Page 12 of 39 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast

Thread: France V Ireland - Wednesday, 18th November 2009 - World Cup 2010 Playoff Second Leg

Given........7
    O'Shea......7.5
    Dunne.......8.5
    St Ledger ..8.5
    Kilbane......8
    Lawrence...9
    Whelan......8
    Andrews....8
    Duff..........9
    Keane.......9
    Doyle........7.5

Subs
    Gibson.......6
    McShane....5.5
    McGeady....5.5

its gonna take a long time to get over this one...what a bitter pill to swallow!henry has gone down big time in my estimation,if he had owned up to the ref he would be forever known as a sporting gentleman,now his career will be blighted by this incident and he'll be known as a cheating *******...cant believe the linesman didnt see it,couldnt have imagined a worse way to exit,totally gutted

Quote Originally Posted by Reality Bites View Post
    Henry is a Charaltan a Scumbag of the highest order... playing to the gallery by sitting beside dunne at Final whistle after robbing us some blantly - Hate is a strong word but I hate Thierry Henry for his handball and his pathetic pandering for the Camera at Full Time - Once a great player now Scumbag to me....
    i totally agree

given 7
    o'shea 7
    Dunne 9
    St Ledger 9
    KIlbane 8
    Lawrence 9
    Whelan 8
    Andrews 9.5
    Duff 9
    Keane 9
    Doyle 8.5

McShane 6
    Gibson 6
    McGeady 5

The rest of the world can now see Henry as I have seen him for years, a charlatan & a cheat who goes missing on the big occasion. Barely had a kick in 4 hours of football and had to resort to cheating, the last bastion of the scoundrel.

282 Posts
    Given 10 --- Thanks to excellent defense he didn't have much to do but dealt with everything he could've
    O'Shea 9.5 --- Nearly flawless, wish he could've buried that chance at the start of the second half or at least hit the target
    Dunne 10 --- Outstanding, there really can be no complaints with his performance
    St Ledger 10 --- See Dunne, this lad should be in the EPL
    Kilbane 9.5 --- Made a couple of fouls close to our box but was otherwise brilliant and had a large hand in the goal
    Lawrence 8.5 --- Looked lively and put in some good balls
    Whelan 8 --- No complaints, tracked back well and looked good in midfield, thought that free kick was destined for the top corner. Room for improvement though.
    Andrews 8.5 --- Same as Whelan but a little better
    Duff 9 --- Lively as always, set up the goal, aside from a couple of minor mistakes I have no complaints, aside from missing a sitter
    Keane 8.5 --- Took the goal wonderfully and looked excellent for the first 80 or so minutes but was barely seen in extra time and missed a great chance, not to mention all the handballs.
    Doyle 7 --- Worked hard as always but didn't hold the ball up as often as I'd have liked nor did he win too many balls in the air. Missed a great chance as well.

McShane 5.5 --- Should've cleared the ball before the goal and looked shaky but did have some decent challenges
    Gibson 5 --- No real impact, didn't do too badly but was invisible for the most part
    McGeady 5 --- No impact at all, hustled well but would've rather seen Hunt.

Trapattoni 9 --- Would've been 10 had he made better subs, though not sure he left himself the options to make those subs (Reids)

Ireland 9.5 --- Excellent match all around but when you have 3.5 (.5 being O'Shea's) great chances you have to take them or you will be punished, even if the other team cheats to punish you.

Lloris 10 --- looked quite good, no spectacular saves but was solid throughout and forced Robbie out of bounds (maybe being kind, it was a bad touch)
    L. Diarra and Gourcuff 2 --- Absolutely pitiful
    Last edited by theworm2345; 19/11/2009 at 6:24 AM.
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Can't sleep. Wonder why.

Henry has the image of a gentlemen, and I bought it. Can't see him the same ever again. Like Cascarino said, he could have held his hand up. The ball didn't "hit" his hand, as he's claimed. He controlled a ball that was roaring out for a goal kick with his hand and placed it for his foot. All this while his side were on the ropes after creating little for 180 minutes, World Cup on the line. It's so objectionable you can't believe it actually happened, and worse again, with the whole world knowing how very wrong and unjust it was, it will somehow be allowed to stand.

Can somebody explain to me how Celtic, after defeating Rapid Vienna 4-3 on aggregate (1984 UEFA Cup Winner's Cup), were ordered to play a replay because a Vienna player feigned he was hit by a bottle thrown on the field (which, go figure, replays disproved.. the bottle landing a few yards away).... and yet clear-cut evidence of cheating by a player, breaking the rules of the game and changing the result of the match in the process, is swept under the rug???

I took a quick look at Italian sport press this morning, most headlines are very hard or sarcastic on Henry's handball ("France rubs Trap", "Henry gives Domenech a hand"), readers' comments on the net go harsher and mention the Blatter-Platini-Adidas connection once again. France's cheating was a shame but how many will remember about that next june when the world cup starts in South Africa? That's the way it works. Some mistakes make history, others don't. In Italy nobody cared about Pazzini's sending off in Bari - still a mistery to me - but everybody is still mad at Byron Moreno, the symbol of the South Korea farce. Ireland were unlucky to find Italy and France on their way, can't believe they are not as good as Slovakia, Switzerland, Slovenia and Greece that are heading to South Africa
    Nvmqvam Deorsvm

Quote Originally Posted by soccerboy View Post
    its gonna take a long time to get over this one...what a bitter pill to swallow!henry has gone down big time in my estimation,if he had owned up to the ref he would be forever known as a sporting gentleman,now his career will be blighted by this incident and he'll be known as a cheating *******...cant believe the linesman didnt see it,couldnt have imagined a worse way to exit,totally gutted
    I think you're assuming the rest of the world gives two craps about Ireland going out to be fair

They didn't care about Henry taking a dive against Spain in the last World Cup to help knock them out they won't care, maybe won't even remember, about this by the time South Africa rolls around

I'm just glad its all over , i couldn't take penalties , id have had a stroke or something . Just so so proud of our team. Most of the world was probably watching that game last night , and if they didn't know what the Irish were all about ,THEY KNOW NOW.

does anyone think the FAI will (can) appeal

FIFA match report - no mention of hand ball

unreal - move along now, nothing to see here ... lets all go to the world Cup (big teams only)

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/ne...through+europe

heck even Fox news mention the hand ball

http://www.foxnews.com/wires/2009Nov...France,00.html

49 Posts
    lads i dont blame henry, we would all do it. anyone of us that has played on any field has handled the ball and tried to get away with it. its normal. its the officials job to spot these decisions so its there fault. im sick today but there is nothing we can do. im so proud of our lads, so proud to be irish.

56 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by saint dog View Post
    does anyone think the FAI will (can) appeal
    Absolute waste of time IMO, what will it take for video evidence to be introduced? It will take a big name country like Brazil or Argentina to be done out of the WC the same way we have been done. THen you would see big name sponsors like Nike and Addidas up in arms.
    I thought the best comment on last night was in a vox pop of Irish fans after the match where one said if that was Fair play then FIFa can stick their world cup.
    I am a firm believer in Karma. I can remember France qualifying for the WC in 82 at Ireland's expense by some dodgy refereeing. They were then done out of it by some outrageous refereeing in the semi final. What goes round comes around. Scant consolation I know but its all I can do to console myself.
    ''and I for one welcome our new insect overlords''

The worst thing about this whole mess is that this is exactly what FIFA wanted and everyone knows this. We will probably never know why the linesman didnt put up his flag for the offside first and then the first handball then the second. I have no doubt he saw it and the second he saw it, he made a split second descision, thought of those who pay his wages and kept his flag down.

FIFA have gotten their way. Its a sad indictment on the state of international football at a time when there is evidence to suggest that many pro footballers out there do not value playing for their country as much as raking it in at club level.

My main sense of regret is overwhelmingly the fact that we didnt finish them off in the 90 minutes when they were a total mess and as great as the likes of Keane have been for us, we dont have that world class edge. The type of player who would have rounded Loris and calmly stroked it in.

I've always thought Henry was a knut anyway.
    I

20 Posts
    Great Irish performance last night. My mate was tellin me headline in Spanish paper was "Irish robbed by hand of Platini!" Sums it up.

When you read about the blatant cheating that used to go on in the old days(82 WC campaign etc) you never think it would happen nowadays.

Anyways proud of the way the team played in both legs.

Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog View Post
    unreal - move along now, nothing to see here ... lets all go to the world Cup (big teams only)

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/ne...through+europe
    Don't know how Hugo Lloris was given the Man of the Match accolade. He's a top class keeper but surely Liam Laurence or Andrews put in the best performance on the pitch on the night.
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Michel Platini will be in Dublin for the UEFA cup final when its played here.........

610 Posts
    I don't really think Henry had too much time to think about it. I don't think he controlled it a second time. Watch it in real time. It's a split second. His hand was right beside his knee.

But how did the linesman miss it?

as someone said earlier, this won't matter a dot to FIFA. Video refereeing will only be brought in when one of the big guns (England, Brazil, Argentina, Germany, France, Italy) are cheated in the same way
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

Page 12 of 39 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast