Page 24 of 61 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast

Thread: Celtic Cup thread

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    We should have a thread specifically for not discussing eligibility issues and let everything else be fair game.
    There's already a monster thread on it, the posts should really be put into it. I gave up on going round in circles on it long ago....

http://foot.ie/threads/132063-Player...ht=Eligibility

282 Posts
    Long and Doyle both got pretty well battered in their matches today and yesterday, not sure of their statuses.
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    You were the one who introduced religion into the thread, by bleating on about Celtic recruiting "Northern-born Catholics" etc.
    As it happened, there is plenty I could say about sectarianism in the green half of the Auld Firm, but I won't clog up this thread further with it.
    However if you are interested in educating yourself further, you might want to read Tommy Gemmell's Autobiography, "Lion Heart", for a few pointers on the topic.
    Ha ha. The rest was all the round spherical objects you kept referring to!
    See the Eligibility thread for a reality check!

Though you totally misrepresent what I say about Celtic and their players. Thanks.
    You might actually read what other people say??
    Will leave people to draw their own conclusions.

With 'friends' like that, Messrs. Lennon, McCourt & McGinn must be so 'proud' of their fans (as in some of those of the country they're supposed to represent) being so 'open-minded', not.
    Last edited by ArdeeBhoy; 05/02/2011 at 11:00 PM.

366 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    There's already a monster thread on it, the posts should really be put into it. I gave up on going round in circles on it long ago....

http://foot.ie/threads/132063-Player...ht=Eligibility
    It's a repetitive bore for some poor mod to manage, but I completely agree. The ignore function tidies things up nicely enough though.

446 Posts
    But then you don't know what you're missing??

And you might actually learn something....

366 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    But then you don't know what you're missing??

And you might actually learn something....
    I read the thread Drumcondra quoted back to front. That's all (in fact, more than!) anyone needs to know.

The Celtic Cup

Lads......seriously.......does anyone care? Most Irish people are not even aware of this tournament...!!
    This has been a marketing disaster for the FAI
    There will be no one at any of these games except gurriers looking for a ruck with the Nordies!

See Italksport Friday night on Setanta....said it all about the level of intertest in Irish Football in 2011......

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    It would be nice if we could win this trophy. Must be the first one we have ever entered as favourites. Off the top of my head, I don't think we have ever won anything as a senior international team, other than some tournament in Iceland in the 1980s I think, but I may be wrong. We are never going to win the World Cup or European Cup so hopefully we'll do well in this. Feck the begrudgers.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

228 Posts
    I hope we win this too. I hope we win every game we play.
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    We are never going to win the World Cup or European Cup so hopefully we'll do well in this. Feck the begrudgers.
    I don't agree that we'll never win the World Cup or European Championships. Whoever thought that Greece would win something?

794 Posts
    We can always live in hope. That's what football fans of the non big countries and clubs do but Greece has a much stronger home league than us, much bigger population etc etc - we don't compare. I suppose one should never say never so let's stick to most unlikely. ANyway, let's qualify for the tournaments first of all.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

49 Posts
    ANyway, let's qualify for the tournaments first of all.
    exactly

It would be nice if we could win this trophy. Must be the first one we have ever entered as favourites. Off the top of my head, I don't think we have ever won anything as a senior international team, other than some tournament in Iceland in the 1980s I think, but I may be wrong. We are never going to win the World Cup or European Cup so hopefully we'll do well in this. Feck the begrudgers.
    Yes - The tournament we won was a triangular tournament in 1986 which included Iceland, Ireland and Former Czechoslovakia.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Given; O'Shea, Dunne, St. Ledger, Clark; Coleman, Whelan, Gibson or Green, Duff; Doyle, Walters.

I guess this means Gibson is the first choice but there's a question mark on his fitness?

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Given; O'Shea, Dunne, St. Ledger, Clark; Coleman, Whelan, Gibson or Green, Duff; Doyle, Walters.

I guess this means Gibson is the first choice but there's a question mark on his fitness?
    is this the team? no long? WTF

214 Posts
    I'd rather have Green over Gibson.

Long over Walters as well if true.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

He took a heavy knock a couple of weeks ago and didn't look comfortable against QPR on Friday so it's probably best to go with a fully-fit Walters. Shame, he would have been well-rested having played on Friday rather than Saturday or Sunday.

49 Posts
    how stokes isnt in the squad is crazy, id have played him if long wasnt fully fit. dont really rate walters.

3,500 Posts
    Green apart, I'm happy with that side
    Long and Doyle played together at Reading, so trying Walters and Doyle will be something new.

675 Posts
    Interesting team, plenty of scope for the new guys to play their way into contention.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    how stokes isnt in the squad is crazy, id have played him if long wasnt fully fit. dont really rate walters.
    The guy who was dropped by Celtic - that chap?

Page 24 of 61 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast