Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Why all support english clubs??

Quote Originally Posted by jofyisgod
    Kind of agree, but i don't think i'd be arsed going to another country to see a team with which i have no real affinity play.

As someone already mentioned, if your trying to wind us up, this is a site for fans of REAL IRISH FOOTBALL, not the Premier****.

As for the guy who travels over to the UK-are ya fúcking mad?
    Would you be well?
    Your own choice to travel anywhere ya want and watch whoever ya want play football.I go to Anfield every now and again but I also go to turners cross every City game.Is that all right with you?

I know this is an Irish football site but if you read the top of this page you'll see that this forum is called general football and the premiership or premiers*** as you call it,IS general football the last time I checked.

Quote Originally Posted by DolansWaistcoat
    Your own choice to travel anywhere ya want and watch whoever ya want play football.I go to Anfield every now and again but I also go to turners cross every City game.Is that all right with you?

I know this is an Irish football site but if you read the top of this page you'll see that this forum is called general football and the premiership or premiers*** as you call it,IS general football the last time I checked.
    How can you pledge your allegiance to an English team? Would you not be better served putting your hard-earned cash into the LOI? Don't tell me you go to Anfield for the aesthetic quality of their football. Liverpool are muck, but then again I wouldn't know as I don't go to watch them live.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

Quote Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
    How can you pledge your allegiance to an English team? Would you not be better served putting your hard-earned cash into the LOI? Don't tell me you go to Anfield for the aesthetic quality of their football. Liverpool are muck, but then again I wouldn't know as I don't go to watch them live.
    Is it that hard to read ppls posts and understand them?Christ

I am a Cork City fan and I also go to every game they play at turners cross,I wear City jerseys with pride and I even buy chips from lennox's,which cost a small fortune(Lennox is Citys Chairman,if ya didn't know).My point is I think it's ok to support a cross channel team as well as supporting the LOI.

Quote Originally Posted by Colm55

If I said I followed a team from Japan, would you level the same abuse?
    I think if everybody else did as well then yes!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm55
    A: I like to watch football, good quality football, the english premiership has plenty of it, spanish and italian too, League of Ireland does not have the same quality. I'm one of the thousands who goes cross channel to follow the games. Because I'm from Ireland and prefer to watch top quality football, the closest and easiest to access is cross channel, mean i should be ashamed of myself??

B: If you were a footballer and had the choice to play with Manchester United, Arsenal, Chelsea or Shamrock rovers, Who would you go for?

Because I prefer to watch the english premiership over the LOI, should I be ashamed of myself to follow my national team??
    A good few points here! The English premiership Im afraid doesnt have plenty of good quality football. Despite what Sky may be telling you the english league in my opinion is at its weakest strength overall for a long time. How many teams have won it in the last 15 years. 3 i think! And Blackburn will never repeat that again. Arsenal despite going a record number of unbeaten games unbeaten in the premiership still cant get by the QFs of the European Cup. Europes greatest league is in Spain - why dont you go there to watch your matchs then if its quality youre interested in. With Ryanair it couldnt be easier.

I regard the LOI as just as important as the national team, if not more so. By the same logic you use to decide what league you support I suppose it means if the Irish national team drops to a lower standard you would move your support over to the English national team?

Exclamation

Quote Originally Posted by DolansWaistcoat

Jeez Waistcoat, that wasn't a personal attack on you or anything, i just think that it is a teeny bit mad to be spending a legacy going over to watch 90 mins of over-hyped "football". I thinks it's mad from a financial aspect only.

I can understand you're taking an interest in other leagues, i do myself, but i would never claim to support one of these teams purely for the reason i don't. I can't vocally cheer Málaga CF on, i can't really financially support them, i just watch their highlights on TV, etc and look at their site.

I SUPPORT Cork City, and i love Cork City FC. They mean a lot to me, and i feel a great passion for the club, as i am sure you do. I just don't see how people can say they 'support' a foreign, be it English or Spanish, team and feel the same way as we both do for our hometown clubs.

Give this lad a chance.He'll be no more than a few months around here and he'll be converted.I was the same a year ago;followed the premiership closely(without actually supporting anyone or going to games) with only a passing interest in the eL.
    Now I've gotten into it,go to games most weekends,check out scores and reports each night.And I think I can put the majority of that down to reading the eL fans here on a regular basis.

Quote Originally Posted by norn_iron_healy
    1. Wasnt the real fans who forced him into retirement, not like the 5000 fans who went to cardiff who out sung 60000 welsh for 90mins.

2. He wasnt are captain.

I think you are the only person that understands what im saying, im sorry if its not relavent to anyone hear, but most people are like that

Were Those the same real fans as you call them that had the English Flags in there hands...There were more English Flags in the Northern Irish section than anything else and your going on about the Irish supporting English Clubs ...Who will your own fans be supporting when they play England...The colours suggest England if Cardiff is anything to go by

Quote Originally Posted by clownboy
    Were Those the same real fans as you call them that had the English Flags in there hands...There were more English Flags in the Northern Irish section than anything else and your going on about the Irish supporting English Clubs ...Who will your own fans be supporting when they play England...The colours suggest England if Cardiff is anything to go by
    Well I was in cardiff and i didnt see any England flags, so i really dont know what your talking about. Maybe you have mistaken our flag for the english flag

http://www.ourweecountry.btinternet....iffphoto6.html

follow the link and tell me if you see any english flags
    WER NOT BRAZIL WER NORN IRON

Maybe sorry if i did looking at the tv ...looked like georges cross

Did u take a look at the photos?

Would advise anyone to have a look!

Cardiff is such a place!!

I did ya..It looks like ye are having a good time ..Millenium Stadium is an excellent stadium ...been to a couple of rugby matches there and i always had a good craic

Great snaps,mad looking stadium.

I can see why your flag could be mistaken for the english 1 from a distance.

Some great photos there, looks like you al had a ball
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

[QUOTE=Colm55]A: I like to watch football, good quality football, the english premiership has plenty of it, spanish and italian too, League of Ireland does not have the same quality. I'm one of the thousands who goes cross channel to follow the games. Because I'm from Ireland and prefer to watch top quality football, the closest and easiest to access is cross channel, mean i should be ashamed of myself??

B: If you were a footballer and had the choice to play with Manchester United, Arsenal, Chelsea or Shamrock rovers, Who would you go for?

A. Yes

B. Shamrock Rovers of course!

Could'nt agree more with Jamaican P.M. (and good win in the League Cup Final!).

Colm55 your point about Japan is the same as ingerland. You're not japanese or english so dont support their clubs. In fairness you dont seem to be the worst of the premier**** fans but the ones who slag off our league I HATE. (If we see any tricolours in the stade de france with english clubs written on them they're getting torn down especially that chelsea one).

They think nothing of funding the english clubs and their tourism industry every week and then have the nerve to complain about our league. Total hypocrisy. If they put their money week in week out into their local club, like we do, then the league would be in much better shape.

No premier club here should be getting less than 5,000 fans per game. Look at other cities with comparable populations.

Now I love all football and want to go see manure play cos Rovers played there in Europe and to see stadiums which is another love of mine. There's a bunch of us going to the Valencia derby in January but we couldnt give a monkeys about the result. It's just a weekend away.

Norniron the 6 counties seems to be worse, if that's possible, for people "supporting" english clubs. Also, despite your hatred when you play us, you wear green jersies!!

not once did i ever say people from here dont support english clubs. Alot of people do, but i dont!

And as for us wearing green,what exactly do u think is wrong with that.

There is a reason behind if you really want I can go into it.

Love to say it but the league in spain is far superior to the scottish one so why dont thousands go over there every week?

I'll tell you why. Because people here are brainwashed night and day by the media about how good everything in the premier**** is. The only ones who can think for themselves, who are'nt sheep, are REAL fans i.e. fans who support their local clubs.

Answer me this. Why are we the only country in the world that refuses to support our OWN league in order to "support" the english one?

And I dont want to hear about standards because the Swiss support their own and Italy is next door.

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Hate to say it,but @ the highest level,club soccer in E*gland & Scotland is vastly superior to that in Ireland........can't speak for Wales mind......though guess Cardiff/Wrexham would walk any domestic Irish league?
    England definitely, no question, though I'd argue that Sky's hype makes the premiership look better than it actually is.
    Scotland, the argument has been around the houses on here, but IMO our best sides would compete in the top flight there (old firm aside) and their worst would be mid-table here.
    Wales, Cardiff would do well here, but they'd be by far the biggest LOI bankroll if they played here, Wrexham and Swansea would be non old-firm Scots level or less IMO .

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Being in the 'capitalist' world we inhabit,punters,TV stations,media etc. are likely to vote with their feet.......
    The LOI is chicken and egg.
    We need press interest to get more fans in, we need more fans in for the press to justify their interest. Hopefully setanta will help the situation
    Last edited by tiktok; 22/09/2004 at 12:13 PM.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    Fair play to ya Mr. Waistcoat totally agree!
    With regards to football I support;
    1. Republic of Ireland
    2. Cobh Ramblers
    3. Celtic

IN THAT ORDER!
    Ahem.
    And if you think that'scomplicated:-

1). Republic of Ireland
    2). Celtic
    3). Chesham United
    4). Waterford/Watford/Wycombe/West Ham.

Being born in Ingerland sure makes a mess of your head.
    Tea. Corduroy. Space Travel.

As long as people take some form of interest in domestic football i'm not at all bothered who in ingerlund they follow. It's when people totally rubbish domestic football when they have'nt taken any form of interest in it and go on about big team's from city's in ingurlund they've got no connection with is when i've got a problem.
    Personally I have alway's taken an interest in domestic football, in the same way I take an interst in football from other country's mostly following the fortune's of junior league team's in Kildare and was delighted when Kildare County got admited to the EL, and I try and get to as many match's when i'm back in Ireland.
    But I have to say I do follow a team based in ingerlund, that team being the London gealic football team.
    Londain Abu.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast