Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Who's gonna come out of the woodwork?

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TrapAPony View Post
    I fully agree with you. We are just a few injuries away from having to call in players that just aren't good enough. We need more strength in depth in certain positions.
    In fairness Trap has used 34-odd players in this campaign. There's plenty of guys kicking around who perhaps don't have the experience but could do the job. At centre-half alone there's Clark and Wilson, two Premiership players who likely won't travel.

We've never had strength-in-depth, but we've probably got more options now than we've had in some time.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

646 Posts
    Keif is sound.
    Quote Originally Posted by Keif Andrews
    ALL OVER Britain there was the sound of paper-rustling over the weekend. Scores of English footballers, aware that Ireland have effectively qualified for the European Championship finals, are scouring their attics and searching the family tree to see if there's an Irish granny that can secure them a ticket to Euro 2012.
    Chaps like Zat Knight, who really wrapped the green flag around him six years ago when he said: "It's going to be hard for me to make the England team now. I want to play in the 2006 World Cup finals and I may have to seriously consider making myself available for the Republic of Ireland." Gee thanks, Zat.
    But Keith Andrews has a stern warning for anyone who thinks they can jump on the bandwagon -- don't bother.
    Woodwork
    "You could get people coming out of the woodwork, with a granny who came from somewhere in Ireland and that will be a tricky one, if they're not genuine. The group as a whole would stay strong on that and I don't think we'd accept that, to be honest, we'd certainly find it hard to deal with," Andrews says.
    The Ireland squad is not a closed shop -- four years ago Andrews was nowhere near the senior team but he caught the eye with an excellent display in a 'B' international against Nottingham Forest and soon became a permanent fixture in the team.
    So the Ipswich player says he has no objections to players who could now do the same and force their way onto the plane for the finals in June -- but only if they are true bloods.
    "There are genuine cases out there who could come into the frame, lads like Wes Hoolahan -- who is a top-class player in my book and is having a great season," added Andrews.
    "The lads who are here at the moment are by no means guaranteed their place in the final 23 for the finals.
    "You will have injuries, maybe loss of form, and a couple of players in the squad could be under pressure by the time the finals come around and you may have other lads putting them under real pressure. And only 23 players can go, so someone could miss out. We have a core of about 27 in the last few squads but the manager can only pick 23 so it will be a tough call for the manager."
    Some tough calls as players like James McCarthy, Seamus Coleman and Keith Treacy are by no means guaranteed a place in the final 23, but it's a safe bet that Andrews will make the cut. A man who literally shed blood for Ireland in Estonia on Friday, a consequence of a bloody nose.
    "I think it's broken, the nose doesn't look the best. It never looked good but it's even worse now," Andrews joked about his nose injury which almost forced him out of the game.
    "It was my own fault. The manager was having canaries because I was supposed to be on the edge of the box but I think I was a little bit giddy, having scored a goal earlier, and I knew that they were a man down so I thought I'd have a gamble, but their man came across me with his elbow.
    "I was in a bit of daze and the nose wouldn't stop bleeding. At one stage I thought I might have to go off because the blood just didn't stop but I just stuck some stuff up my nose and cracked on."
    There was a remarkably relaxed air to the Ireland camp yesterday. No hint at all that there was a competitive game only days away, the lightness of mood summed up by the sight of arch-joker Stephen Hunt shouting into the phone of his team-mate Simon Cox while Cox was speaking live to an English radio station. It's that winning feeling.
    "It was easy to sleep the other night because it was so late by the time we got home to Dublin and got to bed. Normally it's hard to sleep after a game but Friday/Saturday wasn't like that," said Andrews.
    "It was a bit surreal, to be honest. After winning 4-0 you'd expect it to be all singing and dancing but there was none of that. I don't think we had grasped what had happened, the fact that we'd won 4-0 away from home. It was a strange atmosphere, it was very quiet all the way home. We were all just talking and there was not massive celebrations.
    Fantastic
    "It has only sunk in over the weekend. From the moment I have been in this squad I have loved every minute of it. The team spirit we have is fantastic, the success we have had is built on that team spirit. There is a real sense of togetherness in the squad that's very special."
    And yet we still have a game to play. "Tomorrow is about putting on a good show for the fans. Hopefully it will be a sell-out and we want to put on a performance for people, we want to win. We're on a good unbeaten run at the minute and we've kept a lot of clean sheets. We are very hard to beat and the manager certainly won't let us drop our standards. We wouldn't do that anyway," added Andrews.
    "We want to sign off in style and finish up the campaign with a win, give the fans something to smile about."

675 Posts
    A lot of talk today from Andrews and Hunt seeming to say they'd rather not see anyone drafted in or minimal changes. It's a fair point - the squad has a certain amount of continuity based on loyalty and understanding bred from management to players. To draft in a raft of guys - particularly new declarees - could be potentially destabilising.

I'd like to see some guys like Coleman and McCarthy - fringe squad players - giving some game time to prove themselves but I can't see, and wouldn't advocate, drafting loads of new players in. Of those I would consider it would probably only Pilkington and Hoolahan, simply because they could play so well it would be tough to ignore them. They have the potential to offer something different. Others I'm not so sure. And it's arguable whether's it worth it when the strength of the group could be compromised.

Horses for course of course, but taking the other debate on this thread about the defence - I don't see where the enhancement would come from. We have players on the fringes (Clark, Wilson etc) who can take a place if needs be. The defence is a settled unit and their familiarity is a major strength.

282 Posts
    Out of all the guys mentioned the one I'd have the least problem with would be Pennant...at least he declared before we qualified. That being said I wouldn't want him either.

I really hope Stephen Manchester declares himself eligible, Trap starts him in two friendlies, and then leaves him out of the squad for the Finals.
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Quote Originally Posted by theworm2345 View Post
    Out of all the guys mentioned the one I'd have the least problem with would be Pennant...at least he declared before we qualified. That being said I wouldn't want him either.

I really hope Stephen Manchester declares himself eligible, Trap starts him in two friendlies, and then leaves him out of the squad for the Finals.
    I wouldn't give the fecker the pleasure of donning the green jersey again!

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by koneinc View Post
    I wouldn't give the fecker the pleasure of donning the green jersey again!
    is he even getting club football these days?? hes slipped totally off my radar
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    He gets the odd run out ;-) Seems to have gone backwards as a player

3,491 Posts
    Got 15 minutes last game; has only played 90 minutes twice this season and only has 249 minutes' action this season, featuring in 6 of 11 games (so fantasy football tells me)

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    poor fella
    Its really not that complicated!!!

poor fella
    .....my heart bleeds

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    an ceannairre
    he prefers the rugby now

503 Posts
    What's Barry Maguire doing with himself these days?
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

285 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by backtowalsall View Post
    What's Barry Maguire doing with himself these days?
    Playing for a side that is 2nd last in the Dutch Eredivisie
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

386 Posts
    No wonder Andrews is so vocal against anyone jumping on the bandwagon. He will be the first player to lose out if any half decent midfielder emerges

285 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tommy_c12000 View Post
    No wonder Andrews is so vocal against anyone jumping on the bandwagon. He will be the first player to lose out if any half decent midfielder emerges
    Take it all with a grain of salt. I also get the feeling that the reason why he is so vocal is possibly because he's afraid that if there was more competition that he might lose his starting place. Didn't Lawrence say something similar a couple of months back? I'd prefer to hear what Robbie Keane, Shay Given and Richard Dunne think.
    Last edited by TrapAPony; 14/11/2011 at 10:34 PM.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

Richard Dunne could afford to smile. The Republic of Ireland's Euro 2012 play-off second leg against Estonia has become a gloriously stress-free occasion after their 4-0 win in Tallinn on Friday night, and thoughts have already turned towards the finals next summer. There is one Irishman, though, who might remain oblivious. Dunne's Aston Villa team‑mate Stephen Ireland has long since shut himself off in international exile. "He probably doesn't even know he's qualified," Dunne said.
    The Guardian

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TrapAPony View Post
    Take it all with a grain of salt. I also get the feeling that the reason why he is so vocal is possibly because he's afraid that if there was more competition that he might lose his starting place. Didn't Lawrence say something similar a couple of months back? I'd prefer to hear what Robbie Keane, Shay Given and Richard Dunne think.
    Bit cynical. Andrews is a senior member of the team, he speaks his mind and I think his attitude to squad competition would be 'bring it on'. But regardless I think Robbie, Shay and Dunne have voiced similar sentiments in the past (not a definite, just an impression I have - too lazy to look up right now, I have to get some sleep before an early flight to Dublin!) But you can see at least a bit of that in The Guardian link. Besides this is a tight knit squad - no one really appears to speak out of turn and it's fair to suggest, to a certain extent, one can often speak for many.

161 Posts
    Trapattoni alone will make that decision. He will have a good look at who we draw in our group and then see if there is anyone worth considering to improve the team. I very much doubt any of the usual suspects mentioned in the press (Pennant, O'Hara etc)will get a look in. I'm sure there is a few players playing in the championship or lower leagues who could suddenly start to shine and attract interest from Premiership teams. Same applies to LOI players moving to England or further afield. 5 or 6 good games on the trot and who knows. Player gets called up plays a stormer and suddenly the position is his to lose. Houghton and Aldridge under Jack being a prime example of players coming from nowhere (Oxford united) and cementing their positions in the Ireland and Liverpool teams.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Let's give Jamie O'Hara a break lads. Here was his quote, hard not to respect the man:

"And it would be unfair to play for Ireland. I love all my Irish family. I speak to them all the time. They would love me to play for Ireland. But it would be unfair on the Irish players."

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast