Page 11 of 31 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Slovakia - Friday, 2nd September 2011 - Euro 2012 Qualifier

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tommy_c12000 View Post
    [Anecdote about inflatable hammer brigade] but to go around in the immediate aftermath of such a crucial defeat playing the stereotypical happy drunken Irish fan without even a tinge of sadness was something I couldn't fathom. Frankly, I felt embarrassed as the bemused [insert nationality here] looked on.
    We've all been there. Urgh.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    We've all been there. Urgh.
    I know exactly where you're coming from - all the way back to Italia 90, I was devastated the night that Italy beat us but there were people dancing around with a "didn't we do well" attitude.

On a similar theme I nearly got in an argument in Japan when some lad said I was taking the match too seriously..... "aren't we all just here for a bit of craic?"
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

282 Posts
    At least people over there understand why you're ****ed off, here people try to talk to me after a rough loss, get an earful, then just think I'm an ass (which, though I may be, is not a fair judgement to make under those circumstances).
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

417 Posts
    Whats the little guy with the walkie talkie saying in that picture?
    "Eh...Tell Trap the lunch trough has arrived. Sorry lads, all we could afford."
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EastTerracer View Post
    Has Trap introduced some new training equipment this week....?
    Trying to get his message about agricultural football across?

114 Posts
    Its Stan's coach.

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever View Post
    Don't know if mentioned already but Sloakia captain Marek Hamšík (Napoli) is out of Fridays game now through injury

Acccording to Slovak news this morning, they now expect him to play, and will be waiting until last minute to decide

162 Posts
    Ipswich laid it on for Andrews to get across.

544 Posts
    Acccording to Slovak news this morning, they now expect him to play, and will be waiting until last minute to decide
    its a hamstring injury isnt it? if it happened last weekend as i heard reported then there is no way he will be properly fit for friday. i heard he wasnt able to walk properly on sunday...... 2 weeks recovery minimum. if they take a risk on him then even better for us i feel

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    its a hamstring injury isnt it? if it happened last weekend as i heard reported then there is no way he will be properly fit for friday. i heard he wasnt able to walk properly on sunday...... 2 weeks recovery minimum. if they take a risk on him then even better for us i feel

Yep, I think thats what it is, they are considering taking a risk on him even if not fully fit.

417 Posts
    Good morning, this is Slovak news. We have an update on Martin Hamsik, who is going to play, and they will wait to the last minute to decide. But first, your commute.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

130 Posts
    Here is my best Slovak translation from one of their newspapers today - Sounds like Hamsik has some problem with a strong branch!?! Judging by the below you'd have to see that at least he is doubtful for Friday.

Head coach of the football team Slovakian Vladimir Weiss st. has focused on the struggle against Senec qualification procedure at the European Championship 2012 against Ireland and Armenia have a complete squad. The team was joined by Vladimir Weiss. Peter Pekarík and Marek Hamsik, who were missing on Monday evening workout.

Hamsik traveled to Slovakia injured, troubled by a strong 'branch', which received a preparatory meeting in Naples to Palermo. MRIs for Hamsik injury, however, showed a larger scale, so I took him on Tuesday under the auspices of the Slovak national team coach Conditioning Martin Rusnak.
    Health problems and the goalkeeper Marian Kello and defenseman Tomas Hubocan. Scottish goalkeeper Heart of Midlothian was injured over the weekend in the league, Hubocan on Tuesday evening was also still in the care of doctors Slovak choice.
    Since Kello unable to train with arm problems in Senec appeared on the lawn of Matthew Putnocký Slovan Bratislava. About who will travel to Dublin to decide before Wednesday's flight.
    "On Tuesday evening train all the players except Hubocan and Kelly, Hamsik is prepared individually. Will have a decisive event in their doctors, to change the nomination yet come. Personally, I find it extremely positive that Mark came in and tried to train," said Director of communications and PR Slovak Football Association George Curno.

"Representatives meeting to play half court and in addition, practicing various gaming activities. Offensive players practiced shooting on goal, defenders passing over longer distances," he said.

"Weissovci" on Wednesday afternoon by air moved from Bratislava to Dublin a day later to test the terrain of modern Aviva stadium.
    Its seventh Duel qualifying Group B on the procedure for EURO 2012 to Poland and Ukraine will play in Friday 2 September at 20:45 h GMT.

130 Posts
    Some comments:

1. It would be a pity if Hamsik and Hubocan just could not play. I can not ake me Hubocan injury, but my opinion is too Hamšíková injury by Marek on Friday nastupi.Este enough time afterwards to doctor and physiotherapist mainly hromady.Konar Rusnak gave up just muscle injury, which can disperse massages and injections. will need to team stood in full force because I Iri super unpleasant home and before a full auditorium will want to show in the best svetle.Nas may be imported to win, who believe the only 100.percetny performance of all players and a piece of the famed stasticka to us in several matches of chybalo.Verim on Friday at half eleven on tv we're all smiles my.Drzme thumb.

2. and especially beside himself, we can put together a strong base. assembly, while the rotation also have strong players who can decide. I think it will be fast and hard football. We must keep the ball in the middle of the longest, nepúšťať pressure them into a longer fast break and benefit. We have to do it. I cross my fingers. I guess a draw and 2: 2!

3. Kelly (Mucha) - Durica (Pekarík), Skrtel, Michalik, Cech - Karhan - Stoch, choked, Guedel - Jendrišek, Hološko

I hope in the victory, but the reality will be about 3 points for the Irish (1-0 and likely to fight hard throughout the match)
    Hamsik let saves the Italian league, because in fact no national team plays. And I would also welcome the nomination of players Pilsen!

It sounds just like Trap!

162 Posts
    Even calling Kello Kelly. Andy Keyhole up front for us anyway.

74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EastTerracer View Post
    Has Trap introduced some new training equipment this week....?
    So what do you reckon the best line would be
    1 Irish players enjoying a break at their new training ground in Lilliput
    2 Dunne and O' Shea knocking back the growth hormone
    3 Leprechaun - " And if you like that wee taster I've got a trailer full of it right there for the lot of ye"
    Vote now.
    (apologies for all the sizism)

I just thought they were taking a deserved break after a morning throwing turf.

3,498 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by punkrocket View Post
    So what do you reckon the best line would be
    1 Irish players enjoying a break at their new training ground in Lilliput
    2 Dunne and O' Shea knocking back the growth hormone
    3 Leprechaun - " And if you like that wee taster I've got a trailer full of it right there for the lot of ye"
    Vote now.
    (apologies for all the sizism)
    (guy on walkie talkie)
    These players are small, both those are far away...

184 Posts
    what's the level of interest like in these games back home? from the outside, it seems not a great deal. even the other irish lads here seem more interested in the transfer window closing.

49 Posts

lads get out and mow that pitch, its like a caaaaar paaaaaark out there ah ahhhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa mmmwwwwaaaaahhhhh

Page 11 of 31 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast