Talking Thank you Seán Connor

Who will be singing Redzers song next weekend
    Seán Conner of Belfast Town.

(Air Seán South of Garryowen)
    ‘Twas a dreary day in noughty four, when Sean Conner came to town
    O’Riordan had done his very best, to bring our Red team down,
    They had no courage on the field of play; their faces wore a frown.
    But, Seán said “ Do not fear for long, as I’ll turn this team around.”

He set about it straight away, he searched both near and far.
    “But first I need a number 2, and that man will be Gerry Carr”
    A hero from the glory days, way back in ninety four,
    And now the man to lead this band, up to the “prem-e-ore.”

He had the basis of a team; he needed just some more.
    So, he put his trust in young O’Hara to close tight the door.
    With the captain McNamara, and Burns by his side,
    Two stalwarts of Conner’s men would stop the rushing tide.

Cretaro with his skill so fine, and O’Donnell from Donegal,
    O’Grady, Faz and Foley too, stand up like a brick wall.
    Kupono Low one of the best, that you will ever see,
    With Flannery attacking strong, with the mighty Paul Mc T.

From now we will hear the cheering sound, of the Bit O’Red
    As we march behind the Rovers, with Conner at the head.
    Soon we will see the glory days, up in the Showgrounds,
    And the man who lead us all the way, is Sean Conner from Belfast Town.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    Teams go down on de-merit. The fact that Dublin teams are not crap enough to be automatically relegated is hardly their fault. We will try to much worse next year!

Is this to do with the fact the GUFC were too sh1t to come up per chance?

P.S. Well done Sligo on winning your League.
    Oh cop on will ya...ffs most Dublin teams would prefer more non-Dublin teams in there league.BTW what would us been **** have anything to do with my comment.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    ....and we will have a new wall and turnstiles for the Premier Division aswell.
    Brilliantly funny

What an embarassment
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

Quote Originally Posted by shedite
    What an embarassment
    Oh ya, shocking,

Congratulations to Sligo, a fine club and really looking forward to going back to the Showgrounds next season.

What odds DCFC relegating Rovers and exacting revenge on Shoddy?

(Though I really, reallly hope that Rovers stay up)

Congratulations lads, Happy too see a good side with good fans & ground go up unlike some of the Dublin teams with all of there 3 fans.
    Children in the dark cause accidents.
    Accidents in the dark cause children.

congrats sligo

Hopefully ye will do better than harps in the league next season. What are the chances of ye bagging kevin mchugh now as im sure he doesnt want to leave the area.

Quote Originally Posted by Galwayexile
    Hopefully ye will do better than harps in the league next season. What are the chances of ye bagging kevin mchugh now as im sure he doesnt want to leave the area.
    I'd love to get him but I'd say he'll be with Derry next season

So what players would you like to see at sligo next season

71 Posts
    Congratulations Sligo! Something we narrowly missed out on last season. Just don't get too carried away though. 1st Division top three last year: 1 Harps, 2. UCD, 3. Bray. What order of places do they occupy in the Premier this year however?

Quote Originally Posted by Galwayexile
    So what players would you like to see at sligo next season
    Alan Cawley, Keith Gilroy, Ciaran Martyn and Kevin McHugh. Realistically out of those four, I'd say Cawley is the only one we could get and we probably wouldn't even get him. Although I did hear we might be interested in a few Longford players so maybe he could be one(even though he's only on loan with them)

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Alan Cawley, Keith Gilroy, Ciaran Martyn and Kevin McHugh. Realistically out of those four, I'd say Cawley is the only one we could get and we probably wouldn't even get him. Although I did hear we might be interested in a few Longford players so maybe he could be one(even though he's only on loan with them)
    Did I hear Sligo were interested in Alan Kirby?
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Quote Originally Posted by Maz
    Did I hear Sligo were interested in Alan Kirby?
    I dont know to be honest. I think Myler was mentioned but he's the only name I heard so far

you might have...I heard we are after 2 longford lads.

Had heard it was Sean Prunty and Alan Kirby although I cant be sure, you know these rumours play havok with people

Quote Originally Posted by Maz
    Had heard it was Sean Prunty and Alan Kirby although I cant be sure, you know these rumours play havok with people
    And are they any good? and is it likey they'd leave Longford?

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    And are they any good? and is it likey they'd leave Longford?
    Both are good, some might even say great, Thats why I was surprised to hear about Sligo. Whatever about Kirby going, I dont know if Sean is.

is kirby the guy in need of a hair cut or am i thinking of someone else?

No poor Kirby would be in need of the hair. Id say you're thinking of Dessie Baker

There's a pic of them here

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast