Quote Originally Posted by kkontour View Post
    Just heard,
    Peers out
    Morrison doubtful
    Pitch hard and bumpy.
    10,000 expected at game.
    Lads are confident though,

Heres hoping,
    Sh!te our defence would be more solid and organised with him, no argument about it. Is this definate kkontour ?
    Coleman for Ireland

I have it from a reliable source.
    A man on the ground

Foleys also have, its advertised on the pub front.

From what i have heard back at home Gerry Connolly has forked out ALOT to have this game on for the fans(when i say alot I'm talking MORE than double the DigitALB subscription for a year.)

And i believe the person who has told me this, hope alot of the lads who couldn't come to the game go there to watch the game and buy a few drinks to help them cover cost's.

Best of luck to the lads and all who travelled , best hope is to keep running at the heart of their defence as this unsettled them last week no point launching/crossing high balls in the box , another peno and a goal from raf from play and we are through .

BTW: Aer lingus must be confident of us getting a result as they have already lumped up the prices for a Vienna return to almost 400 next week.

Quote Originally Posted by Boo_Boy View Post
    From what i have heard back at home Gerry Connolly has forked out ALOT to have this game on for the fans(when i say alot I'm talking MORE than double the DigitALB subscription for a year.)

And i believe the person who has told me this, hope alot of the lads who couldn't come to the game go there to watch the game and buy a few drinks to help them cover cost's.
    Ya I hear he outbid Setanta UK for the coverage

Fair play to Gerry (BTW he is Nicholson rather than Connolly he just runs the pub under a lease agreement rather than own it) a good guy anyway and always has football on from anywhere across Europe at the weekends.

Football, Beer, a bit of craic.............what else would you want.........Bacon Fries I hear you say, he has them as well!!

Quote Originally Posted by Guts&Glory View Post
    Ya I hear he outbid Setanta UK for the coverage

Fair play to Gerry (BTW he is Nicholson rather than Connolly he just runs the pub under a lease agreement rather than own it) a good guy anyway and always has football on from anywhere across Europe at the weekends.

Football, Beer, a bit of craic.............what else would you want.........Bacon Fries I hear you say, he has them as well!!
    Jaysus I've always called him Gerry Connolly .

sign at foleys says 6 kick off, its 7 though isnt it?

I'll try to answer the questions.
    I take it you have cheap flights/ferry to Dubrovnik.

Google maps take you through Podgorica. That is roughly 2 hours from Shkoder, taking into account the border crossing. So I would reckon roughly 5 hours would be a fair estimate. The roads aren't that great and can be a bit windy, so that lowers your speed. It is bumpy from the border down into Shkoder.

Good pubs...
    Pubs as we know them do not really exist much in Albania. Instead, you have cafes. There are literally hundreds of them. not all of them have draught beer. Most would just have bottles of Becks, heineken, amstel or some really watery stuff from Italy. There are a few that have draught beer ( krikell). The draught beer will be watered down, but it is good. If anyone is scared of local water, ice in drinks etc....then let them stick to bottled beer. No ales or Guiness.....although you might find a dark becks in some places.
    In general go to the Post Office, main square with the mosque and find somewhere there. 5 mins from stadium, and plenty of cafes/hotels which should have draught beer.

The stadium is about 5 minutes from the centre of town. In Shkoder from early morning till late night you have lots of people milling about the streets, so i would advise you to find a cafe bar that you like, hopefully it will be sunny and hot, and you can sit outside and drink as much as you want. They probably wont even mind a sing-song. As long as you are buying from the cafe, then you will be safe. In fact you should be safe in Shkoder. there are too many people going about to have any real hassle. As long as you dont go about flashing wads of money or try to be abusive, or hassle the women ( dont try that!!! - the father, big brother, cousin is usually a couple of steps behind them!! - and you dont want confrontation with them!!) other than that then they are really friendly. To be honest the owner will be more than happy to have your custom!!

I was in Montenegro a couple of years back and the fella at the camping warned us straight away not to gawk at the women as the place was mostly Albanian.
    Rocky

The dubrovnik bus is finally in Albania 8 hours and an eventful journey later............

Quote Originally Posted by dublinred View Post
    The dubrovnik bus is finally in Albania 8 hours and an eventful journey later............
    Welcome to Albania everybody on the bus!!

Team for tonight

Brush
    Keohane Ventre Keane Boco
    Holmes Ryan O Grady Cash
    Doherty Raf
    Morrison on the bench

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    Team for tonight

Brush
    Keohane Ventre Keane Boco
    Holmes Ryan O Grady Cash
    Doherty Raf
    Morrison on the bench
    I presume Boco's at RB and Holmes left MF?
    Massive night for the club. Praying that we can go through.
    Is Morrison injured or dropped?
    In light of all the speculation it's a chance for Doherty and Cashie to really have a go at these. They could be Rovers legends if they grabbed a goal each and put us through!!!!!! All would be forgiven I'm sure.

Quote Originally Posted by dong2008 View Post
    I presume Boco's at RB and Holmes left MF?
    Massive night for the club. Praying that we can go through.
    Is Morrison injured or dropped?
    In light of all the speculation it's a chance for Doherty and Cashie to really have a go at these. They could be Rovers legends if they grabbed a goal each and put us through!!!!!! All would be forgiven I'm sure.
    Yeah thats how the lineup came in the text so I presume so. There was no info on what the Morrison situation was.

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Boo_Boy View Post
    He paid well over the odds in that case but fair play to him.

Oh and best of luck to ye tonight lads.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

462 Posts
    • 1 Brush
    • 2 Keane
    • 3 Holmes
    • 5 Ventre
    • 6 O'Grady
    • 7 Cash
    • 8 Ryan
    • 9 Boco
    • 10 Cretaro
    • 12 Doherty
    • 14 Feeney

• Bench
    • 19 Kelly
    • 4 Peers
    • 11 Morrison
    • 16 Keohane
    • 17 Noctor
    • 20 Kelly

That text was wrong, blame Sligoman . Heard Mooneys have the match.

65 Posts
    match link for any Sligo fans online who want to watch the game.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

Vllaznia Vs Sligo

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast