Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Supporters of 'other' English/Scottish clubs

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Gents, can we cool it down here? Éanna rather like a religious fundementalist your preaching of eL dogma could actually turn people away. We should seek to be inclusive of all types of fan (and yes I know you are not suggesting to leave people who do not put eL first out in the cold) but questioning other people's choices in club support and their order of preference and priority will turn people off the eL and make it look like a closed bunch of fanatics (please someone don't reply saying "but it is").
    Of course I'm not saying that people aren't welcome to eL games, everyone is. Just like everyone is free to support teams from England, Azerbaijan or bloody Zambia if they feel like it- what I'm interested in is "WHY?" What's the motivation behind it?

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Éanna

As for asking WHY they support these clubs, its because I'm genuinely interested. I cannot understand why somebody would just "pick" a club to support and get so involved that they set up a supporters club. It seems madness to me, but maybe one of you can explain- is there a point here that I'm missing?
    To a certain extent it is about first love. Some kids spot a jersey and love a team or see one performance on TV. It can also be a bit self replicating, the love of whatever club will be passed down through the family then. The supreme media exposure of the EPL and the existing popularity in Ireland will expose young kids fast and far more often to English football than the eL. I am sure many of the people who support an eL and foreign club found the foreign club first as a child before they got any exposure to the eL. I think some or many of us have matured into eL fans as we got older and still retain that first love at the same time.
    Last edited by Poor Student; 26/05/2005 at 2:27 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever
    What about you not even supporting your own country?????
    That's not true. I don't support the FAIreland team. I support ireland in everything from Rugby to cricket to athletics to bog-snorkelling, just not in football. And I've already explained my reasons (Brit rejects, Roy Keane and the FAI)

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    I am sure many of the people who support an eL and foreign club found the foreign club first as a child before they got any exposure to the eL.
    Absolutely, I was a "passionate" Leeds Utd "fan" until I was about 12, then I started going to City games and that was the end of that. What confuses me, is that this guy isn't yer average barstooler- he's committed enough that he actually involves himself in running a supporters club, that's what has me confused!

71 Posts
    Absolutely, I was a "passionate" Leeds Utd "fan" until I was about 12, then I started going to City games and that was the end of that. What confuses me, is that this guy isn't yer average barstooler- he's committed enough that he actually involves himself in running a supporters club, that's what has me confused!
    Well with all due respect Éanna for many it's not "the end of that". The person clearly grew up loving Nottingham Forest, probably went over for games, met people, forged a relationship with other fans here all which has compounded his love and enjoyment with the club. It isn't all about proximity. Richmond Park is probably closer to me but I prefer UCD. I don't know why exactly but I just do and couldn't explain.

Of course you have freedom of choice, I never said you didn't. I'm just asking WHY you would support a team like Forrest over a team in Irish football. It doesn't make sense to me, but if you can enlighten me, please go ahead.

Far from being devoid of logic, it would most likely be viewed as run of the mill, common sense anywhere except Ireland.

No, I'd just like to see Irish/people living in Ireland people supporting Irish football. Going by your "logic" maybe we should all vote in the British General Elections because our own politicians aren't good enough?
    It is spelt Forest

I began supporting Nottingham Forest in 1988 when I was 12 years old. Like nearly every youngster in this country I began following an English team. THere are many reasons for Forest. The first one was an admiration for Brian Clough and what he stood for in the game. I was also a huge follower of Robin Hood as a kid and the fact he was from Nottingham was also a pull. Another memory is my grandfather telling me he had won a load of cash on Forest when they won the European cup. Finally I needed a new school bag that year and lo and behold I ended up with a Forest one!!!

I've supported then through thick and thin and shall remain loyal. I love the city, I've made lasting friendships and the atmosphere at the City Ground is second to none. I can do a day trip for under €100 so match day is basically the same price as a Saturday night out.

Unfortunately an Irish team cannot offer me that, however I still make it down the carlisle and love seeing The seagulls doing well.

What has voting got to do with anything??? Stupid analogy

Quote Originally Posted by The Dublin Red
    Unfortunately an Irish team cannot offer me that,
    Why not? "I've supported then through thick and thin and shall remain loyal. I love the city, I've made lasting friendships and the atmosphere at the City Ground is second to none" Sounds pretty much exactly what I'd say about being a Cork City fan. Irish clubs can offer this, and without having to get on a plane or a boat!

What has voting got to do with anything??? Stupid analogy
    It's not a stupid analogy. People seem to think that club football is "different" in this regard. "It's ok to support an English team, because irish teams aren't as good" What's stopping you supporting Brazil in the World Cup over Ireland? What's stopping you voting Conservative at the next election because you think they're better than any Irish party? It's all the same- supporting something from abroad cos you don't like what's here.

71 Posts
    By the way Éanna I do not see this as exclusively Irish. As someone who has spent a great deal of time in Slovenia their league in some ways is as pathetically supported as ours. They can get much higher crowds for derby games and when teams are doing well but if a team is not crowds are in their low hundreds. For a couple of years Slovenian national television brought you a Premiership game every Saturday at 3 while the national league got even less live games than the eL (though they have a better highlights programme than eL weekly). In Slovenia too all national prospects go to another national league and most footballing fans support foreign clubs. Often English.

I like Eanna find it puzzling peoples passion for foreign teams. Affinity yes but passion, it seems strange to me.
    In Trap we trust

Why not? "I've supported then through thick and thin and shall remain loyal. I love the city, I've made lasting friendships and the atmosphere at the City Ground is second to none" Sounds pretty much exactly what I'd say about being a Cork City fan. Irish clubs can offer this, and without having to get on a plane or a boat!

It's not a stupid analogy. People seem to think that club football is "different" in this regard. "It's ok to support an English team, because irish teams aren't as good" What's stopping you supporting Brazil in the World Cup over Ireland? What's stopping you voting Conservative at the next election because you think they're better than any Irish party? It's all the same- supporting something from abroad cos you don't like what's here.
    And here's where we agree but also differ. I think its great that Cork gives you that and yes they are a great club however it comes back to freedom of choice and what your passion is. Mine is Nottingham Forest. Look I cannot say to you that the standard of football served up by Forest this season is better than the League of Ireland. How could I keep a straight face!!!! However nothing will ever make me switch allegiance. They are my time for keeps. Throw away 17 years of support??? Never.....

Access to Forest is far cheaper than its ever been and the craic I have over there is brilliant.

Are you a GAA supporter as well, by the way?

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    I like Eanna find it puzzling peoples passion for foreign teams. Affinity yes but passion, it seems strange to me.
    Neil, If everyone was the same sure wouldn't life be awfully boring

Very True.
    In Trap we trust

And here's where we agree but also differ. I think its great that Cork gives you that and yes they are a great club however it comes back to freedom of choice and what your passion is. Mine is Nottingham Forest. Look I cannot say to you that the standard of football served up by Forest this season is better than the League of Ireland. How could I keep a straight face!!!! However nothing will ever make me switch allegiance. They are my time for keeps. Throw away 17 years of support??? Never.....

Access to Forest is far cheaper than its ever been and the craic I have over there is brilliant.

Are you a GAA supporter as well, by the way?
    Fair enough, I was just trying to understand where you were coming from. I have a better idea now, even if I can't fully understand it. As for the GAA- no I'm not. No interest whatsoever

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    It's an interest which develops into a passion, like train watching, pigeon fancying, jigsaw puzzles. Sheffield Wednesday are an English team but to me they're just a football team which I follow and have got tremendous enjoyment and heartache doing so. However, I have met fellow Irish Wednesdayites who would put their loyalty to the blue and white stripes above the green jersey. Now that I can't understand.

There is also nothing wrong with being in a supporters club. When you have an interest, what's wrong with going the whole hog. Sometimes you just can't control it. Afterall, 95% of the national team players play in the English leagues and a lot of the interest is generated by that.

Each to their own but as I say I'll always put Ireland first, unlike some Man U fans in the Keane/Ireland debacle but that's another story.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    It's an interest which develops into a passion, like train watching, pigeon fancying, jigsaw puzzles. Sheffield Wednesday are an English team but to me they're just a football team which I follow and have got tremendous enjoyment and heartache doing so. However, I have met fellow Irish Wednesdayites who would put their loyalty to the blue and white stripes above the green jersey. Now that I can't understand.

There is also nothing wrong with being in a supporters club. When you have an interest, what's wrong with going the whole hog. Sometimes you just can't control it. Afterall, 95% of the national team players play in the English leagues and a lot of the interest is generated by that.

Each to their own but as I say I'll always put Ireland first, unlike some Man U fans in the Keane/Ireland debacle but that's another story.
    And unlike some of the Wendnesday supporters you mentioned also
    In Trap we trust

Irish football not good enough for you?

Luckily not all people that go to eL games have a chip on their shoulder the size of Éanna's, otherwise everybody would be driven away...

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse

Luckily not all people that go to eL games have a chip on their shoulder the size of Éanna's, otherwise everybody would be driven away...
    I was asking a question and it's been (somewhat) answered

I originally posted this below on the Steve Finnan thread but it's relevant here. Liked the history on the forest fan club, interesting stuff. I was in the Dublin Arsenal supporters club years ago but left. Won't go into exact reasons but it turned out I could get to games considerably cheaper on my own if you know what I mean!

Was over at the Arsenal - Birmingham game in St. Andrews 2 weeks ago and was pleasantly surpprised to share a flight with the Dublin Birmingam Supporters club and a couple of West Brom lads. Needless the say we got the **** took out of us all the way home after being beaten by Brum. Supporters clubs are good ideas when run effectively but I personally prefer to voice my opinions to the club through my individual memberships and fanzine articles.

******Posted earlier********

Can't speak about Liverpool fans but I can tell you why I have a fanatical support for Arsenal. My Auntie emigrated to London in the 60's and lived in Islington,which contained a strong Irish Community. My first vist to Highbury was in the summer of 1979 - i didn't know it at the time though, i wasn't born until December 1979!

As a family we made regular trips to London to visit my Auntie and always incorporated a trip to Arsenal or the buying of a club banner into the visit. I never attended Eircom League soccer, or gaelic or Rugby. I played them all but never went. I went to Ireland matches thanks to my uncle who used to do the catering at Lansdowne back in the day. The only time other than that i got to see a football ground was seeing the outside of Highbury on trips to London. I've been passionate about them since that age and my brother for even more years. We have a stronger family tie to Arsenal than any of the existing eircom clubs and now being members of the club along with my brother and newly joined niece and nephew, that family tie continues.

It all started with my aunt, was strengthend by O'Leary, Brady and Stapleton with my Brother and has continued long past my aunt's death....

I belive it when people say you can't choose your club, it chooses you. So many things conspired for me to become an Arsenal fan. Maybe it's not the same for others but that's how it was for us. I'm proud to be Irish and proud to follow Arsenal.
    Last edited by Karlos; 26/05/2005 at 3:05 PM.
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    And unlike some of the Wendnesday supporters you mentioned also
    Exactly.

As a kid I followed Ireland, the Owls 1st Div, Preston 2nd, Reading 3rd and Wrexham 4th, Shamrock Rovers Ireland, Ards in Norn Iron and Raith Rovers in Scotland. Great enjoyment

Only Ireland, Owls and Shamrock Rovers stuck and surprisingly Ireland has been the more successful of late. Good year: Ireland qualify, Owls back in Championship and Rovers get a ground.

Irish football not good enough for you?
    BTW, just re. this post can I just say that I was a bit too abrupt about it and could have phrased it a bit better. Sorry

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast