Page 8 of 25 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast

Thread: Daryl Murphy

2 million for Daryl Murphy is pretty insane, loan them Stokes.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    It was a home game against Poland and it was his debut.

I remember Terry Mancini saying after the game that he was a bit shocked by the fans being able to shout comments in to the dressing room through the cracks and holes in the dressing room windows.

I was at that game Not one of the shouters through the window though. Under the shed at the school end was my usual position.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    That is actually most likely an urban myth. Terry Mancini never played in Moscow, Prague or Poland or anywhere in Eastern Europe for Ireland.

It can join

1) Germans wear green shirts because we were the first country to play them after the war

2) Panathanaikos were founded by Irishmen

3) Socrates played for UCD

4) FAI officials sang "you can stick your GAA up your arse" on the plane home from Belfast in 1993.
    dont forget the auld Tipperary / Boca Juniors "connection" either

;-)

bhs

57 Posts
    It was a home game against Poland and it was his debut.
    That is very unlikely.

The normal version of the story has the original long version of AnbF played including the first verse. This would also have been played first as it would be the away anthem.

For a home game the normal short version of the anthem would have been played. Ours would have been played 2nd and it is obvious with the crowd etc that it is our anthem.

The story has too many variations and doesn't add up. I firmly believe it is an urban myth.

1,928 Posts
    Once thought to be apocryphal but the horse himself has opened his mouth on the "incident".
    http://archives.tcm.ie/irishexaminer...y130119760.asp
    The man himself takes up the story: “It was a great honour to be selected and I lined up on the side of the pitch, desperate to get playing. All the pre-match ceremony seemed to go on forever, and then the music started playing and it went on and on, and I turned to Don Givens and said, ‘for f**k’s sake, their national anthem goes on a bit’ and he said, ‘that’s ours, Terry’. I didn’t have a clue!”

I´d guess one anthem blended into the other without the Garda Band pausing for breath

Smile Kindred spirits

Quote Originally Posted by Deckydee View Post
    As a QPR fan of 15 years....
    Snap!

Nice to have some company here now. Together, we must battle the army of Wednesdayites. (there's a thread in the World Football section on the Championship)

£2 million does seem extreme. But hey, we're rolling in the cash now so who cares. Those in the know say it's 60/40 ish - hopefully that means you just have to pay 60% of the publicised price! I think the competition for his signature (Mick is a big fan isn't he?) is what'll ultimately drive the price up - Leicester are rumoured as well. Keane is playing it smart in saying there are a few sniffing around. I think Murphy has good potential, he needs plenty of games though I feel, so I'm not sure the timing of this transfer is at all ideal. If we were mid-table no problem, but he's not the type of player you want coming in for a relegation scrap, as things are looking at the moment. From a QPR perspective I would've preferred Connolly for about half the price - proven goalscorer at the required level. Still, I'll proudly trumpet any Irish player who joins, and don the hoops with evermore pride!!

Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran View Post
    http://qprreport.blogspot.com/2007/1...-on-daryl.html

Part of the first team tomorrow. Looks like Daryl isn't going anywhere. ¬_¬
    Came on as sub for Sunderland today.
    Together with all our hearts.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    I see Gavin Mahon is part of the deal. A player touted on here a season ago by many as an answer to our midfield problems. He's not even an answer to QPR's midfield problems.

Is he not with Watford???
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

282 Posts
    I've heard Julio Arca --> Sunderland, David Connolly --> Middlesbrough in a straight swap. Good move IMO since the manager wont give him a chance
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Crazy rumour mate. Arca's worth about £5m. Connolly's worth a few hundred grand.

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Crazy rumour mate. Arca's worth about £5m. Connolly's worth a few hundred grand.
    Let Gareth Southgate be the judge of that...hes the one who actually played against him
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Amazed if they get that for him. Has he improved to the tune of £1.9m in 2 and a half years?
    Sunderland robbed him off us for £100,000, if we hadn't been so stuck for cash at the time we could have negotiated a better deal, maybe £350,000 plus.

Talking

Come on over....everybody Welcome

www.iqpr.org

Ireland QPR
    Ciao

Was at the game to-day. Murphy came on for Jones in the second half. My God if this bloke gets paid to scores goals there is some hope for us all. He is absolutely horendous.Just a big lanky useless waste of space. Who in their right mind would pay £2m for this?

I don’t rate him at all but Liam Miller was not bad although he was sent off for been a silly boy. Stokes came on with 20 to go but was ineffective. For me anyway i dont think after watching him this afternoon he would ever make a Chelsea player, not in a million years, actually if they got him for free and had to pay him £100 a week they wouldn’t have him.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by theworm2345 View Post
    Let Gareth Southgate be the judge of that...hes the one who actually played against him
    I always thought you lived in a dream world as regards Connolly and I think you've confirmed it with this latest rambling! Connolly is utter tripe at premiership level. I have a friend player at Middlesborough (B.Hutchinson) who has just broken through and has ten times the potential that Connolly has ever shown at this level. I can bet you whatever you like that they will never ever look at signing Connolly. He has never ever produced the goods at the highest level and never will. Where exactly did you hear this rumour? In your head at about 4 in the morning me thinks! I'd like more than anything to be proved wrong and Connolly bang in 20goals a season in the EP but it aint gona happen so please stop kidding yourself!!

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Topman View Post
    Come on over....everybody Welcome

www.iqpr.org

Ireland QPR
    Never been able to warm to QPR after interferring with Kevin Gallen, as it were.

87 Posts
    Paddy,

Yes, we were all p!ssesd over the Gallen thing. His parents are both from Ireland and he should have played for Ireland. What happened was (and I have checked this out big time) is that Gerry Francis who was QPR manager that season (1994-1995) put pressure on young Kevin to play for England. Young keving looked up to Gerry and for this reason choose to play for England at U-21 level. Because (at that time) once you played for anonther country at U-21 level you cannot play for anonther country. He played one match and never again received another callup. All QPR fans agree it was the biggest mistake of his career.
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by livehead1 View Post
    I always thought you lived in a dream world as regards Connolly and I think you've confirmed it with this latest rambling! Connolly is utter tripe at premiership level. I have a friend player at Middlesborough (B.Hutchinson) who has just broken through and has ten times the potential that Connolly has ever shown at this level. I can bet you whatever you like that they will never ever look at signing Connolly. He has never ever produced the goods at the highest level and never will. Where exactly did you hear this rumour? In your head at about 4 in the morning me thinks! I'd like more than anything to be proved wrong and Connolly bang in 20goals a season in the EP but it aint gona happen so please stop kidding yourself!!
    I heard it on ReadyToGo, Sunderland's biggest message board. Again, how can you say Connolly is "utter tripe" at EPL level when he has 5 starts (1 of which he got hurt, another where he started up front with his worst possible striker partner, Michael Chopra and he really didn't play badly, just not great either), and a few more 10 minute cameos?
    My Guarantee

Quote Originally Posted by Deckydee View Post
    Paddy,

Yes, we were all p!ssesd over the Gallen thing. His parents are both from Ireland and he should have played for Ireland. What happened was (and I have checked this out big time) is that Gerry Francis who was QPR manager that season (1994-1995) put pressure on young Kevin to play for England. Young keving looked up to Gerry and for this reason choose to play for England at U-21 level. Because (at that time) once you played for anonther country at U-21 level you cannot play for anonther country. He played one match and never again received another callup. All QPR fans agree it was the biggest mistake of his career.
    It was nothing to do with him 'looking up' to Francis, it was to do with the fact that QPR would not offer him a contract unless he declared for England. At that time the 'three foreigners' rule was in force, Gallen had already been associated as a potential target for Man.Utd. who had their quota already, and as a non-England player, Gallen transfer's value to QPR would have reduced drastically.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

87 Posts
    I have heard of that before as well. It depends who you talk to.
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

Page 8 of 25 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast