Thread: Saturation premiership.

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208
    liverpool is smaller than dublin even, yet it boast 2 fantastic 40,000+ all seater stadiums whats the biggest in dublin ?? maybe 15,000 and most of that is standing ( lansdown is rugby croker is gaa before ye suggest either of those )
    Liverpool has no gaa stadiums over 40,000.
    Ireland play their football internationals in Lansdowne Road.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

i used to support limerick i went to every home game and about 90% of away games for a few years , then cut back to just home games so i would have watched practically every team in the league at some stage over the last 15 years , i also would have seen quite a lot of cork when i lived down that direction .
    i went to see everton wigan a game considered a bore by the critics yet i saw more skill and talent on the pitch in 45 mins than ive seen in the EL in 15 years .

liverpool is smaller than dublin even, yet it boast 2 fantastic 40,000+ all seater stadiums whats the biggest in dublin ?? maybe 15,000 and most of that is standing ( lansdown is rugby croker is gaa before ye suggest either of those )
    off with ya supporters don't give up. good riddance

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    off with ya supporters don't give up. good riddance
    well i never classed myself as a supporter of either i just like to support any local footy , when i moved to limerick or to cork i wanted to support the local footy team so i went to watch those teams but ive allways been an everton supporter first and foremost thats why i have never given up on them .

but its this attitude within the EL that keeps so many people away ,that if you dont go and hand over your hard earned cash week in week out to watch that sh1te then your not a real fan and your not welcome at the ground .
    i cant afford to go to EL and prem games any more its as simple as that but ever since i stopped ive been met with this attitude that has promted me to promise myself never to return to an EL game and ive come across plenty of others in the same boat that share the same opinion .

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard
    Liverpool has no gaa stadiums over 40,000.
    Ireland play their football internationals in Lansdowne Road.
    thats because they dont play gaa over there on a national scale , are you comparing soccer in ireland to gaa in england !!!

ireland rent lansdown from the IRFU they dont have a national football stadium

Think the point anto1208 is that excitement comes from having an emotional attachment to the team. Pats are obviously nowhere near the footballing levels of the premiership but us scoring a last minute equaliser against anybody would probably m,ake me happy for a week.

Sure I can appreciate a great game of skilful football on the TV but if you have no attachment to the team it just cannot be as exciting as seeing your team play. the problem most eL fans have with people who support other leagues is that they have no real reason for supporting any of those teams so they can't possibly understand the emotions we, as real football fans, feel

ever since i stopped ive been met with this attitude that has promted me to promise myself never to return to an EL game
    WHAT DO YOU EXPECT?! jesus wept, what planet are you on? In fairness, all I can remember since you started posting on this site is you slagging the standard of irish football, and then you make this decision that you won't go to games anymore, and you expect people to react reasonably to it? Get a grip will ya

but its this attitude within the EL that keeps so many people away ,that if you dont go and hand over your hard earned cash week in week out to watch that sh1te then your not a real fan and your not welcome at the ground .
    where did I say that? I couldn't care less how many games you do/don't go to. Its your attitude that stinks, and that kind of attitude we can certainly do without.

Im absolutly delighted that the Premiersh!t has gone down hill...better for our league.
    I used to be a massive Arsenal fan but this season i couldnt give a flying fcuk about them or even that bothered to watch Match of the Day

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    Im absolutly delighted that the Premiersh!t has gone down hill...better for our league.
    I used to be a massive Arsenal fan but this season i couldnt give a flying fcuk about them or even that bothered to watch Match of the Day
    Exact same.I used to support Liverpool and GUFC but in the last 2 years it's GUFC all the way.I don't even know who liverpool are playing most weekends.Also i feel the exact same as Dodge.If United scored a last minute winner or even win a bloody game i'd be over the moon for a week.I don't know how i ever supported the premiership,now when i watch a match i just get bored tbh.There is nothing like live football and your team doing well.
    UTD TILL I DIE!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

ya fair play to ya Conor honestly.the more people that turn there backs on the English game the better.When you think of it most of us hate england football team but then we waste our days and hard earned cash watching English players and over paid foriegners playing boring football,diving around the place and not giving a sh!t about the fans.At least eircom players are locals and adore us fans.

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    we waste our days and hard earned cash watching English players and over paid foriegners playing boring football,diving around the place
    How do you know this if you dont watch match of the day or any english football??
    and if your so keane on the demise of english football, you obviously dont care too much about our national team, considering the fact all our players(bar harte) play there. And i, for one, care more about our national team than any EL, or EPL team.

176 Posts
    Premiership boring? Here's Sky's record of games so far:

Arsenal 0-0 Newcastle (until 80th minute)
    Bolton 0-0 Blackburn
    Liverpool 0-0 Ush-ited
    Middlesbrough 0-0 Liverpool
    Wigan 0-0 Chelsea (until 93rd minute)

Aston Villa 1-1 Spurs
    Bolton 1-0 Portsmouth
    Spurs 1-0 Fulham

Premiership boring? Agreed.
    Last edited by mypost; 27/09/2005 at 2:08 AM.

I for one disagree on this.........suddenly no goals = boring games?
    If seeing goals is the only thing that makes football interesting to people then stick to Soccer AM or Eurogoals!!

I've enjoyed almost all of the games some of you have mentioned above. Mostly becuse as a coach myself I'm interested to see the formations used and how each team reacts to certain situations in the game. I enjoyed watching Arsenal trying to break down a 10 man Newcastle. I enjoyed the cat and mouse affair between Liverpool and United. I enjoyed watching the minnows of Wigan pulverise the Chelsea goal for 90 minutes resulting in the most dramatic finish to a game so far this season. I enjoyed the Bolton - Everton game where Everton snatched it when it never looked like they would even get a shot a goal. And over the last two days I throughly enjoyed Sunderlands win at Boro and the Fulham game Vs the Spuds.

6 games in this time last year, Arsenal were invincible and the league was over - thankfully (sadly for me), everyone was wrong. The same muppet journalists are writing the same crap after 6 games this year. Chelsea may well win the league but it's far from over and the entertainment value for someone like me (i.e. who has a facination with the game in general) is far from in decline.

I'm a silver member at Arsenal and have no intention of turning my back on the game based on it's current alleged boringness. I'm not bored by it in fact this season I'm intrigued by it. The performances of teams like West Ham and Charlton have been a breath of fresh air as have the uncertainty of games involving Arsenal, liverpool, United etc. The only exception, 6 games into a 38 game season, has been Chelsea's ubeaten run which I genuinely believe won't last forever (see Wigan, Villa, Anderlecht as reasons why!). It looks like being the most 'interesting if not goal shy' season in a long time for me.

As always this thread on a world football section has turned into an E.L. fans opportunity to bash both the premier league and Fans such as myself who watch it. I don't come on any of the EL forums and bad mouth the EL or it's supporters. As so many of you claim to have no interest in the English game which incorporates our Irish players I find it difficult to comprehend how some can offer comments on the demise of games you do not (allegedy) watch (the same applies to fans who don't watch the EL and consistantly bad mouth it, i might add).

I'm sick of the comments about having passion for your local side and being real fans of LIVE football. Well I'm a real supporter of LIVE english football, I've gone to games at Arsenal there since I was 6 or so, thanks to my kind hearted Irish Aunt who lived locally to Arsenal. Arsenal was her local team and it became ours from an early age.

As much as i am in no position to make comments on the El, I am without doubt in a position to make comments om the EPL and my team who in current seasons have played the best football I've witnessed in my lifetime, even during 0-0 draws!! All the while I haven't missed on Irish International in years and give hours week on week to amatuer football in Ireland.

This REAL FANS tag of some EL fans is becoming tiresome. They might have a case on some fly by night fans but don't tar us all with the same brush.

End of rant!!

Happy Tuesday Morning to all!!
    Last edited by Karlos; 27/09/2005 at 8:20 AM.
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    WHAT DO YOU EXPECT?! jesus wept, what planet are you on? In fairness, all I can remember since you started posting on this site is you slagging the standard of irish football, and then you make this decision that you won't go to games anymore, and you expect people to react reasonably to it? Get a grip will ya
    i cant afford to go to games any more , thats hardly my fault . and what was your line "good riddence " .
    take of the blinkers it is rubbish hence not one player from the EL even getting near the national team.

all im doing is backing the premier league which is the closest league to us and where the national team play so i dont rejoice in its dimise like ye do on here

71 Posts
    Lads I'll have to ask you to tone this down. Attacking one's right to support a foreign football club is contrary to the rules of this forum.

"fascinating" and "interesting" are just words that sky use to describe shyte games, without actually labelling their own product as crap

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Premiership boring? Here's Sky's record of games so far:

Arsenal 0-0 Newcastle (until 80th minute)
    Bolton 0-0 Blackburn
    Liverpool 0-0 Ush-ited
    Middlesbrough 0-0 Liverpool
    Wigan 0-0 Chelsea (until 93rd minute)

Aston Villa 1-1 Spurs
    Bolton 1-0 Portsmouth
    Spurs 1-0 Fulham

Premiership boring? Agreed.
    Agree , was thinking of cancelling the Sky sports have no interest in most of the matches anyone , best match I seen all season was Watford v Sheffield United at viccarage road , 5 goals 1 sending off and worth the 20 quid admission.

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by anto eile
    "fascinating" and "interesting" are just words that sky use to describe shyte games, without actually labelling their own product as crap

Wonder will Sky be looking for the floodlight money back now that it doesn't affect the attendances anymore

Quote Originally Posted by anto eile
    It's part of their contract that they have to portrait the premiership in a good light. They contractually can't say "this game is rubbish".

70 Posts

pest

Anto1208
    The 2 best players ever to wear the green both Played in the EL
    Football fan my Arse
    Please go away!