Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

Thread: Italy V Republic of Ireland - Tuesday, 7th June 2011 - Friendly - Liege

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Discipline is the word!! The sooner the irish journos and certain fans realise that we aren't barca, but we are organised, we are disciplined and we have a system that works most of the time for a manager who knows what he is at. And it looks like there is a damn good team spirit there now as well. The lads will be itching to get back going in aug.
    But even when mistakes were made tonight there was always support or we had done enough before the mistake. See McShane's howler. He had managed to be glued to your man so he had no space in the first place.

84 Posts
    If only we could play Slovakia tomorrow!

Fair play to Brian Kerr tonight Faroes 2-0 Estonia.

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ken foree View Post
    Celtinaccio? Great result, well done Ireland!
    Celtinaccio!! That's it! You are a visionary.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by born2bwild View Post
    Celtinaccio!! That's it! You are a visionary.
    Classic.

2,284 Posts
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/...y_ireland.html

Italy enjoyed the lion's share of the possession, but Ireland goalkeeper Mike Forde had few saves of note to make on his first senior international start.
    Mike?

3,498 Posts
    We've won our last four games by an aggregate scoreline of 10-0!

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Same on F365 - must be a reuters report or something.

366 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    We've won our last four games by an aggregate scoreline of 10-0!
    If that's the knock-on effect of mass withdrawals then I'm all for flimsy excuses.

675 Posts
    How about that? Don't think anyone saw that coming. Considering the time of year, the weakened side, the inexperience of many of the players - that's some result. Fair enough Italy wern't playing at full intensity, but we defended fantastically, particularly in the second half. As has been mentioned second half 'celtinaccio' (nice) is really becoming a trademark of this team.

It was also magnificent to see the effort of some of these guys. Hunt was MOTM - worked into the ground and was nothing but trouble for the Italians. Thought O'Dea and Sledge were unreal as well considering their relative lack of fitness. Ward was alert and made some crucial interceptions. McShane - well he gave the ball away a lot, but he also made some crucial tackles. He's centre back through and through though.

Andrews and Foley were not great in possession, but they and Whelan almost totally shut the Italians down through the middle. Foley in particular didn't have a great time of it, but still. Coleman was another who worked nonstop and loved it when he dinked it over the Italian's head in the second half. Fantastic.

Keogh did OK, puts himself about though not sure he's quite composed enough when he gets on the ball. Nothing really went for Long and Cox took his goal well. Forde might have done enough to be third choice for the campaign - couple of smart saves and decent kicking. Nice one big man.

But the best thing was just the attitude of these guys. They could've just played out the game, hit the beach tomorrow. But they not only turned up but they were utterly tireless in going for the win. Tenacious, never-say-die and totally fired up. It was brilliant. If they're like this at the end of the season what are they going to be like at the start of next? Without getting too carried away, this double header could be very tasty.

Loved Andrews in the after-match interview too. Said the squad spirit was top class and slammed all the 'crap' said about the squad and people not showing up. Also called the Italian wall for the free kick a joke! Have to say I've always been a bit dubious about Andrews, but he's a seriously intense about playing for Ireland. Great to see. Just the man for September.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

610 Posts
    Well done to the lads. Hunt was man-of-the-match for me. Cracker of a goal from Andrews but Jaysus that second half was painful to watch. We couldn't string 3 passes together. But yes a very Trapattoni performance. Park in our own half and let nothing through. We're getting better at that it seems.
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

84 Posts
    Not only does Cox almost do a Phil Babb with the goal posts, watch at 1.17, where one of the Ireland coaches cracks his head whilst celebrating the goal in the dug out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dFa31...embedded#at=79

610 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by French Toasht View Post
    Not only does Cox almost do a Phil Babb with the goal posts, watch at 1.17, where one of the Ireland coaches cracks his head whilst celebrating the goal in the dug out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dFa31...embedded#at=79
    Yeah noticed that. reminded me of Jack in '88
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=okqR2zEIJHY
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

366 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sullivinho View Post
    Can't see beyond an Italian win given those squads.
    Plank.

130 Posts
    ha ha good spot toast

285 Posts
    Fair play to the lads & to the management team. Great result.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

84 Posts
    Anyone notice how Trap stayed motionless after both goals, presumably refusing to celebrate out of respect for his home country. Tardelli on the other hand, well he was giving it socks!

161 Posts
    What a great result.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sullivinho View Post
    Plank.
    Ah, you're being too harsh on yourself...

Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

52 Posts
    Trap and Tardelli must be delighted beating the old country.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by French Toasht View Post
    Anyone notice how Trap stayed motionless after both goals, presumably refusing to celebrate out of respect for his home country. Tardelli on the other hand, well he was giving it socks!
    Well we all know that when Tardelli celebrates he really celebrates. I think calling it a great victory is overstating it as it was a meaningless end of season friendly but it was nice to see (not that the football was for the most part).
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast