Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Players fly economy class....

130 Posts
    Much ado about nothing really, its not like they were flying to Asia.

Now that the papers cant really write about SI anymore, they need something else.

49 Posts
    its not the point - these things shouldnt happen. the players shouldnt have to worry about sh1t like this. how hard can it be to organise.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    its not the point - these things shouldnt happen. the players shouldnt have to worry about sh1t like this. how hard can it be to organise.
    what exactly is the "sh1t" you refer to?

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    what exactly is the "sh1t" you refer to?
    moving seats or having to even think about seats. all this should be sorted. little details as trap wud say.

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Lads do they fly economy or first class when flying home to family etc?!
    They should only be allowed fly First/Business Class if they have to go for an emergency, like a Grandmother's funeral...
    Last edited by Bluebeard; 04/09/2009 at 3:00 PM.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

this is a nothing story. not worth worrying about, apart from the mcshane knee op thing.

otherwise, it is a storm in a tea cup.
    Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

3,501 Posts
    pretty much what SuperDave said, slow news week, no club games to fill column inches, paper, ink, refusal.
    You know the drill.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    If any player wants to be upped to first class they can always pay the extra themselves. I have to travel 'econemy' class on the bus into town .
    If I can do it anyone can!!

630 Posts
    [QUOTE=Bluebeard;1225295]
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Lads do they fly economy or first class when flying home to family etc?!{QUOTE]

They should only be allowed fly First/Business Class if they have to go for an emergency, like a Grandmother's funeral...
    and they are follically challenged and ugly and.. and.. and..

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    and they are follically challenged and ugly and.. and.. and..
    Pink car, pink car!!

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    moving seats
    is this for real? do they not have to get out of their seat to take a whizz??

60 Posts
    You've never flown first class, I see...

Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    Pink car, pink car!!
    Shocked he doesnt wanna play for ye shower of losers, insluting him at every chance,

Anyway all the players love wearing the shirt so much it shouldnt matter to em where they sit

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Manblue View Post
    Shocked he doesnt wanna play for ye shower of losers, insluting him at every chance,
    I suggest you check the posts pre-dating September 2007 - you'll find far less insulting, and certainly little that could be described as "at every chance. I think I can safely say that the introduction of the new "Irish grannies" rule has sparked the majority of this. Your local paper might help with the back story.

Anyway all the players love wearing the shirt so much it shouldnt matter to em where they sit
    Completely agree. Fans have burst themselves getting to games - sleeping in tents, cycling, crossing through Beirut. I don't think there was anyone in the squad complaining though - certainly there are no reports of it here. My view is that it is something for sports journos to write in the absence of a handy press release with all the info to be regurgitated ad nauseum. Non story.

Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    I suggest you check the posts pre-dating September 2007 - you'll find far less insulting, and certainly little that could be described as "at every chance. I think I can safely say that the introduction of the new "Irish grannies" rule has sparked the majority of this. Your local paper might help with the back story.

Completely agree. Fans have burst themselves getting to games - sleeping in tents, cycling, crossing through Beirut. I don't think there was anyone in the squad complaining though - certainly there are no reports of it here. My view is that it is something for sports journos to write in the absence of a handy press release with all the info to be regurgitated ad nauseum. Non story.
    I doubt the players will complain,none of them have that big time attitude about them and that paper is far from my local paper

89 Posts
    is he really that touchy about getting a light hearted ribbing due to driving a pink car?!! I'm pretty sure if I showed up for work driving that I'd expect a bit of a teasing. Of course I'm not an absolute nutcase, unlike Stephen.

Ya but didnt someone just say above it was a lottery and then someone else said htey allocated to the taller players.

SO the fai were that organised that they lined everyone up took their height details sorted by shortest and took away 5.....i dont think so.

Nor do i think it was a "lottery"

But as you say on with the game tomorrow.

131 Posts
    You don't have to do that in economy class either. Just aim for the gap between the window and the seat in front and make sure you don't get hit with the backsplash.
    Last edited by youngirish; 04/09/2009 at 4:33 PM.

282 Posts
    This thread made me laugh a bit...the flight from London to Cyprus is 4 hours so the flight from Dublin is 5? I will just say that I'm taller than every member of the Irish team and have flown to Ireland (roughly 6 and a half hours) not only in economy but in the middle seat and suffered no ill effects from it (besides lack of sleep, which would have occured no matter what as I can't sleep on planes).
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by De Town View Post
    Read my second post in this thread..
    ah do i have to.............

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast