Page 9 of 13 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Seems Lizzy's on the way...

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    she will probably go back and tell people "dublin is dead"! Empty streets and rows of gardai in their bright yellow jackets. Cant see it being the boost for tourism it was claimed it would be. Lets hope Cork people arent as good at hide seek as the dubs.

As for the protesters they are an embarrassment. Judging by the photos, the Spar on Talbot street must have ran out of chicken fillet rolls so the scumbags had to move on for a while.
    I always thought Cork would be more hardline republican than Dublin.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by awec View Post
    Cork isn't hardline Irish republican. Cork is hardline Corkonian republican.

Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    Apparently she refused a pint this morning at the Guinness Storehouse.
    She should have been grateful. There'd have been no free pints if it was the Players Lounge in which she found herself.
    Last edited by dahamsta; 18/05/2011 at 3:48 PM.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Cork isn't hardline Irish republican. Cork is hardline Corkonian republican.
    Things I'd love to do in cork include running down the street shouting that I hate hurling, running down the street shouting that i hate Roy Keane, running down the street shouting I love Mick McCarthy, questioning Corks credentials as a former European culture capital and also telling every sod I see that Munster are the luckiest rugby team about.

Oh, and after all that I'd inform them that Dublin is twice the city and is rightly the capital.

Cork the rebel county! The only rebel they had they shot him! well thats what the jackeens say anyway

521 Posts
    Things I'd love to do in cork include [...] running down the street shouting that i hate Roy Keane
    Would you be looking for applause or something?

There's a hardcore in Cork up the northside that love the man, but most of us think he's a knacker like everyone else.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    Would you be looking for applause or something?

There's a hardcore in Cork up the northside that love the man, but most of us think he's a knacker like everyone else.
    An applause and a cup of coffee, cause I don't like tea.

1,825 Posts
    Ah... the 'rebels'... some people should really check what Cork was rebelling against when they received that tag.

[QUOTE=BonnieShels;1487303]Ah... the 'rebels'... some people should really check what Cork was rebelling against when they received that tag.[/QUOTE]

"Rebel County"

Ill give you a hint it wasn't from kissing women or drinking pints of Murphy's.

PS tell us why the dubs are called jackeens while your at it!
    Last edited by Hurt Locker; 18/05/2011 at 4:18 PM.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    All visiting heads of State on official State visits lay a wreath, Obama won't lay one next week. However this is not a normal head of State and it's not a normal wreath and it's not a normal ceremony so you know yourself that there's always a bleedin' heart republican who would have a problem with it regardless of the protocol.
    ZZZZ right we get the message

Quote Originally Posted by Hurt Locker View Post
    "Rebel County"

Ill give you a hint it wasn't from kissing women or drinking pints of Murphy's.
    Cork is called the Rebel County because of some dispute between some Lord Of The Manor and the King of England down there about five hundred flippling years ago, look it up I couldn't be arased.

PS tell us why the dubs are called jackeens while your at it!
    It stems from a supposed tendency for the locals to be a bit keen to hang out the oul butchers apron aswell as the large amount of *cough* Anglo-Irish around the place.

Aside from the presence of a large anglo irish community (the parliment and most of the wealth was/is there tbf) the slur on ordinary Dubs is largely nonsense of course.

Here's a picture of Cork City during the last royal visit..........

For the record I hate both places equally.

38 Posts
    Notice that Sinn Fein are the only Northern party absent from the banquet tonight. Ironic given that they are the ones that keep telling unionists that they need to move on and forget the past.

Bravo rebelling against the crown!!

Well at least they don't come from a place called stab city
    Last edited by Hurt Locker; 18/05/2011 at 8:46 PM.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    People have the right to protest - it only crossed the line with the missiles etc, if that happened. Bar the obvious of protesting against the visit in British football tops, I'm not sure I'm totally comfortable with some of the commentary regarding the protesters. God forbid the working classes protest against the visit of royalty and upset their betters who are creaming themselves?
    Its nothing to do with being working class. Go down talbot st Any afternoon and you Will See What i mean. How is shouting obscenities at 86 yr old woman protesting at their betters?

1,825 Posts
    Nice start to her speech this evening.
    Anyone here when she said "i like this clinking glasses" on a Mic that was left on.

Shame SF didn't show but hey, they have been very dignified dealing with the awkward questions this week.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    This one of my favourite lines of arguement at the minute.
    The very point is that the people of England DONT get to choose if they have a monarchy.
    If the monarchy was elected it would stop being the monarchy, that is the paradox.
    The monarchy is not a democratically elected institution so calling up some subjective interpretation of English support for the monarchy is irrelevant since it is not put to the people of England to decide.
    Neither the elected UK parliament nor the people would choose to get rid of the monarchy, therefore it's understood that they choose to have a monarchy. Any referendum on the issue would be a foregone conclusion.

Quote Originally Posted by awec
    Notice that Sinn Fein are the only Northern party absent from the banquet tonight. Ironic given that they are the ones that keep telling unionists that they need to move on and forget the past.
    There's actually been more indignation flying around today about Sinn Fein refusing a few invites than about the fact that the UDA (as in the drug dealing, ethnic cleansing supporting, Greysteel massacre doing, gave an oul hand with the Dublin-Monaghan bombings, UDA) was present and correct and hob nobbing in Islandbridge today.

I'm so happy for Ireland that we can all be so mature about this sort of thing now.

Quote Originally Posted by Hurt Locker View Post
    Well at least they don't come from a place called stab city

38 Posts
    There's actually been more indignation flying around today about Sinn Fein refusing a few invites than about the fact that the UDA (as in the drug dealing, ethnic cleansing supporting, Greysteel massacre doing, gave an oul hand with the Dublin-Monaghan bombings, UDA) was present and correct and hob nobbing in Islandbridge today.

I'm so happy for Ireland that we can all be so mature about this sort of thing now.

The UDA were there under invite from President McAleese herself. Pretty stupid that she'd invite that shower of scumbags, had me baffled.

462 Posts
    As mentioned earlier in the thread, the lad in the Celtic top. I think this picture sums it up.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheBoss View Post
    As mentioned earlier in the thread, the lad in the Celtic top. I think this picture sums it up.

Protestors love a bit of irony :

626 Posts

A Great Idea

I thought about Queen Elizabeth's visit earlier today and came to the realisation that it actually has been a great success and that we should have done this sooner and here's why:
    We got to show that we're willing to move beyond our history and create a better future in terms of our relationship with Britain by welcoming the Queen with open arms, which is important...but we also got to put her through one heck of a guilt-trip!:
    "So Ma'am, this is a memorial to the patriots who felt so strongly about the cause of freedom that they left their regular lives behind to take up arms against the might of the British Empire and were executed for their trouble"
    "And here, Ma'am, is the memorial to the million plus Irish people who died in a famine caused/exacerbated by British policy in Ireland"
    "And this, Ma'am, is the memorial to the tens of thousands of young Irish men who died in WW1, a war which was essentially about the competing imperial ambitions of your family and their German cousins"
    "Too much misery, Ma'am? Fair enough - let's go see our largest stadium..."

23. Thanks From:

Page 9 of 13 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast