Page 4 of 25 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Armenia - Tuesday, 11th October 2011 - Euro 2012 Qualifier

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Trap's tactical system has already peaked but Trap thinks the mentality strengthening process has a bit further to go. Didn't he say as much, that the Rugby chaps failed because they lacked having enough of the right mentality (o.O)

Brady thinks if we get through the Armenia game and playoffs, that Trap will indeed bring in the young players like McCarthy and Coleman into friendlies.
    Where did he say that about the rugby? Interesting that he did say that, as watching it, its what I thought too.

What's all the love for Walters on the board, he's mediocre at best. His best return in a season was 13 in league 2 4 years ago and is knocking on in age as well I'd have Cox over him anyday along with plenty of other players. I wouldn't be surprised if Cox grabbed a goal tomorrow

I'd have Fahey over McCarthy too, McCarthy hasn't impressed me whenever I've seen him play and Coleman is just back from a fairly lengthy injury is he not? Plus I'd not see him get ahead of McGeady even though I would love to not see him play
    Last edited by christo; 10/10/2011 at 3:30 PM.

85 Posts
    Ha!! I'm bleedin snappin.... I was online on me phone on foot.ie last night midway through rant/text on this thread about how I think Trap'll opt for Cox, but it was that bit more awkward on the phone than it does be on a keyboard so I gave up.

I think Cox is a poor man's Keane in alot of ways, so I see the logic in that regard. But I would've gone for Long every time.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Where did he say that about the rugby? Interesting that he did say that, as watching it, its what I thought too.
    Several media sites carried it (e.g., http://www.dailystar.co.uk/posts/view/214934)

GIOVANNI Trapattoni has vowed to put the smile back on Irish faces by going for the jugular against Armenia at the Aviva Stadium on Tuesday night.

Ireland’s rugby World Cup bid was all but over by the time Trap’s squad arrived back home after an overnight jaunt from Andorra early yesterday morning.

The Irish football boss has offered his sympathy to his friend Brian O’Driscoll – and vowed to give disappointed fans something to shout about when his team chase a play-off spot against the Armenians.

Trapattoni said: “I am very sorry that Ireland lost to Wales in the rugby because Brian O’Driscoll is our friend.

“But sport is sport. It teaches us that any result is possible when you have the right mentality.

“Our job is like that. We deserve to achieve a minimum of a play-off spot – and I think we can achieve that goal.”

I'm not sure Trap is saying that the rugby boys had the wrong mentality. Maybe he was saying wales had the right one.

Anybody knows the stats with the Armenian teams?

Cox!? So he opted for Long over Doyle was it against Slovakia, than Long got injured, so now last week opted for Doyle over Long, and now this week Cox over Long.

So he doesn't have any particular order for his strikers? He can't have picked Cox on performance since he doesn't get in the West Brom team. He was crap last time he came on as a sub.......

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by christo View Post
    What's all the love for Walters on the board, he's mediocre at best. His best return in a season was 13 in league 2 4 years ago and is knocking on in age as well I'd have Cox over him anyday along with plenty of other players. I wouldn't be surprised if Cox grabbed a goal tomorrow

I'd have Fahey over McCarthy too, McCarthy hasn't impressed me whenever I've seen him play and Coleman is just back from a fairly lengthy injury is he not? Plus I'd not see him get ahead of McGeady even though I would love to not see him play
    Yeah but Walters is getting rave reviews in the Premier League and the Europa League. Cox can't even make the squad at West Brom and was mediocre at best even in the Championship with them. Then again he has popped up with a couple of goals in the green shirt so you never know. The difference is though that Walters makes things happen by himself even when he's not scoring. To be honest I'm not a big fan of Cox or Doyle right now but what can you do.
    Last edited by theworm2345; 10/10/2011 at 4:02 PM.
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

130 Posts
    Are Armenia missing an through suspension?

3,500 Posts
    one of the posters on ybig.ie was at the open training session on Saturday, and posted this today on twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/flickybig/sta...16770542452736
    from the training seesion i attended the other day, Cox was better than Long. #ire #arm

53 Posts
    Its all just so... predictable.

Cox was always going to get picked if Keane was injured, Trap loves him ever since the N. Ireland game. Kelly was always ahead of Coleman for the full-back slot. Naming the team early isn't really a problem, you could name the team for a game in 6 months if all you were told is who was injured.

The game will go (assuming nothing freak like a bad injury or Shay Given getting sent off early on):

First 15-20 minutes Ireland on top, Doyle misses a chance, McGeady gets a few crosses in. *Maybe* a goal, probably from a set piece.

20-30min- Armenia get back into it. Counter attack forces Given into a good block save.

Until half time Ireland on the back foot, defenders have to block shots, Given makes at least one save, commentators moan about not keeping possession.

2nd half: Armenia get going after 50 minutes. Cross field balls and wingers cutting inside cause Ireland problems. Andrews and Whelan anonymous.

Hunt for McGeady 60-65 minutes

Brief rally from Duff and Hunt swapping wings.

Long for Cox 70 minute ish

Teams level (1-1 or 0-0) at 75 minutes

Fahey on for whatever midfielder is on a yellow card in the last 10 minutes

Final whistle, play-offs.

The only thing that changes in all this is how good/bad the opposition are, Trap's teams have one gear. We can't complain, its getting us better results that from Kerr and Staunton, but its also hard to get worked up after watching football like in the 2nd half vs Andorra.

Rumor says AraS OSbilis from Ajax may debut for Armenia tomorrow

215 Posts
    If by some incredible miracle Trappatoni's mind-numbing obstinacy pays off against Armenia and gets through a play off against a European giant of the magnitude of Estonia or Montenegro, is there still a case for replacing him before his tactical shortcomings and perversely vindictive selction preferences are cruelly exposed this summer?

Is there anyone out there who honestly believes that we are a better team for not having tried out our most promising prospects, integrated our most consistent premiership performers or recruited our most plausible 2nd G options? Could O'Neil, Coppel and a host of other half decent unemployed coaches without Trapp's dogmatic idiosyncracies do any worse? If we do qualify it can only be dismal humiliation, frustration and shame. There will be no ambition, drama, beauty or heroism. In Russia they refer to the Brezhnev years as "the era of stagnation". I fear Trapp's reign will be similarly remembered or probably simply forgotten.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    I wrote that Trap said as much,
    means he did not exactly say that…. but open to interpretation

On later updates to the same article , the Trap quote was removed.
    irishtimes.com - Last Updated: Saturday, October 8, 2011, 18:40
    Keane a Major Doubt
    Trapattoni said: “I am sorry that Ireland lost in rugby against Wales because Brian O’Driscoll and his team are our friends and we wished them to do well. But sport is sport and it teaches us that when we have the right mentality, we can achieve every result.”

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Let Trap be lads, do ye really think any other manager would have us in with a shout at this late stage of qualification? I agree that the football is rubbish to watch but he gives us results. Need I remind you of the Staunton era? I'd argue that Staunton had much better players available for selection. Say what you want about Trap, but we will NEVER EVER EVER lose 5-2 to ANYONE, never mind Cyprus.

228 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    Let Trap be lads, do ye really think any other manager would have us in with a shout at this late stage of qualification? I agree that the football is rubbish to watch but he gives us results. Need I remind you of the Staunton era? I'd argue that Staunton had much better players available for selection. Say what you want about Trap, but we will NEVER EVER EVER lose 5-2 to ANYONE, never mind Cyprus.
    Don't be so sure - we have conceded 3 goals at home without reply under Trap.
    End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

1,928 Posts
    Despite much consternation here, Trap was sound in mind and body when he intended to pick Long over Doyle, to start against Slovakia.
    Cox and Doyle together, appears to makes sense as a partnership.

Kelly at left back is 'interesting', he filled in there against the Czech Rep? but had another game sometime at LB where where he struggled a bit?

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    There is an article on the guardian website from J Wilson about Armenia. I can't put it up because I'm on the phone but it's worth a look.
    Link here.

215 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    Is it not a bit depresing that the best that can now be said for Trapp is, he's better than Stan. This not a difficult group by any standards. It's Armenia we are competing with for second place.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Armenia look like world beaters right now, have you not seen their results over the past few months? Keep in mind that we were very, very lucky to beat them away last year.

Quote Originally Posted by third policeman View Post
    If by some incredible miracle Trappatoni's mind-numbing obstinacy pays off against Armenia and gets through a play off against a European giant of the magnitude of Estonia or Montenegro, is there still a case for replacing him before his tactical shortcomings and perversely vindictive selction preferences are cruelly exposed this summer?

Is there anyone out there who honestly believes that we are a better team for not having tried out our most promising prospects, integrated our most consistent premiership performers or recruited our most plausible 2nd G options? Could O'Neil, Coppel and a host of other half decent unemployed coaches without Trapp's dogmatic idiosyncracies do any worse? If we do qualify it can only be dismal humiliation, frustration and shame. There will be no ambition, drama, beauty or heroism. In Russia they refer to the Brezhnev years as "the era of stagnation". I fear Trapp's reign will be similarly remembered or probably simply forgotten.
    Montenegro drew twice with England.

O'Neil and Coppel aren't that good of managers.

There is no shame or humiliation in qualifying for a major tournament.

Page 4 of 25 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast