Predictions Please!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by tommy
    I would expect Bunratty to beat Shannon oly
    Based on what!!!! The recent lg form of both sides or the fact Oly won the MJC game between them 3-0.

You'd expect any team a division above there opponents to win,wouldnt ya?
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Why would you expect that? Any predictions should be made on current form, and not which division a team is in - considering that is based on last years form.

Today's Clare People has a prediction for every game in Rd 1.....

Any chance you could repeat some of them? I wonder who makes their predictions and what they go on as surely they can't have seen all teams in action.

Clare People Predictions....

Shannon Olympic B V Kilrush Rangers away
    Turnpike rovers V Connolly Celtic ???
    Burren United V Avenue United B ???
    Mountshannon Celtic V Tulla Utd home
    Kilkishen Cel V Moher Celtic away
    Hermitage V Avenue United A away
    Inch Crusaders V Ennistymon Town away
    Bridge Celtic A V Newmarket Celtic A home
    Kilkee V Bridge Utd A away
    Rinnanna A V Lifford A away
    Rock Rovers V Rinnanna Rovers B home
    Manus Celtic V Kilmaley United away
    Bunratty V Shannon Olympic A away
    Rhine Rovers V Newmarket Cel B ???
    Corofin Harps V Newtown A away
    Newtown B V St.Pats A away

Not sure what they base their predictions on. In the paper this week people are invited to mail the guy that does the soccer coverage and let him know what we think.

Quote Originally Posted by leftie
    Any chance you could repeat some of them? I wonder who makes their predictions and what they go on as surely they can't have seen all teams in action.

You can buy this weeks Clare People for 50 cents, a Shannon promotion, must be a Clare Champion town.
    I'll update this next year.

Newmarket to win the cup
    I'll update this next year.

Fixture's...

Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
    Sunday 26/02/06
    Clare Cup Second Round
    Mullagh: Burren United V Avenue United B
    J.Stanford 11.00
    Scariff: Mountshannon Celtic V Tulla United
    P.Mulready 11.00

Kilkishen: Kilkishen Celtic V Moher Celtic
    F.Coote 11.00

Fairgreen: Hermitage V Avenue United A
    P.Cullen 11.00

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Newmarket Celtic A F.Coote 2.30

Kilkee: Kilkee V Bridge United A
    J.Stanford 2.30

Rinnanna: Rinnanna Rovers A V Lifford A
    J.Deniffee 11.00

Lees Road Pitch 4: Rock Rovers V Rinnanna Rovers B P.Markham 2.30

Tiermaclane: Manus Celtic V Kilmaley United
    N.Bennett 11.00

Bunratty: Bunratty V Shannon Olympic A
    A.Murphy 12.45

Quin: Rhine Rovers V Newmarket Celtic B
    A.Murphy 10.30

Corofin: Corofin Harps V Newtown A
    P.Markham 11.00

Ballycasey: Newtown B V St.Pats A

Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time & penalty’s if necessary.

Newtown beaten by corofin? Bit of a strange result lads? corofin languishing close to the bottom of the first division, what went wrong yesterday?

Surprising to see Newmarket and Newtown go out alright. They had tough away draws though and Corofin are the holders dont forget.

Well done to Olympic yesterday.... Bunratty had the better of the 1st half but Olympic deserved it on the second half performance. Very disappointing the 2 second half goals we conceded though...

Any word of when the draw for the last 16 takes place?????
    Who are the favourites to win it now????? Might be worth a trip to Bad Blokes in Newmarket (they do betting for it) and sticking a few quid on Avenue I reckon.

Good convincing wins for Lifford and Avenue. Lifford were doubted by a few people before this, but proved them wrong. Avenue had an easy win over the tage. 3 nil up after 10 mins so the game was practically over.
    These two and the Bridge have to be favourites. But last years two finalists had good wins as well, so its very early yet. When is the draw for next round

Clare Cup 2nd Round Draw...

(1)Rock Rovers vs Bridge Utd A
    (2)Manus Celtic vs Mountshannon
    (3)Turnpike or Connolly vs Shn Oly B or Kilrush
    (4)Lifford vs Avenue
    (5)Newmarket B vs Corofin
    (6)Inch Crusaders vs Avenue B
    (7)Bridge Celtic A vs Newtown B
    (8)Moher Celtic vs Shn Oly A

Quarter Final Draw...

6 vs 3
    7 vs 1
    4 vs 8
    5 vs 2

Under 17 Cup Draw....

Includes some under 16 teams...

Newtown vs Turnpike
    Bunratty vs Connolly
    Moneypoint vs Newmarket
    Lifford a bye

Youths Cup draw...

Includes some U 17 teams....

1st Round Draw...

(1)Hermitage vs Bridge Utd
    (2)Moher vs Connolly
    (3)Newmarket vs St. Pats
    (4)Bunratty a bye
    (5)Lifford a bye
    (6)Turnpike a bye
    (7)Newtown a bye
    (8)Cratloe a bye

Quarter Final Draw...

2 vs 5
    7 vs 6
    8 vs 3
    4 vs 1

"Well done to Olympic yesterday.... Bunratty had the better of the 1st half but Olympic deserved it on the second half performance. Very disappointing the 2 second half goals we conceded though..."

Yeah, I agree. Bunratty shaded it in the first half - especially the in the 20 mins up to the break, ye were well on top. Dont know what you mean about the two late goals, I thought they were classy finishes ;-)

Quote Originally Posted by OpenGoal
    Yeah, I agree. Bunratty shaded it in the first half - especially the in the 20 mins up to the break, ye were well on top. Dont know what you mean about the two late goals, I thought they were classy finishes ;-)
    I never mentioned any late goals... We were disappointed with the 2 goals we conceded in the second half... Good finishes they were alright but you could probably be known as Diego after the equaliser...

Tough draw for ye but I expect ye will beat Moher. Then its a trip to Lee's road to meet one of the Premier contenters Lifford or Avenue...

Not much from the Newtown contingent on here in the last 2 days... I was surprised to see their center forward out watching the Bunratty/Oly game Sunday when his team was in Corofin playing...

2nd round draw

LIfford against Avenue. Must be tie of the round . Played in the same round last season, Avenue won 2-1 AET. Every game played between these two in the last 2 years has been very cose.
    Moher and Olymipic, both teams look set for promoption, so can see fairly little between these two . The two winners of these two games play each other, although cant see any team looking beyond the next round just yet.

Is this not the 3rd round ?

Quote Originally Posted by flammen
    Is this not the 3rd round ?
    I think the 1st round of games were a premliminary round and the games played last Sunday were 1st round. There are 2 games next Sunday in the 1st round even though there seems to be a misprint in the fixtures saying they are 2nd round.