Page 28 of 60 FirstFirst ... 18262728293038 ... LastLast

Thread: Barstool facepalm

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    I thought he was on the Committee of United Nonirish Team Supporters?
    That he is but Cahill is a big presence and can easily shoulder both honours and responsibilities. I therefore accept the nomination of the absolute spanner that is Delaney as President of the Association of Barstoolers.
    Find me on Twitter @ImRedLen

Ken Early on Vincent Browne right now discussing "a momentous day for football" and what the future holds for us and, indeed, them.

398 Posts
    This is what Off the wall and your man who writes for the IT now, and the yokes who got their podcast on there too. It's meat and drink, fodder for the goms who are more english than the english themselves and who reckon that because they once bought a Boca Juniors jersey that they are "in", when they'd have been the lads who spent their time in school, no, leave it there, :-)

But... but... I didn't pick my team - they kind of picked me. It was just coincidence that they happened to be winning lots of games, allowing me to go into school and crow about it with the other fans of us. Fate is a wonderful thing. It could just as easily have happened that thousands of Irish kids were picked by Macclesfield. I'm a loyal lifelong fan of us, supporting us through thick and slightly-less-thick.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    But... but... I didn't pick my team - they kind of picked me. It was just coincidence that they happened to be winning lots of games, allowing me to go into school and crow about it with the other fans of us. Fate is a wonderful thing. It could just as easily have happened that thousands of Irish kids were picked by Macclesfield. I'm a loyal lifelong fan of us, supporting us through thick and slightly-less-thick.
    Lets be fair most man u die hards stuck with them even when they finished second !

Definately the most annoying thing (and its a long list ) about EPL 'fans' is they use of 'us' or 'we'. Drives me absolutely mad
    even more so if the clown saying it happens to be over the age of 7.

46 Posts
    At least some of the holy mortifying and unedifying shame of our people is shared across the world and the focus is taken off our shame and embarrassment....

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/v...ferguson-video
    Find me on Twitter @ImRedLen

One of my favourites was the bloke I worked with who thought it was the best thing ever to walk around the office in his Liverpool polo shirt, taunting his Man Utd "supporter" colleagues by singing "Maybe it's because I'm a Londoner, that I support Man U."

I should probably point out that he wasn't from Liverpool.

96 Posts
    I'm in my mid-40s. The English football-following people I know break into three distinct groups:

(1) Those 5 years or more older than me - Leeds fans.

(2) Those less than 5 years older than me, or less than ten years younger than me - Liverpool fans.

(3) Those more than ten years younger than me - Man U fans.

There are of course exceptions to these rules ( a smattering of Aresnal and Chelsea fans, to leaven the EPL bread), and they are generally the people who follow in their father's or mother's footsteps by being fans of their parents' clubs, but as a general schema, its about right.

There is one poor deluded fool who lives near me who considers himself a Blackburn Rovers fan on the strength of their fleeting daliance with being a decent team. I once asked him about Burnley. "Who?"
    Last edited by gormacha; 09/05/2013 at 2:49 PM.

473 Posts
    I'm 25. Most of the lads I know are into their Liverpool and Manyoo. Then there are the snobs, who say they support a trendy European team, Barcelona or Real mostly, the odd Bayern "fan", and one lad who follows Inter, because his uncle bought him the shirt when he was younger (and who says it's more legitimate for him to support Inter than it is for me to support Bray, because his uncle lived in Milan for 25 years, and at this stage, I'd only lived in Bray for 19!)

I was the only one who followed an LOI club. There was a guy in the year above me in school who supported Shels, and a teacher who was a Bohs fan, but apart from that, nothing. I only started going to Bray games after I caught the live football bug from my dad taking me to see Stoke. Attending an LOI game isn't a thought that crosses the mind of most people in the country unfortunately.

200 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by peadar1987 View Post
    I only started going to Bray games after I caught the live football bug from my dad taking me to see Stoke.
    You're lucky some of the other bugs you could have picked up on a visit to Stoke don't bear thinking about.

101 Posts
    Arrah give the poor barstoolers a break, I betcha some ye have an attachment to a brand of beer, clothing or God help us a car. I brought a mob of Rovers supporters into the Wetherspoons on the Diamond in Derry to sample the very fine and even better value cask conditioned ales and they all ordered Guinness same as at home. The Stoolers are victims of our brand orientated consumer culture, whose neatest trick is a sort of credit card Stockholm Syndrome whereupon the victims are convinced to not only enjoy but pay for and advertise their captivity by a logo.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redarmyfaction View Post
    I brought a mob of Rovers supporters into the Wetherspoons on the Diamond in Derry......
    I read that and thought it was the start of "Green Street, Shligo styyyyle".......

As for Ken Earley, I stopped listening to OTB solely due to him. Now he has invaded the pages of the IT to plague me.

Joe Brolly is doing a quare job trolling barstoolers on Twitter today.
    Last edited by MariborKev; 09/05/2013 at 8:42 PM.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MariborKev View Post
    I read that and thought it was the start of "Green Street, Shligo styyyyle"..... .
    In Sligo we say Sliiiiigo not Shligo, not a lot of people on here know that.

19. Thanks From:

1,825 Posts
    So there's gonna be a problem come August when BT Sport launches.

m.rte.ie/sport/touch/soccer/english/2013/0510/391492-bt-sport/
    Last edited by BonnieShels; 10/05/2013 at 10:53 AM.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

21. Thanks From:

89 Posts
    Yeah,

Someone, not for the first time, in RTÉ think that we have actually joined the UK. Clearly the concept of domestic and foreign "rights" is lost on them. As in the same way that ROI viewers have live legal 3pm Saturday kickoffs, whilst UK viewers do not.

BT will put their rights on either UPC or SKY, the only "problem" is where they can get the best deal.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

I wouldn't imagine there is much love for Mark Lawrenson on here but something he said on the last word yesterday reminded me of this thread. He was being asked about Moyes going to United etc and was asked about all the United fans on twitter already givng out about him. He just goes

"In fairness thats the way football has gone, Man United fans just presume they deserve the best of everything, I bet 90% of those tweeting about it don't even go to games, they're not real football supporters"
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

24. Thanks From:

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bosco View Post
    I bet 90% of those tweeting about it don't even go to games, they're not real football supporters"
    90%? I'd say it's closer to 100% than that.

462 Posts
    Based on their facebook page, they have 33 million likes, so divide in by 75,000 per home game, that would be about 0.002% of fans go to games, even if they had a different 75,000 every home league game, that would still have it at: 0.4%

27. Thanks From:

42 Posts
    Ah the joys of barstoolers stories. Was told by a mate of mine the other day, a Man Utd fan, why do you bother going to matches when you can just watch the highlights on MNS
    @AidanMcGuinness

29. Thanks From:

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Guinney View Post
    Ah the joys of barstoolers stories. Was told by a mate of mine the other day, a Man Utd fan, why do you bother going to matches when you can just watch the highlights on MNS
    Reminds me of somebody that gave out about one of our ex-managers for attending a match involving both teams we were playing the following week, when it was on tv. I remember thinking to myself that I would disregard any opinion even remotely related to football that he had after that.

Vinny that used to put together highlights packages for us most weeks, they were often 10 mins long. You could often get a very different sense of the flow of the game from extended highlights like those to actually seeing the game. Not that I need to convince anybody here, but MNS highlights are usually a couple of mins long at most, iirc.

Page 28 of 60 FirstFirst ... 18262728293038 ... LastLast