Page 176 of 188 FirstFirst ... 76126166174175176177178186 ... LastLast
Results 3,501 to 3,520 of 3757

Thread: Cork City denied a licence; club to be wound up; FORAS to enter First Division

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    It's Bray's place due to them being the highest finishers on the field. Unless they give us the place for just generally being class. Could love with that.
    hahaha thanks made me lol

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    It's Bray's place due to them being the highest finishers on the field. Unless they give us the place for just generally being class. Could live with that.
    I think I should get the premier division place because I'm great. In fact I should get two in case one goes bust.

Quote Originally Posted by Scrufil View Post
    Why is everyone so happy with the ILC? So far I cannot see any official statement stating which league Bray are playing in next year. Why was this not sorted tonight? They could decide to give this to any first Division club who has a Premier licence.
    Thats up to the FAI. Has nothing to do with the ILC.

Quote Originally Posted by D24Hoop View Post
    Job well done? They courted and propped up Coughlan, dragged this process out forever, jumped into bed with the third bunch of "saviours" to wander along, held a gun to the FAIs head on licencing, only agreed to save CCFC if they were kept in the Premier against all the rules, fought tooth and nail to buy 20% of a couple of millions worth of debt, along with giving 80% of the say of what happens in their club to these unknown investors, wanted to create a situation where todays situation would almost certainly recurr again in a short period, and only ended up with their own club because a judge made them have it.

Well done indeed.
    I wonder if Rovers fans felt the same all those years that they wandered around Dublin like wild horses. If you were one of those Rovers fans you would know how some of the fans in Cork felt. There is great credit due to the Cork people who tried to keep Cork City alive & tried to get a fair deal for all those people who tonight are left with nothing but unpaid debts & those who tomorrow will probably lose their livelyhood because of the folly of one man.I did not agree with their attempts but they have my utmost respect for trying to do the right thing.
    Last edited by dahamsta; 23/02/2010 at 12:06 AM. Reason: Use Multi-Quote
    "To Fudge or Not to Fudge" by J Delaney.

Right decision by the ILC and the bets move for Cork Whatever FC in the long run I feel

522 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by D24Hoop View Post
    Job well done?
    Yes, job well done. In business, and politics, you get what you want by asking for twice that. It's a pity that's how it has to be, but if you don't play the game, you don't get what you want. Think about that the next time a political party or a business comes out with an outrageous list of demands. I blame the Star.

(Obviously. I blame everything on the Star. Can you imagine the idyllic pastures Irish football would be without that rag?)

adam /goes to sleep with images of homer j prancing around a meadow of flushing toilets
    Last edited by dahamsta; 23/02/2010 at 12:12 AM.

462 Posts
    Website and Facebook pages setup, Nice Logo I have to say.

http://www.corkcityforasco-op.com/
    http://www.facebook.com/search/?q=Co....3605382527..1

Delighted to be a Premier Division, terrified to think of our points haul at the end of the season! We could do a few physical and experienced players. We have a good, young squad, but they're too light to compete in the Premier and after seeing Bohs put 7 past us last week, and knowing that we'll be working off the smallest budget in the Premier again, I can't help but fear the worst, while obviosuly hoping for the best. Our first competitive game is in 3 days in the Leinster Cup.

Good luck to the new Cork City, the fans are the ones who have been there through it all and hopefully a couple of years in the First Division will see the making of a better club.

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheBoss View Post
    Website and Facebook pages setup, Nice Logo I have to say.

http://www.corkcityforasco-op.com/
    http://www.facebook.com/search/?q=Co....3605382527..1
    Very MLS-ish..
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Please don't call a football team a Co-op for the love of God

I know you all would like to keep it Cork City FC but it's really quite, actually it's very, lame to call it Foras Co-op just to keep the FC initials

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Please don't call a football team a Co-op for the love of God

I know you all would like to keep it Cork City FC but it's really quite, actually it's very, lame to call it Foras Co-op just to keep the FC initials
    Cork 84?
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

Cork's Merry Shower of Dancing Giraffes FC would be better than Cork City Foras Co-op to be honest

48 Posts
    Welcome to D1 CCFC FC, your 1st game will be against us!

That is some big clubs now in D1........if Cork can start the season well along with us,Shels and Waterford I can see D1 having bigger average Att than the premier!

What will happen to this years Setanta cup I wonder?
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

69 Posts

Hello Europe! It's been too long...

Not wanting to rain on anyone's parade, but isn't there an appeals process that takes place within 3 days? If it's the case that they do appeal then suddenly it's game on again, and the winding up order will only take place if there is no money to meet the bills, which still hasn't been ruled out. Or maybe this whole thing has frazzled my brain!

Woke up to a mail this morning from Malta, the news broke late last night and there won't be any reaction until later on, but the club will be "cautious" in issuing any release or anything related to Roddy. He's still under contract but suspended and will be in the CAS. I don't think anyone will want him back, which is a shame as he'd managed to do a more than decent job getting the players going.

I think we can safely say there is no way back and we, as followers of the local game, can take only a passing interest in what happens in the High Court this afternoon.

PS :- How about somebody starting up a new thread to deal with the implications of all this? 178 pages of posts is mental.

I would, but I am too shy!!
    Neale Fenn on retiring: 'I think once you finish you might as well finish rather than making all sorts of comebacks.'

Roddy Collins on Radio1 at 8.30

edit: It's with Des Cahill and will be very interesting as to who is to blame, and if this counts as a relegation on his record, and if he'll return to Malta.

I know I'll be slated for saying this, but I still feel sorry for the man. Having a general lack of cop on has cost him a chance to be a hero in Malta, but instead he thought he was cleverer than the average fox. It's sad, yet I keep smiling.
    Last edited by weecountyman; 23/02/2010 at 7:00 AM. Reason: info

Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe View Post
    Welcome to D1 CCFC FC, your 1st game will be against us!

That is some big clubs now in D1........if Cork can start the season well along with us,Shels and Waterford I can see D1 having bigger average Att than the premier!

What will happen to this years Setanta cup I wonder?
    Except yourselves and Cork aren't really the same clubs as previously though, are ye?
    Sure we can brush that under the carpet as well.
    Everything is great. Well done to all involved on a job well done!

all Cork teams

What about Cork City teams still in competition like their youth team. Are they affected?

223 Posts
    It may have been a week late, but well done to the ILC for finally making the right decision for the good of the LoI. Will take a few seasons for Foras to be serious challengers, but no doubt it's only a matter of time before they will be playing in the Premier Division. Said in the Star on Saturday that Damien Richardson will be the new manager?

Roddy looked for a meeting with FORAS but they never wanted to meet him, according to the man. He's clearing out the house, ringing around clubs to get players jobs and he feels responsible for bringing players into it. Amazing how his memory seems to be so suspect.