Page 11 of 13 FirstFirst ... 910111213 LastLast

Thread: Ireland vs Estonia (1st Leg) - Match Thread

217 Posts
    A pub I was in in Limerick was showing the whole game again last night. Some change from early June. After being in the Gaelic Grounds for Limerick v Kerry, I headed straight to the pub after the game for the Macedonia away game. For a sporting city there wasn't too much interest in the game being shown though it was on all the screens. Some change now as it's all aboard for those hopping on the bandwagon!
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

176 Posts
    Walkinstown roundabout has nothing on Patrick Street in Cork.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    Has there been any word on seedings for the Euro 2012 draw for countries lucky to make it. If we seal the deal on Tuesday as we should, any chance of being in the third pot? Having been seeded for the play-offs we surely can't be far off it? Winning on Tuesday should be important regards rankings unless last month is used because play-off teams could be getting a bit of an advantage with ranking points.
    To be honest, I'm not sure I'd rather us in pot 3. I'd be content to avoid France, Portugal and the Czechs in favour of drawing one of the other four, but maybe I'm basing that more on the reputations of the former set in comparison to the teams that look set to fill the third pot. Hard to know... What do people think?

Quote Originally Posted by Sullivinho View Post
    Rare footage of the jubilant scenes in Cork on the same day:

Roll on tuesday.
    sorry to go off topic....

But on the scenes in that video, there was a fella on the radio a few weeks back saying how people end up being hit from those bullets that are shot in the air from those militants celebrating
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

3,267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    There is not a hope of us losing this tie. Estonia were limited. They showed that. They ended up with 9 men as a result of their inexperience and indiscipline.

That's their fault. Not ours.

On Tuesday we will deal with them in a professional way and kill the tie. The pessimism is completely unfounded ya mentalists!

Come on you boys in Green!!!
    All of this. With both their centre-halves suspended, I can't see us not scoring as well. So your improbable 4-0 disaster is now becoming an even longer-odds 5-1 or 6-2 collapse. Not a chance. And if that means Tuesday is a formality, I don't care.

Ref got it spot on with all the "controversial" calls I thought. Had a good game. Estonia - unfortunately for them - self-imploded spectacularly.

Delighted with the result obviously. Thought we cut loose much more than in recent games. McGeady was useful for once, and what a difference that made. You could see whenever Estonia got the ball 25 yards out, they were looking to shoot, but they didn't get any real chances. I think Trap was quoted as describing this as a new, more attacking philosophy? I hope it's here to stay.

Only downside was seeing the empty seats in the away section while I was stuck in Molly Malone's in Tallinn watching on telly. Stupid FAI ticketing system...

Also, a special mention to Stephen McGuinness for buying beer on the PFAI credit card and then leaving it behind him.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    sorry to go off topic....

But on the scenes in that video, there was a fella on the radio a few weeks back saying how people end up being hit from those bullets that are shot in the air from those militants celebrating
    Think that's a bit of an urban myth: http://www.straightdope.com/columns/...-it-comes-down

2,284 Posts
    Only downside was seeing the empty seats in the away section while I was stuck in Molly Malone's in Tallinn watching on telly. Stupid FAI ticketing system...
    How many you reckon were unable to find a ticket?

386 Posts
    My mate sneaked into the Estonia end without a ticket. He chanced his arm and got away with it. Said it was easy enough. Watched the game on another mate's lap. Sher how bad!

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tommy_c12000 View Post
    My mate sneaked into the Estonia end without a ticket. He chanced his arm and got away with it. Said it was easy enough. Watched the game on another mate's lap. Sher how bad!
    Ha, how'd he manage that? I was very tired when I read this on YBIG last night, but I think I caught it correctly; apparently, an Irish chap somehow made his way into the Estonian changing room before the game, kitted himself out in a tracksuit and hung out pitch-side with the Estonian ball-boys and Irish bench for the rest of the game.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Ha, how'd he manage that?
    He hopped a barrier. A security guard when frisking him told him no Irish were allowed into that end. Luckily he bribed him with Tiffin chocolate. True story!

My mate said he felt a bit guilty when he had heard stories of fans forking out up to E300 for tickets, but this feeling quickly passed . . . . .

404 Posts
    Wiat a minute Stu you went all the way to Estonia and you watched the game in a bar? That's hilarious.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

2,712 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tommy_c12000 View Post
    According to Daniel McDonnell, Trap was answering a question on his future.
    The full quote is in The Irish Times I think. He was being asked by a friend why Trap was so willing to go to other countries to work. His mate was the one who said "you go to more woods, you meet more wolves" or whatever it was. Trap was just relating that story.

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    The full quote is in The Irish Times I think. He was being asked by a friend why Trap was so willing to go to other countries to work. His mate was the one who said "you go to more woods, you meet more wolves" or whatever it was. Trap was just relating that story.
    Sort of like
    "The cat is in the sack, but the sack is not closed. The cat is in it, but it's open - and it's a wild cat,"
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

2,359 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosby87 View Post
    Wiat a minute Stu you went all the way to Estonia and you watched the game in a bar? That's hilarious.
    The true barstooler. Will go all the way across Europe and still have to find a bar to watch the match. It's not the same without the replays after all.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Will we see similar scenes on Tuesday night on the Walkinstown roundabout?

Brilliant quote on that youtube page.

"I'd say Bimbo's Burgers made a fortune after that"

3,267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    How many you reckon were unable to find a ticket?
    There were maybe 100 in Molly's (the Irish bar) for it anyway. The local brewhouse was quiet enough; I don't know if that means all the ticketless Irish went to the Irish bar.

Heard a couple of stories about people being refused into the home end. Didn't know where the nearest pub to the ground was, so went with safety rather than risking missing half the game altogether.

@ Crosby - I also went over to explore two very nice cities (went via Riga) and try find out about two countries I'd never visited before. And for the general away-day craic (which lasts much longer than the 90 minutes) and to bump into random people (like paul_oshea, Tenacious Dee and almost UCD's record European goalscorer - he was rung but had gone home to bed)

@nigel - Oi!! That's approaching libel, good sir!

446 Posts
    In the ground, realised we have more than one or two eejits in our support, which is a shame.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Supreme feet View Post
    I'd say it's about location. I'm dying to watch it again. Anyone know if I could download it anywhere?
    There is about 15 minutes of highlights here

http://www.mysoccerplace.net/video/e...0-4-highlights

Shows most of the incidents in the match including a lot you won't see on other highlights (which are basically the goals),
    for example Ward tackle at 5.07. It's the second video down (actually third now, it the one at the bottom), the first asks for credit card. Click the top right word in Russian for full-screen. What is doesn't show is probably not too enthralling anyway!!
    Last edited by tricky_colour; 14/11/2011 at 5:07 PM.

19. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    In the ground, realised we have more than one or two eejits in our support, which is a shame.
    Every team/country has them and yes it is a shame.

So Estonia will be missing their central pairing in defence and their first choice keeper as well... hmmm.... :-)
    Last edited by koneinc; 13/11/2011 at 9:23 PM.

2,284 Posts
    Has Tuesday's game sold out yet or what's the deal?

Page 11 of 13 FirstFirst ... 910111213 LastLast