Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Brian Murphy

The day any player leaves the Eircom league for over a mill i will be shocked,

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Manblue View Post
    It will be a shock but there have been a couple recently that have been worth it, Doyle and Fahey definately anyway
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Could Murphy have been considered partially at fault for the goal tonight? I actually can't remember exactly how the goal went in, have to see it again but if not he was absolutely impeccable tonight. They better feckin watch last weeks game on DVD and look at his catching tonight and make their judgement based on that.

462 Posts
    To blame him for the goal is wrong, he was trying to put the forward off, like most Gks do.

I actually just can't remember what happened. I'm sure he wasn't but maby lack of communication or something? I have a complete blank atm.

no he wasnt trying to do that, he had come out by that stage, what he was trying to do was come out and collect the back header from rossiter, but rossiter was too tired to properly jump up and over the ball and head it down instead he sorta went backwards, didnt rise enough and the ball slid off his head and into the path of the defender. I dont blame murphy for that at all.

Great two games from the keeper, its just sad he doesn't have 4 more euro games to prove his worth to those(like myself but more importantly scouts) that only watch him in Europe.

The thing about goalkeepers is that its a keepers value is very subjective. I mean I think a sign of the real top keepers is playing with a very good team as Bohs are at this standard and not having much to do but when called upon doing things 100% correctly rather than the keeper that is being peppered with shots every minute pulling off save after save but then makes a mistake coming for a cross or what have you.

I honestly don't know what more he could prove or how his goalkeeping ability would not be as good elsewhere in a more 'noteworthy' League. Its not as if hes an outfielder where other physical attributes can come into play, what you see is what you get.

The argument that he 'failed' to make the grade in another League is fair but Irish people have to learn that its not black and white like that. It happens all the time, players perform in one country but for whatever reason just don't seem to do it in another.
    Last edited by irishultra; 22/07/2009 at 11:30 PM.

Other than a few catches tonight he had little to do, but what little he did, he did very well.. His ability to start an attack will not have gone unnoticed by Mr Kelly, as will his kick-outs which were huge and generally on target..

Sad he'll have to go to England now though, but great for Ireland eventually as he is the next best to Given in the long-term...

253 Posts
    Impressed with him over the two legs, especially the away match.

If Kiely is truly done, then I think the only two undisputable keepers are Given and Westwood, leaving a spot open for Murphy.

I'd be happy if he was called up for the Australia match so that the management team can run the rule over him.

Quote Originally Posted by irishultra View Post
    Could Murphy have been considered partially at fault for the goal tonight?
    The goal wasn't his fault(the blame lies with the defender), Although Murphy really didn't help the situation, getting caught in no mans land having to face down a header.

Golden rule for goalkeepers, come and get it or don't come at all.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dyl10 View Post
    The goal wasn't his fault(the blame lies with the defender), Although Murphy really didn't help the situation, getting caught in no mans land having to face down a header.

Not his fault at all, when Rossiter made moves to head it back Murphy had to come, the problem was Rossiter didn't get enough on it and played it short enough to let teh attacker in. He should have put it out for a throw. Absolutely gutted. Disgraceful that Bohs had to play last Sunday, the league should have pulled out all the stops to try and help us progress.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    Not his fault at all, when Rossiter made moves to head it back Murphy had to come, the problem was Rossiter didn't get enough on it and played it short enough to let teh attacker in. He should have put it out for a throw. Absolutely gutted. Disgraceful that Bohs had to play last Sunday, the league should have pulled out all the stops to try and help us progress.
    I think most people thought ye would qualify and Bohs are the strongest (mentally and squad wise) and I think most people would've expected ye to be able for three matches in a week.

You can not blame last Sunday's game for losing, ye were doing fine for 86 minutes, a moment of error from Rossiter cost ye, I don't think postponing the game would've done much good.
    I'm a 23yr old right-handed heterosexual who drinks milk and likes democracy. - dcfcsteve knows me well

Quote Originally Posted by Manblue View Post
    So would I! There's no such thing as the eircom League anymore!

Did you hear Michael Jackson is dead?

I think he will be called up for the next squad. As someone said, Given and Westwood are the first two picks. I don't think Trap & co. were too impressed with those who came in for Kiely & Westwood in the last squad. Otherwise Kelly would not have been at the game last night.

Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    Impressed with him over the two legs, especially the away match.

If Kiely is truly done, then I think the only two undisputable keepers are Given and Westwood, leaving a spot open for Murphy.

I'd be happy if he was called up for the Australia match so that the management team can run the rule over him.

I would tend to agree with this, would allow Trap to run his eye over him in training to see if he is up to international standard.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dyl10 View Post
    Nah I think that applies more to crosses really. He came last night to make it as easy as possible for Rossiter. Rossiter made a balls of it, simple as.

Disgraceful that Bohs had to play last Sunday, the league should have pulled out all the stops to try and help us progress.
    Yeah I wouldn't have thought it would have been a big deal to play on Saturday or rearrange it or whatever. To be fair though Salzburg had a big match on Sunday themselves. They opened their Bundesliga season with a 2-1 home win over Austria Vienna, in which they scored a 91st minute winner having been down 1-0 at half time. Don't think they were spared too much energy there.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    its just sad he doesn't have 4 more euro games to prove his worth to those(like myself but more importantly scouts) that only watch him in Europe.
    Would they have gone into the Europa League Qualifiers (if they had lost to Zagreb) or is there some new format to the Champions League Qualifiers? While I'm on the subject are Celtic in the 3rd Rd Champions Lge Qualifiers? If yes, do they know who their playing and is that the last round of qualifiers?

Edit: I see Celtic are playing Dynamo Moscow from the UEFA website. If they win that are they through to the group stage yeah?
    Champions League 3rd Round Qualifying Draw
    Last edited by DeLorean; 23/07/2009 at 1:40 PM.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Umberside View Post
    I think most people thought ye would qualify and Bohs are the strongest (mentally and squad wise) and I think most people would've expected ye to be able for three matches in a week.

You can not blame last Sunday's game for losing, ye were doing fine for 86 minutes, a moment of error from Rossiter cost ye, I don't think postponing the game would've done much good.
    Not blaming the game on Sunday, just saying that if the league is serious about wanting teams to progress as far as possible in Europe then they should do everything in their power to help them. Given that both Bohs and Derry had midweek European games scheduled, to me it would have made sense to give them some extra rest, especially when playing against a team that are technically superior.

You could argue that it was a tired header from Rossi and the players were out on their feet the last 10 minutes, could a free weekend have prevented this. We need to utilise every advantage we can.

Posted this reply an hour ago but seems to have been deleted?

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post

Would they have gone into the Europa League Qualifiers (if they had lost to Zagreb) or is there some new format to the Champions League Qualifiers? While I'm on the subject are Celtic in the 3rd Rd Champions Lge Qualifiers? If yes, do they know who their playing and is that the last round of qualifiers?
    We'd have gone into the final Europa league qualifer if we'd got the draw last night and lost to Zagreb.

Celtic play Dinmao Moscow, if they lose they go into the last qualifer for teh Europa league. If they win they play either Arsenal, Lyon, Stuttgart, Fiorentina or Atletico Madrid for a place in the CL. Losers of that game go into the group stage of the Europa league.

on first viewing i thought that murphy was 90% responsible for that goal-he should never have legged it out like that to a bouncing ball when the forwards only option would have been to head, but it looked as if rossiter was trying to control it on his head which was so daft-just a shame because salzburg were absolutely muck. they only created one chance of note in the second half-decent headed chance from that lanky blonde lad whatever his name was.
    I

2,081 Posts
    We'd have gone into the final Europa league qualifer if we'd got the draw last night and lost to Zagreb.

Celtic play Dinmao Moscow, if they lose they go into the last qualifer for teh Europa league. If they win they play either Arsenal, Lyon, Stuttgart, Fiorentina or Atletico Madrid for a place in the CL. Losers of that game go into the group stage of the Europa league.
    Thanks, Jaysus that's a tall order for Celtic. Suppose you don't deserve an easy ride for finishing 2nd in Scotland.

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast