Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Confederations Cup 2013

1,825 Posts
    Ronnie is a acting like a tosser. A petulant tosser.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Funny he wasn't saying things like this when Ireland were getting slaughtered at the Euros.

199 Posts
    What was Ronnie's problem?? Yes Tahiti were pi$$ poor but take it as it was... And give them some credit for getting a goal!
    I hate saying this but fair play to Sadlier for defending them at the end
    Last edited by IsMiseSean; 17/06/2013 at 9:13 PM.

1,825 Posts
    I actually thought Sadlier was very good and handled himself well. Ronnie shouldn't be allowed near a studio again after that.

The bit where he said "yeah but that was a shock" after Maloney pointed out that we were hammered by Germany was embarrassing.
    A great player, but a poor analyst of a game.

Sadlier gets a bit carried away sometimes but he's alright and sees things in a bit more context than the other lads. And he actually watches football from other countries - and by other countries I mean countries that aren't England. Ronnie has always been terrible. Hopefully the demise of Premier Soccer Saturday hastens his disappearance from public life.

1,825 Posts
    It's crap when we all agree.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Sadlier gets a bit carried away sometimes but he's alright and sees things in a bit more context than the other lads. And he actually watches football from other countries - and by other countries I mean countries that aren't England. Ronnie has always been terrible. Hopefully the demise of Premier Soccer Saturday hastens his disappearance from public life.
    To be fair, Ronnie has done great work to highlight erectile dysfunction among men of a certain age.....

1,825 Posts
    And does good work for MG because of his daughter. He was a legend. But a terrible pundit and commentator.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    And does good work for MG because of his daughter. He was a legend. But a terrible pundit and commentator.
    Agreed, the Faroe Islands match last week was a new low in terms of moaning.... it makes viewing so horrible and aggravating in my opinion. I suppose a strongly worded letter could be sent to Ryle Nugent, RTE Sports head? He must have noticed it by now? I recall RTE ditched Stapleton when they realised what they'd acquired after USA 94.... still immortalised by Barry Murphy on the comedy circuit!

Still when you think about it, when you're took out of education and sent over to UK at age of 15 like Whelan, Stapelton, O' Leary et al... you can't expect super communication skills in all cases in later life IMO....

I'd hardly say it's a lack of education. Dunphy might not have finished school but he's smarter and more well-read than 90% of the population. He's just a cynical ******. And not being well-educated doesn't mean you're not intelligent or articulate. We're ignoring the context here - people like Whelan get away with this **** because they're encouraged to. They're surrounded by people who say "oh yeah, great point" and nobody really challenges them because they're Irish legends. Say what you like about Sadlier (or even Dunphy), but he's had to establish himself as journalist against the weight of not being a legend. Dreadful pundits like Whelan and Houghton haven't had to face that. They've been given an easy ride because of what they achieved on the field.
    Last edited by Charlie Darwin; 17/06/2013 at 11:10 PM.

1,825 Posts
    Brilliant point CD. And that's it. I can see Daragh Moloney exploding one day though. I would like Sadlier and Souness in a studio together. As bad and as tension filled as HT tonight was on RTE it was nothing in comparison to the inanity of BBC.

61 Posts
    I'd hardly say it's a lack of education. Dunphy might not have finished school but he's smarter and more well-read than 90% of the population. He's just a cynical ******. And not being well-educated doesn't mean you're not intelligent or articulate. We're ignoring the context here - people like Whelan get away with this **** because they're encouraged too. They're surrounded by people who say "oh yeah, great point" and nobody really challenges them because they're Irish legends. Say what you like about Sadlier (or even Dunphy), but he's had to establish himself as journalist against the weight of not being a legend. Dreadful pundits like Whelan and Houghton haven't had to face that. They've been given an easy ride because of what they achieved on the field.
    True, there was a moment in first half of Faroes game when Whelan spew some venom about Ireland and you could notice Hamilton trying to impress Whelan by agreeing with him with a similar snide remark... they basically came off as two bitter old men...

But yes the legend card is common but the likes of Houghton at least show some enthusiasm.... it's the sense of entitlement that some ex players have that irks but still they have all been indulged to behave in the way they do... legends afterall!
    Last edited by Grafter; 17/06/2013 at 11:24 PM.

It pains me to see Kenny Cunningham struggle to get a decent slot when those gob****es are dominating the box. I wouldn't be hugely surprised if Ryle Nugent factored this into the decision to drop the show. We have some good pundits in this country but they're not given the plum jobs.

3,491 Posts
    Whelan has history of that attitude; remember him saying Debrecen shouldn't be in the Champions' League cos they weren't good enough (just before Liverpool struggled to beat them 1-0 at home)

446 Posts
    Whelan worse than Sadlier?
    Embarrassing all round.

Try Steven Reid? Or even a D.O'Leary?

1,928 Posts
    Yet another 'clean sweep for Spain year' is the likely outcome and for the next decade if the youths and u21's are anything to go by.
    The u21 Euros was similar to the 2012 Euros in many ways, England going out dismally along with Germany, Italy turning up the books in the semis and Spain lording it in the final over Italy.

There's some good games coming up in this Confederations cup, I never paid any attention to this competition in the past.
    2 easy group games left for Spain, while whoever gets through the other group will be well knackered for the final.

Are Nigeria that bad? It was hard to tell from the Tahiti game. I hope to god somebody at RTE has the sense to give Ronnie the night off when Spain play Tahiti. And every other night.

462 Posts
    Are Nigeria that bad? It was hard to tell from the Tahiti game. I hope to god somebody at RTE has the sense to give Ronnie the night off when Spain play Tahiti. And every other night.
    I thought Nigeria were terrible to be honest. To say that Tahiti played well at times, says all you need to know about how bad Nigeria were during the middle part of the match. Once Vahirua for Tahiti got tired, was when Nigeria started their late goal spree.

I thought Tahiti's touch and passing was very good, which I suppose makes sense given how much beach football is played there. I don't think Nigeria would be unique in looking very poor or average against weak nations.

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast