Quote Originally Posted by concanta
    Steven Ireland was brill yesterday
    Must be i nnext friendly squad - maybe the future is not so bleak with
    him and elliott doing so well
    All the papers said he played really well. 3 English papers put him down as 17 though when he's actually 19.

He should get some U21 games to get experience as would be unlikely to get much seniot team action. Then again Givens is still U21 manager so who knows how he'd ruin him...

why not though
    if he is playing with man city and turning out good performances he should be in first team
    not every game but for a few of the friendlies so he knows what its like and gets some experience

182 Posts
    feck it, we have 11 months of friendly matches to look forward to, if you can't bring new players through now then when can you?

my next team based on current form would be

Kenny ( give him experience and give Shay a rest)
    Finnan
    Dunne
    O'Brien
    Harte

Duff
    A Reid
    Ireland
    S Reid

Elliott
    Doyle

btw is the sheff utd player GEARY irish - i presume he is maybe he might come through
    has played recently for sheff utd and they look very very good

this guy has played what 4 maybe 5 premiership games and you put him straight into the team . even for a friendly i would just about have him in the squad

85 Posts
    Joey O'Brien played the full 90 in Boltons win over WBA today... I don't wanna read to much into the emmergence of Ireland and O'Brien just yet because we've seen it before and been let down with McPhail, Barry Quinn and even Tony Sheridan ffs.

But the progress of O'Brien, Ireland and centre half McShane of late has given me some glimmer of hope. I'll be happy if the the first two reach double figures for apps in the premiership this season. Darren Potter should go on loan though.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    I'm pretty sure Sheffield's Geary is Irish.

Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee
    Joey O'Brien played the full 90 in Boltons win over WBA today... I don't wanna read to much into the emmergence of Ireland and O'Brien just yet because we've seen it before and been let down with McPhail, Barry Quinn and even Tony Sheridan ffs.

But the progress of O'Brien, Ireland and centre half McShane of late has given me some glimmer of hope. I'll be happy if the the first two reach double figures for apps in the premiership this season. Darren Potter should go on loan though.
    O'Brien played at right back for Bolton afaik.

Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour
    I'm pretty sure Sheffield's Geary is Irish.
    If he's the guy on loan from Villa, he's English and considers himself so. I could be thinking of a completely different player though....I don't follow the Coco Pops Championship

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    If he's the guy on loan from Villa, he's English and considers himself so. I could be thinking of a completely different player though....I don't follow the Coco Pops Championship
    He's a right back from Dublin. Not getting his game for United and is 25 so doubt he's an international prospect. Never know though.

130 Posts
    I know this has come up before but what about Lawrence, hes eligible as far as I know, played quite well yesterday. Would be worth at try on the right wing.

462 Posts
    People in here should wait and see at the end of the season whether these players can do it for a long period

maybe liam lawerence wouldn't be a bad option he's at least worth a look. we haven't got many options on the right of midfield
    Winners are workers,
    Losers make excuses.

Geary is Irish, used to be a fan favourite at Wednesday....but at 5'5 or 5'6, he kinda tiny, even for a fullback.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SaucyJack
    Geary is Irish, used to be a fan favourite at Wednesday....but at 5'5 or 5'6, he kinda tiny, even for a fullback.
    He's a mediocre Championship player at best nowhere near International standard. Even Mabury would be well ahead of him.
    He was a fan's favourite because he was a hard tackler and put in a lot of effort ... very workman. Maybe he should be included in the squad training sessions just to show the others how to play with a bit of heart!
    Last edited by Irish_Praha; 24/10/2005 at 2:18 PM.

2,796 Posts
    I was going to start a separate thread but half the points I was going to make are here on this one anyway.

All the last few weeks I've been hearing that the cupboard is bare & there's nobody coming through, mainly from people who can barely see past their noses about Irish football but yet are happy to get paid by the media for offering their "expert" advice. Ronnie Whelan, Frank the Plank & Rayo Houghton spring to mind.

Paul Howard wrote an excellent article in yesterday's Tribune but spoilt it by saying that there's nothing coming through.

Is this really the case?

Under 19s, almost every one of which is a great prospect, thump Italy 4-1 & playing qaulity football on the way. OK, so getting the best out of these guys is out of our / FAI's control but it hardly spells a bleak future.
    5 Irish in the side that wins the FA Youth Cup.
    Joey O'Brien breaking into the Bolton first team.
    Glenn Whelan captaining SWFC at 20.
    Paul McShane.
    Stephen Elliott.
    Clinton Morrison showing great form & rewarding any manager that shows faith in him.
    Stephen Elliott
    Graham Kavanagh, OK no spring chicken, getting described as "excellent" by The Times, getting 8/10 for his latest quality premiership performance.
    Alan Quinn showing again on Friday that he's got plenty to offer, always looking to do something positive on the ball.
    Alan Mahon's goal.
    Shame Supple getting Ipswich fans' MOTM yesterday.
    Owen Garvan orchestrating central midfield for Ipswich aged 17.
    Kevin Doyle
    Stephen Ireland

And so on.

Maybe it's just me popping the happy pills too often but I think there's plenty that an inspirational manager can do to restore a spring in the step to this Irish side. Step forward Martin O'Neill

(OK, so I've changed my mind a bit on who should be next manager)

Fair play Stuttgart, thats the sort of post that should happen a lot more on this.
    In Trap we trust

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast