Page 20 of 53 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast

Thread: Champions League/Europa League draws 2010

462 Posts
    I did see Maritimo play a few times last against the usual teams, in Porto, Benfica etc. They are a decent enough side but Fingal do have a realistic chance of doing some damage to them. I think it is 60/40 in Maritimo's favour and with the league out of season, it is a good time to play them.

Also, Shamrock Rovers have a great chance of qualifying, Bnei are of a similiar level if not ahead Rovers, it is 50/50 game imo.

Dundalk have a tough ask, I can see them struggling badly in Sofia. 80/20 in Sofia's favour.

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/...trank2011.html

Jaysus, didn't realise that if Pats were in europe this year we'd have been ranked so high. Maybe next year, eh...
    How come teams they arent even in Europe this year are getting points??
    Here on a technicality.

Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    How come teams they arent even in Europe this year are getting points??
    They're getting the national score (ie normal points earned by all clubs divided by entrants)

61 Posts
    With a good few drums etc being played at league matches would it be good for as many of those as possible to come together as one for the home legs of the euro matches no matter who you support. It would make for a cracking atmosphere at the games even though some may already have it at their games but imagine the noise of all the diffrent drums playing for 90 minutes.

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    With a good few drums etc being played at league matches would it be good for as many of those as possible to come together as one for the home legs of the euro matches no matter who you support. It would make for a cracking atmosphere at the games even though some may already have it at their games but imagine the noise of all the diffrent drums playing for 90 minutes.
    you get the odd weirdo going to other teams games in europe (we had shels fans go away with us twice). I find it odd and scary that people who support a team go to anothers game just to "support the league". im wishing Zimbrus on all of you
    5-0

thinly veiled

"lads we've feck all support of our own, any chance of coming to our game?"

Whatver about people going along to watch the games, and (for want of a better phrase) wishing the LOi club well. I'd never speak to a Pats fan I found out was singing/chanting/drumming (whatever) for another LOI club. Mind you that might encourage a few to do it...

138 Posts
    Why dont you rent a crowd like the final last year?
    Hand out those quaint little flags and what not and remember to tell the crowd when to chear.

623 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    Hand out those quaint little flags and what not and remember to tell the crowd when to chear.
    greens not your colour honey

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    Quay Celtic was another top I saw after the game, there was a few Drogheda Utd. tops too.
    I know Dundalk invited other fans to wear there own colours. But I think it is gate-crashing the party or stating temporarily support for the team. I bought some souvenirs on the night, something that's tangible to Dundalk.
    HarpoJoyce, were you the UCD fan I was speaking to in Kennedy's before the game?
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

61 Posts
    thinly veiled

Whatver about people going along to watch the games, and (for want of a better phrase) wishing the LOi club well. I'd never speak to a Pats fan I found out was singing/chanting/drumming (whatever) for another LOI club. Mind you that might encourage a few to do it...
    Thinly veiled nothing dodge. It was about the talk of people coming out to support teams other than their own in the euro cups and im sure you may have encouraged people to do so when pats was in europe. It was just an idea and not a request .
    Last edited by The Lep; 11/07/2010 at 5:32 PM.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    That was a bit predictable of a reply from a sligo head

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    HarpoJoyce, were you the UCD fan I was speaking to in Kennedy's before the game?
    ( Steve Martin line in The man with Two Brains "My God there must be hundreds")

Sent you a PM and then I remembered that watching a European game in Oriel Park put's another of the European Old Guard on the list for me.

Still have to see the likes of former Yugoslav Premier Division Zeljeznicar (of Sarajevo) and FK Vojvodina who missed out on qualifying this year but newly promoted Spartak Zlatibor Voda (Subotica and Serbia) will play in Vojvodina's ground in Novi Sad. Another remider for Dundalk to be proud.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    ( Steve Martin line in The man with Two Brains "My God there must be hundreds")

Sent you a PM and then I remembered that watching a European game in Oriel Park put's another of the European Old Guard on the list for me.

Still have to see the likes of former Yugoslav Premier Division Zeljeznicar (of Sarajevo) and FK Vojvodina who missed out on qualifying this year but newly promoted Spartak Zlatibor Voda (Subotica and Serbia) will play in Vojvodina's ground in Novi Sad. Another remider for Dundalk to be proud.
    I thought it was a 'yes/no' question meself.

Thinly veiled nothing dodge. It was about the talk of people coming out to support teams other than their own in the euro cups and im sure you may have encouraged people to do so when pats was in europe.
    I did in my ********.

61 Posts
    You wouldnt encourage fans of the other teams to come out and cheer on St Pats if they get drawn against a big team next year if they qualify and that they are close to making the group stages or would you just want St Pats fans to show up ?

623 Posts
    anyone want to be a longford fan for a few weeks? just because we have none

You wouldnt encourage fans of the other teams to come out and cheer on St Pats if they get drawn against a big team next year if they qualify and that they are close to making the group stages
    No, I wouldn't. If they go the game I hope they enjoy themselves and thanks for the money.

If they don't go, fair enough.

57 Posts
    No, I wouldn't. If they go the game I hope they enjoy themselves and thanks for the money.

If they don't go, fair enough.
    I think you'd call what was going on up there from the Fungus fan as a modern example of Press Ganging
    Kom Igen, FCK...

427 Posts
    thinly veiled

Spot on, Dodge. Have gone to see many LOI teams play in Europe and genuinely wish all of them well but would draw the line at actively supporting any of them ! Cant understand going to european away game with club other than your own either.

Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Cant understand going to european away game with club other than your own either.
    Well for one Shels fan I know who went away with Pats, he went on a euro **** up with his mates. He didn't have much interest in the game

Page 20 of 53 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast