Thread: What's wrong with an Irish accent

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    What about "creac" - where does that fit in??????
    Right where the toilet paper goes!!!!!!!?
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Quote Originally Posted by strangeirish
    Don't remind me of that area.

Quote Originally Posted by strangeirish

You got in before me

Quote Originally Posted by MacAonghusa
    ".

Anyway there's nothing wrong with the Irish accent, nothing wrong with our 'Hiberno-English'.
    Professor Terry Dolan's Hiberno-English archive is good craic.

http://www.hiberno-english.com/archive.php

Hadn't realised that 'craic' was a loanword from English!

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by MacAonghusa
    You got in before me
    Disgusting chat!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by kerr's tribe
    I remeber a girl in work last summer, scottish girl, she had to phone up Coleraine to speak to a customer, she said to me" Oh i 'm going to phone a Paddy in Collar-rain" Nearly crying laughing, I thought, no way I'm correcting her, let her make an eejit of herself (hated the bitch anyway) So she called up on speakerphone so we could all hear (she always made her calls on speakerphone, wanted to let everyone hear her all the time, show-off , was class because she said " Hello, is that (e.g )Magee's of Collar-rain?" All the guys on the other end of the phone were roaring laughing at her...she was raging....i was quietly smirking my arse off
    What a vicious b*tch....................Only joking KT,you're great

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    Ya gobsheen ya
    It wasn't always just gobsheen,sometimes it was spluttering gobsheen.

112 Posts
    Amazing what the Irish accent can do too.. you can be as cheeky as you like to customers and because of the accent you get away with it! even had a good looking English lass buy me a pint when serving her the other day purely for making her day with my accent! made my day too until her boyfriend came back..
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

even had a good looking English lass buy me a pint when serving her the other day purely for making her day with my accent! made my day too until her boyfriend came back.
    yours isnt really an irish accent, its the bog irish accent!!hehe only buzzin, so thats prolly why cos you sound all mad and funny like, i never used to take a pint when i was offered it though, i mean i would never take the money from it.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    I can't understand why Irish people have taken to ending sentences with the word 'mate', and calling people 'plonker', 'pillock', 't*at', 'git' and other terms of abuse from the east end of London.
    Listen mate, always going to happen as emigrants and children of emigrants move home. And to say they're all east end is just bobbins, you twát...

btw Do you think about that over your traditional east end of London drink stout (or when you're consuming your ancient roman beverage of cider?)

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Anyway, back to the original post. DOn't 98FM advertise their station with an American accent all the time. It just strikes me as odd that a local Dublin station thinks it's cool to have an American accent advertising their station. The Irish accent may be liked abroad but do you hear a Dublin accent promoting a local Dallas station ?? Never.

Let's not become totally subsumed into a foreign culture so that we think a foreign accent is somehow cooler or more cache attaches to it than our own.

Phrases that irk: "Cross channel soccer results - eh ? UK is not cross channel, from Dublin anyway.

"High street prices" - we don't have High Streets as such.

But these are just asides and have nothing to do with the Americanisation of our language.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    But these are just asides and have nothing to do with the Americanisation of our language.
    Biggest americanisation is the pronunciation of words... Genuwine, skedule etc

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    You could get it up here every week no problem, back in the 60s.
    Happy Days !!!
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    Happy Days !!!
    brilliant

71 Posts
    I think it's just the one guy all over the world. When I was in Orlando years ago the same guy who would say "You're listening to FM 104" would say "You're listening to Radio Orlando(or whatever)".

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    Happy Days !!!
    Cheeky fcuker - I meant The Kerryman Newspaper.

I presume you were making a reference to sex - we have it on tap up here and, this is no joke, yesterday, on my street, the watermain burst!!!

There........I've given you plenty of ammunition........help yourself.

246 Posts
    Not sure how common this used to be, but I've noticed more and more people pronouncing 'new' as 'nue' (same with 'news'). Fries my head, that one. It sounds wile American.

A few years ago a pupil from Limerick entered an entry into the Young Scientists' Exhibition - it was a survey in which he found that people with strong Limerick city accents felt discriminated against when applying for jobs. Maybe that's one reason why Irish people feel they have to adopt a sort of bland mid-atlantic accent, that sounds makes them sound like they're coming directly out of the cast of Friends or The O.C
    Caller to Radio 5 phone-in: There are too many foreign players in the league.
    Mark Lawrenson: Why do you think that is?
    Caller: Because there are a lot of them.

Here's the link to that Young Scientists accent story:
    http://www.limerick-leader.ie/issues...10/news03.html
    Caller to Radio 5 phone-in: There are too many foreign players in the league.
    Mark Lawrenson: Why do you think that is?
    Caller: Because there are a lot of them.

Quote Originally Posted by gaf1983
    A few years ago a pupil from Limerick entered an entry into the Young Scientists' Exhibition - it was a survey in which he found that people with strong Limerick city accents felt discriminated against when applying for jobs. Maybe that's one reason why Irish people feel they have to adopt a sort of bland mid-atlantic accent, that sounds makes them sound like they're coming directly out of the cast of Friends or The O.C
    However, the boom in call centre's over here was because people liked the irish accent. Admittedly, probably not many in Limerick, Cork or Kerry....