats about it im afraid.what do ye think??who will win it now???

Currently watching the worst game ever 0-0 Dolphins v Jets. Well, well into 3rd quarter

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Currently watching the worst game ever 0-0 Dolphins v Jets. Well, well into 3rd quarter
    Pis*ing down with rain against one of their oldest rivals who were out of the running for post season, Jets, who needed a win to keep their play-off ambitions within their own hands, kept it tight and took very little chances. They just did enough to win. I am sure they were not one bit worried about whether it was one of the worst games ever. At this stage of season, it is results that count.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Best ever college game?

http://msn.foxsports.com/cfb/story/7985169

Take a look at the highlights of the whole game but specifically the final 2 minutes and OT

20 Posts
    That game was nuts, just nuts. Never mind using the whole bag of tricks Boise went old-school using the almost never used statue of liberty play.

2nd time they've dome it this year. Great story. Off work all week so been watching the bowl games.

230 Posts
    Just finished watching the BCS game, with the Florida Gators trouncing the Ohio State Buckeyes 41-14. Gators defense was superb as was their offensive play calling. Heisman trophy winner Troy Smith looked confused all night, not to mention getting sacked five times. Florida quarterback Chris Leak looked his most composed all year and won the MVP award. I thought the game would have been a lot closer, but, Ohio State just didn't seem up for it.

Interesting footnote, in that it's the first time in NCAA history that the reigning basketball and football champions are from the same school.

I think I'm going to pop down to Gainesville for a few days and enjoy the party. Go Gators!

*Hops on bandwagon and heads south *
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

20 Posts
    It's a bit of a Tiger-slam holding both the football and hoops titles at the same time but not from the same season. Difference is even though both are as rare (as in all-in-one-season has ever happened in either pro-golf or college sports) the Tiger-slam was hailed as being as good as all-in-one while this doesn't seem to be getting that yet.

What I really, really, hope for is a bit of a rematch IN MARCH! Two of the top programmes in College hoops are Ohio State and Florida. They've already met in the regular season but if they meet in the NCAA tournament the atmosphere will be off the charts.

43 Posts
    Should Boise now be aggrieved that they ended up unbeaten, but not overall champions? I know the system is difficult to work out.

All in all some very good bowl game as usual, saw most of them. Really enjoy the college stuff.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clifford View Post
    Should Boise now be aggrieved that they ended up unbeaten, but not overall champions? I know the system is difficult to work out.
    All in all some very good bowl game as usual, saw most of them. Really enjoy the college stuff.
    As far as I'm concerned, the system is a joke. Boise are a prime example of why there should be a playoff system in college football. Auburn got the short end of the stick a few years ago too. Why don't they look at how successful the basketball championships are run. Sweet sixteeen, elite eight, final four and all the stuff that goes along with march madness.

They could still have their bowl games, but just in a playoff format and rotate who hosts what bowl and in what round each year. If you qualify as one of the last sixteen, then great. If not, you can still be invited to one of the other forty four bowl games! It's crazy the amount of bowl games that are available to the schools, not to mention that a lot of them are played to half empty stadiums. A playoff bowl game would be a lot more attractive to the average fan, than a nonsical 'Kellogs corn flakes dog ate my homework low fat milk bowl' and it would give a cinderella team like Boise State an opportunity to be a true national champion, instead of this voting BS.

Just my humble opinion.
    Last edited by strangeirish; 09/01/2007 at 3:18 PM.

There would've been more controversy if Michigan had've beaten USC, guarenteeing claims they were the true No 1. Think this "new" BCS system runs for another 2 years at least. After tht a play off system is probably on the cards.

82 Posts
    As a kind of Florida alumnus having spent 18 months in Gainesville the year after they won their only other NCAA football title its great to see them come from nowhere in the last few weeks of the season and win the whole thing. It shows that the BCS system works (or worked this year anyway) and also shows that the SEC really is as strong as the good ole boys down South say it is!

UF certainly had momentum coming into the game and whilst Smith had the Heismann in his pocket, he unfortunately inherited the record of recent trophy winners blowing up in their final bowl game. Funny enough Leak is likely to follow Danny Wuerffel (Florida's QB in 1996) as being someone who has reached his potential in the game and probably won't make it in the NFL whilst Smith will probably go on to a good career in the pros.
    The defensive line and linebackers although look certain to follow in the footsteps of Alex Brown, Mike Peterson and Jevon Kearse as NFL stars as their combination of size and strength was awesome.

Its been hard for Urban Meyer to follow in Steve Spurriers tracks but he's certainly made himself a legend in the Swamp now.

Unfortunately I missed attending the game by 10 days as I'm due in Phoenix next weekend

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast