Thread: Limerick Division 1A 2005/06

well I just like corbally & Wembley

I'm a fan of city football.

You need sides to go up that will take on the big teams in the Premier - Corbally & Wembley could both do that.

I just don't think Herbertstown are good enough - nothing at all against ye mind. I've heard people praise ye and year ground is meant to be good but most GAA grounds are well maintained these days.

I think Corbally will sneak it, just my opinion, don't shoot me for saying that

wayne o donovan broke his leg against balla last sunday in the youth cup final in a 50 50 challenge.game was delayed he had to be taken away in ambulance. he knew straight away he broke it he could hear it snap straight away. it is his second break in a couple of years same leg too different bone tho. he was in hospital yesterday same doctor as previous break came into him saying we meet again f uc kin lousy on him he missed an fai final a couple years back cause of his first break of leg.

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale
    Yes but remeber Corbally still have to play Caherdavinb as well and if that game finished all sqaure then Herbertstown could affrod to draw with Corbally and even lose v Caherdavin and still go up...
    if wembley won last 2 games and these results did happen above we would go into play off with herbertstown so think they need more to do than just draw with corbally. think a lot of people including myself have written off caherdavin if they win their remaining games they will go up. granted games they have(corbally, summerville, herbertstown) are very difficult but could happen, they had a great win last night against star.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by scoobysham
    if wembley won last 2 games and these results did happen above we would go into play off with herbertstown so think they need more to do than just draw with corbally. think a lot of people including myself have written off caherdavin if they win their remaining games they will go up. granted games they have(corbally, summerville, herbertstown) are very difficult but could happen, they had a great win last night against star.

No offence but Caherdavin beat a struggling Star team last night and they are not good enough to go up.
    68, 99, 08

wayne o donovan broke his leg against balla last sunday in the youth cup final in a 50 50 challenge.game was delayed he had to be taken away in ambulance. he knew straight away he broke it he could hear it snap straight away. it is his second break in a couple of years same leg too different bone tho. he was in hospital yesterday same doctor as previous break came into him saying we meet again f uc kin lousy on him he missed an fai final a couple years back cause of his first break of leg.

IF YOU SEE HIM WISH HIM ALL THE BEST FROM THE BORO LADS...HOPE HE COMES BACK STRONGER THAN EVER... BRYAN ROBSON BROKE THE SAME LEG TWICE AND HE MADE IT BACK.. THAT WAS IN THE LATE 70'S EARLY 80'S.. REHAB EVEN FOR US HAS IMPROVED ALOT....

Quote Originally Posted by leather
    IF YOU SEE HIM WISH HIM ALL THE BEST FROM THE BORO LADS...HOPE HE COMES BACK STRONGER THAN EVER... BRYAN ROBSON BROKE THE SAME LEG TWICE AND HE MADE IT BACK.. THAT WAS IN THE LATE 70'S EARLY 80'S.. REHAB EVEN FOR US HAS IMPROVED ALOT....
    ya no bother he will prob be at the u17s fai final on sat night so will say to him then still reckon hell sign for either pike or boro next season when he recovers but the main thing is him making a full recovery.

No offence but Caherdavin beat a struggling Star team last night and they are not good enough to go up.
    ya was kind of thinking that myself. why couldn ye have a weakened side against us last sat night no difference ye prob still would of beat us. were just not good enough same story last 3 or 4 years always up there till the end and manage to throw it away in the last few games of the season.

Quote Originally Posted by fonsie
    I thought you would have won that one now I have to say. I think this makes Corbally's chances of going up even better as they have to get into winner takes all mode now & produce some sparkling football.

I still say Corbally for second.

We were confident enough going out there ourselves but we did get 2 people sent off in the cup match that previous sunday against corbally so that weakend our team a little and we also went into extra time on sunday so that didn't help either...I know its nearing the end of season and we should be fit enough to play 2 games in 3 days but we hadn't a game in a few weeks and well it sort of all came at us at once...We did well against them in the first half creating a good few chances..They created a few themselves and had the ball in the net at one stage but they were offside...Second half was mad altogether....Ball going from one end of the field to the other...they scored 1st and our heads dropped but we kept pressing them....Got a great goal then from Mike monahan from outside the box and we were back in it....But we kept going for the win as a draw was no good for us so we left it with 3 at the back and they scored from a break....thats all i can say really..to be totally honest i think myself that herbertstown will go up but they will have to strenghten there squad majorily if they are to stay up as we have been up there only last year and we know how tough it is up there...Fine setup out there though!!!!

u17s

Best of luck to u17s on saturday nite. It would b nice if they won and commited themselves to junior football with the club for at least one season. with all the attention giving to them for this year, its the least they can do.

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by W.R.F.C
    Best of luck to u17s on saturday nite. It would b nice if they won and commited themselves to junior football with the club for at least one season. with all the attention giving to them for this year, its the least they can do.

Surely they'll all be staying again next year anyway as they would be playing at youth level.

I have seen Crumlin at U17 level this season when they beat the Dines on penos I think it was the 1/4 final stage, and they had one or two good players.

Their keeper is NO.1 for the Irish U17's and he might be No.1 for the youths as well.

But all in all I still fancy Wembley to win it. (hopefully)

Best of luck to all invloved.
    68, 99, 08

premier

Abbyvale what i meant was when they were finished at youths, play at least one season with wembly to help them get to premier. Would u agree

I agree WRFC, it would be nice if the young lads that your club puts so much effort into would stay around even for a year.

Best of luck to the U17s against Crumlin.

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by W.R.F.C
    Abbyvale what i meant was when they were finished at youths, play at least one season with wembly to help them get to premier. Would u agree

I would agree with you 100%, but they dont always stay on when it comes to Junior level, as Geraldines will tell you.

We had what they called "The Dream Team" at under 17's and youths level about 8 years ago but when we were out of youths level the majority of the players left to ply their trade in the Premier as the Dines were still in Div 1A.

That said though, about 6 or 7 stayed on and tried to get the Dines back in the Prem and did eventually.

But for Wembley's sake I hope they do stay on and try at least one season at full junior level to try and get the club back in Prem (If ye are not there already at the end of next season) thats the least they can do for a club that gave them all so much.

Wembley 2-1 Crumlin
    68, 99, 08

We had what they called "The Dream Team" at under 17's and youths level about 8 years ago but when we were out of youths level the majority of the players left to ply their trade in the Premier as the Dines were still in Div 1A.
    Abbeyvale are you familiar with Geraldines? Do you know an ould buck called Paddy Murphy? He was involved with Geraldines for a long time but I saw them play Corbally this season & no sign of Paddy.

where has morgan lewis gone best goalie in town 1 time...........?

WRFC - best of luck

I'd like to echo the sentiments of others & wish your young lads best of luck on saturday & good luck in the Lawson Cup on Sunday. Would be nice to see ye progress in both - ye deserve it.

Quote Originally Posted by see's it
    where has morgan lewis gone best goalie in town 1 time...........?
    played with us (wembley) at the start of the season up till about christmas. then took a break for a while has been at few matches since but really hasn been seen on a regular basis since we went drinking for our christmas night out. some man for the cider is morgan. he floats in and out of foot.ie too under a very dodgy name.

everything been said about wembleys young teams above i totally agree with the amount of time and effort the club puts in dom, jimmy, timmy, mark, ger,and jerry for our all levels of the club is unbelievable and would be great if a few of them could stay on after youth level. but the reality is as we have seen with previous successful wembley yoth teams is that some of the players are from a distance out the country and wont really be motivated to come in for 1a games compared to fai finals. and the introduction of limerick u21s and limerick senior team along with premier teams asking them to play is a much hgher level and these players are gonna want to play at the highest level possible which is understandable too. good luck to wembley on sat and hope there is a great crowd at it.

Quote Originally Posted by fonsie
    I'd like to echo the sentiments of others & wish your young lads best of luck on saturday & good luck in the Lawson Cup on Sunday. Would be nice to see ye progress in both - ye deserve it.
    playing the lawson cup on next tuesday against herbertstown and believe this we are gonna be well up for this we owe them one from last time we played them at home they mugged us to be honest think bishop would agree. turnout at training has been very high considering were gone from promotion race. all we have to play for and want to try and at least get to final of lawson and then u never know.

Fair play

turnout at training has been very high considering were gone from promotion race. all we have to play for and want to try and at least get to final of lawson and then u never know.
    I had predicted this one to finish 3-1 but we might see a bigger scoreline if ye are up for it. To be honest I think ye would have a good shot at this cup because of the football that ye play.

Page 34 of 44 FirstFirst ... 243233343536 ... LastLast