Page 25 of 26 FirstFirst ... 1523242526 LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Norway - Wednesday, 17th November 2010 - Friendly

I'd like to see this team tried out in early 2011 - although its based on an aspiration as opposed to it ever happening, you'll understand.

Given

O'Shea
    Dunne
    Clarke
    Cunningham

McCarthy
    Whelan
    Duff
    Coleman

Doyle
    Long
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Comical ally -> http://www.internetweekly.org/images...ster_oscar.jpg tets im disappointed.

Clark/Coleman/Wilson im not picking one player. Fahey originally.

I meant since fahey basically being in the premiership with birmingham and playing.

The point was Trap saying that Clark is a CB(others as well already suggested), as though he will only consider him for that position, even though he has played 3 games in CM. How does Trap know he can or cant play in Midfield and couldn't do a job for us there? Incidentally thats why i think coleman didnt play last night as he sees him only as a FB, yet he has been excelling at RMF.

I dont have time to work and go through each player im giving one example, but with Trap its been proven that its not just one player. WHen I say "could have picked up points" of course its assumptions, against not just on one player, playing green/kilbane etc which directly cost us points before for example in kilbanes case. OF course its assumptions to assume, the same to assume that we would lost 4 - 0 if it was 11 players from the LOI, but its still credible to assume that would happen i.e. to be completely clear, playing better players over worse players generally guarantees better results.

Swan, so far id prefer to see Clark at CM for us, and Coleman at RMF as thats where they have been playing and doing decent. I cant say what they are like cos i haven't seen them in their preferred positions at youth/reserve/loi(in colemans case, rb but conceding sloppy goals at blackpool only from what ive heard again) level. However i would just like to see them play.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 18/11/2010 at 1:06 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Comical ally -> http://www.internetweekly.org/images...ster_oscar.jpg tets im disappointed.

I meant since fahey basically being in the premiership with birmingham and playing.

The point was Trap saying that Clark is a CB(others as well already suggested), as though he will only consider him for that position, even though he has played 3 games in CM. How does Trap know he can or cant play in Midfield and couldn't do a job for us there? Incidentally thats why i think coleman didnt play last night as he sees him only as a FB, yet he has been excelling at RMF.
    You make some excellent points and I believe you have highlighted the fact that Trap is not working hard enough on this team.

675 Posts
    The point was Trap saying that Clark is a CB(others as well already suggested), as though he will only consider him for that position, even though he has played 3 games in CM.
    As pointed out previously when Trap made the comment, Clark had played one game at CM.

How does Trap know he can or cant play in Midfield and couldn't do a job for us there?
    As pointed out previously he didn't say he couldn't do a job in midfield. Merely that he saw his long-term future for Ireland at CB. You are interpreting this comment in a dementedly literal fashion.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

Swan read between the lines based on comments said and what he actually does. Its not that hard and i don't want to sound like a Tw@t saying that.

I honestly think he was only ever going to bring coleman on as RB yesterday, leaving mcgeady in russia, and bringing coleman on for Lawrence in the second half, imho would have been a far better choice. There are many reasons for this not least the healthy competition in place at RB and his lack of experience in this position and mistakes at RMF are not as dangerous as those at FB. Football is simple, tactics are simple. Getting them right might be a little trickier, but any person of average intelligence can see this. Trap comes in for experience/motivation/calmness/reassurance/media management/pressure all the things a good manager (not necessarily just in football) should be, on top of the prerequisites of being able to adapt to situations/tactics/player choices.

3,501 Posts
    Ward was bought from bohemians as a striker, 20+ odd goals in over 3-4 appearances up until 21/22, cunningham is a lot younger, and been playing FB since what about 16/17 since 2007 odd? Also i thought he was more a left sided midfielder(which adds more weight) originally and not a striker, but i am open to correction.
    Actually, you're right, he did start out as a left sided midfielder, I might have been confusing him with Karl Moore, he went from striker to left mid
    Chemical Ali -> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chemical_Ali
    Who Trapattoni experimented with in the game. Also, Fahey was on the right VS Slovakia
    Playing on the left wing, he's rarely played for Birmingham in the middle. Someone here made a comment along the lines of "you should try him through the middle, he's unbelieveable" when McLeish said he was delighted with his performances on the left
    I dont have time to work and go through each player im giving one example
    One example is an exception, multiple examples are proof
    but with Trap its been proven that its not just one player.
    and I countered it more not just one player that has been played in multiple positions
    Swan, so far id prefer to see Clark at CM for us, and Coleman at RMF
    Clark ahead of Whelan/McCarthy/Meyler/Fahey/Gibson? At best he's fourth choice starting centre mid. Even at centre half he's probably fourth behind Dunne/St Ledger/O'Shea. Possibly even behind Duffy.
    as thats where they have been playing and doing decent.
    That's what we need - "decent"
    I cant say what they are like cos i haven't seen them in their preferred positions at youth/reserve/loi(in colemans case, rb but conceding sloppy goals at blackpool only from what ive heard again) level. However i would just like to see them play.
    I saw him for the U21s twice this year, against Armenia and Estonia. Against Armenia he was terrible, against Estonia he was untroubled.
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 18/11/2010 at 1:20 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    Certainly missed Paul Greens customary harrying.
    It was like watching Barcelona!

675 Posts
    Swan read between the lines based on comments said and what he actually does. Its not that hard and i don't want to sound like a Tw@t saying that.
    We have read between the lines and seen what he's actually does - and the evidence points out he is actually far more flexible than you're suggesting. Multiple examples have been provided to you.

Meanwhile you've read between the lines on two uncapped players and come to a wild conclusion based solely on what Trap has said (literally) but flying wildly in the face of what he actually does.

Maybe you should re-examine who's really being stubborn here...
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

tets i dont get this chemical ally reference. I know who he was(cant remember if he was executed yet), i think you didnt know who comical ally was, the information minister ->http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muhammad_Saeed_al-Sahhaf who basically kept denying the Allied Forces were anywhere near bagdad when they were literally dropping bombs around his head. I think he might have had a son studying in ireland at one stage actually...

Yes we definitely need decent over poor and even brutal which is what we have been getting from some in midfield. Decent would definitely do for me over some we had in positions originally.

Seriously some need to take off the Trap tinted glasses and forget about he achieved up until about 8 or 9 years ago. I know well if this was any other manager, given the overall results(not just in friendlies)/his stubborness to change tactics/formation, sticking with his same "trusted" players , etc etc they would be seeing this a lot differently.

I actually amn't gunning for his head or anythign like that, but it just riles me how naive/blind some people can be. I think so far he has done an average job, nothing spectacular nothing terrible a bit like stephen kelly. Not decent though

610 Posts
    McGeady was awful. Tried to beat every man in front of him every time he had the ball instead of giving the pass that was on. Kept losing possession. He is one of the most frustrating players I've ever seen. He should take a leaf out of Duffer's book who very very rarely loses the ball and gets decent crosses in.

Fahey proved he is a better option than Green and much better at keeping possession even if some f his through balls did not work out.

Walters didn't show me a whole lot but would like to see him get another chance.

Long showed he is full of energy and does not possess the moaning and whinging with hands in the air that Robbie does. Maybe it's the GAA background to play the whistle and keep going no matter what...

Cunningham showed he is the natural successor to Kilbane with an excellent display

I think Joe Murphy could've got a run-out too to be fair
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

Agree with most the above.
    Lessons for the future?
    Cunningham for Kilbane, although he doesnt look any great shakes I think he already offers more than KK these days and is a more natural defender though maybe was at fault on the 2nd goal.
    O'shea had best game I can remember for us. Given the emergence of Foley and Coleman in the English prem its seems natural for Josh to be moved accross to CB aside Dunne ,then we have at least four fifths of a quality rearguard.
    Midfield still pretty poor, but then Norway were just as rotten in the centre of the park so more or less got away with it.
    Up front was pleasantly surprised by Long and thought Walters did a good job too. I rate Doyle better but if he cant find his scoring boots at least we have a couple of other options. I was quite surprised we got that pen though as 8 or 9 times out of 10 the refs going to give that decision to the defender rather than the attacker though it probably was a foul.

1,928 Posts
    Norwegians are happy that Drillo can have a restful christmas period.

Drillo reckoned Ireland were better than he had thought - considering the withdrawals and did have Norway at 6s and 7s when McGeady let loose at them in that 15 minute period.
    He bemoaned some poor play from Norway, at times major defensive problems, but he excused Santos for allowing Long in on a shot, in that shortly before he had been down for the count after having saved a shot from McGeady with his jewels - to a collective groan from all the compassionate males in the stands.
    "Again we scored on set pieces and break. It's a trademark for us" said Drillo.

1,928 Posts
    I don't concur with the praise for Josh at CH. He did not command his area and looked at times to be back to his best Bambi impersonations.
    He is better with Dunne, a player who will take decisive control. I think we are up shíts creek, should Dunne be injured again.

214 Posts
    Spot on Geysir.

To be fair I don't rate O'Shea at centre back anyway. Too timid and prone to lapses in concentration. St Ledger/Dunne works fine and for me is our best CB pairing. O'Shea wouldn't be getting in my time just because he plays for Man Utd.....if Cunningham and Foley can nail down places in the team then I would leave out O'Shea.

O'Dea on last nights evidence isn't good enough as back up so hopefully we will get to see Clark tried out there next year.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

To say that Fahey plays left midfield for Birmingham is a bit misleading. He plays on the left side of a very tight midfield threesome. He is right footed and often comes inside onto his right to look for a pass, ending up quite centrally. Barry Ferguson is the Centre mid man there @ Birmingham. No doubt about that but Fahey is not playing a wingers role, or anything of the sort. He is keeping some good players out of that team too...Michel, Hleb, Bowyer, etc. Impressive stuff by Fahey

3,501 Posts
    tets i dont get this chemical ally reference. I know who he was(cant remember if he was executed yet), i think you didnt know who comical ally was, the information minister ->http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muhammad_Saeed_al-Sahhaf who basically kept denying the Allied Forces were anywhere near bagdad when they were literally dropping bombs around his head. I think he might have had a son studying in ireland at one stage actually...
    Clearly, I do know who he is. Did you click this link?
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post

1,025 Posts
    Comical Ali and Chemical Ali are not the same person. Not sure if ye are aware of this already, but it's of paramount importance to the Norway friendly.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rebelmusic View Post
    Lads, anyone record the game who can upload it? In India so the time difference was too much to stay up for it. Would appreciate it! Sounds from the post-match reaction that a Whelan-Fahey midfield could be the future
    The game seems to be here, I'm downloading the first half right now, in fact it has just finished.
    Seems reasonable quality considering the file size is less then 600mb in total.

http://www.asiaplatetv.com/forum/vie...php?f=8&t=2473

1,928 Posts
    And don't forget to leave your thanks to the user who took the time to upload it.

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    And don't forget to leave your thanks to the user who took the time to upload it.
    No, feel free to, that guy seems to have stolen it without giving credit from wigan88 who posted it at Maxxed
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Page 25 of 26 FirstFirst ... 1523242526 LastLast