Thread: Liam Miller

Liam Miller

Make or break time for him in the Carling Cup. Ferguson:

"I think we'll play a few youngsters on Wednesday night. I think Pique, Rossi, Lee Martin, Ebanks-Blake will be there. Adam Eckersley, I think, will play left-back. Liam Miller will certainly play. I'll put two or three of the experienced players on the bench, just to give us a bit of safeguard. Youth is what this club's been built on, I want to see them in the situations where there's a good crowd. It's a cup game so Barnet will come here and fight for everything and apparently they're bringing a good support with them."

He needs to go out aggressively like he was when he played for Celtic. Without the aggression he's nothing.

82 Posts
    He's made the bench a bit lately, which wasn't even the case for a while so judging by Fergusons tone he may have impressed a bit. The story doing the rounds is that he's been putting accross a great account of himslef behind the scenes in training etc, but that he keeps bottling it when given the oppertunity in the first team. This cup run may well be his last chance at a regular spot.

462 Posts
    He was awesome at Celtic, so he does have the ability, but he has to take his chance even if it is against a League 2 side.

It really is the last chance saloon for Miller. He's gotta make the break through in these games now or it's bye-bye in January I'd imagine.

B.

IMO he should leave United in January regardless even if it is for a Championship side. He really needs to be playing every week. Thats not going to happen at United.

bench warmimng legend.
    a true winston bogard, fair play to him.
    I

unfair to compare him to bogarde , he was happy to play for chelsea reserves and pick up his 40 grand a week , refused to have his contract anulled

2,693 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by colster
    IMO he should leave United in January regardless even if it is for a Championship side. He really needs to be playing every week. Thats not going to happen at United.
    It's funny but he's the same type of player, yet better, than Stephen Ireland who everyone's raving about. OK, he's quite a bit older. But Stephen Ireland's "success" shows that Miller could do a decent job at a decent side if he only had the cop on to see it.

Miller after 4 mins for united against barnet. not watching game so it could have rebounded off his ar@e for all i know. still it will give him more confidence.

Quote Originally Posted by del fuego
    Miller after 4 mins for united against barnet. not watching game so it could have rebounded off his ar@e for all i know. still it will give him more confidence.
    Scored from a free after the Barnet GK was sent off after handling 6 inches outside the box.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

20 Posts
    Anyone know how's he playing? I know it's only Barnet but he needs every little bit he can get.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

Apparantly playing very well which won't do his confidence any harm in front of 50,000. He'll get his chance in a league game if he does well tonight no doubt.

38 Posts
    I'm just following it (and the other games) via text updates on sportinglife so it's difficult to say. They only report incidents like free kicks, crosses trow-ins, shots.. etc. So he could be making lots of decent or crap passes without it being reported. The goal was a free kick from 18 yards out from the left channel into the top right hand corner. He's had at least another decent shot on target from play and has put a few crosses into the box.

www.livescore.com for all those of you who have no other way of keeping up to date. It is comprehensive and covers Leagues and Cups all over the globe

Miller set up the last goal with a chip.

Highlights on ITV/UTV at 11.00.

3,311 Posts
    Gibson came on with about 15 minutes to go, but none of the reports I've seen say anything about how he played

link of footage of highlights of our bench warming uber-legend?
    I

dam cant open it at work but thanks anyways
    I